wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

37 Pages«<2324252627>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
mnandii
#481 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 9:03:33 AM

Equity share is showing interesting Elliott Wave pattern. That, coupled with the fact that James Mwangi is now a celebrity CEO appearing on business magazine covers as well as latching onto a business that is not the mainstay of the bank tells you something quite important.

Chart analysis will be on my 'Elliott Wave Analysis of the NSE 20' thread.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#482 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 9:36:03 AM

Those who seem fixated on "core business" manenos need to study a few businesses around the world.

General Electric is one such example.

Read about General Electric here

GE's divisions include GE Capital, GE Power & Water, GE Oil & Gas, GE Aviation, GE Healthcare, GE Transportation, and GE Home & Business Solutions.

Through these businesses, GE participates in markets that include the generation, transmission and distribution of electricity (e.g. nuclear, gas and solar), lighting, industrial automation, medical imaging equipment, motors, railway locomotives, aircraft jet engines, and aviation services. Through GE Commercial Finance, GE Consumer Finance, GE Equipment Services, and GE Insurance it offers a range of financial services. It has a presence in over 100 countries.

This obsession with "core business" is totally misplaced. Words like Conglomerate and Subsidiary were coined for a good reason!

Of course if not well managed, it could sound a death bell and if well managed it could be one hell of a success story. But so is everything else!!! Including exercise and drinking water!!! Every health worker will tell you to exercise and drink plenty of water, but any of these two can actually kill you! Same in business.

Tafakari haya
#483 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 9:58:44 AM

Let panic sellers exit and leave good sitting space we will still take the enemy headon.
#484 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 9:59:57 AM

So who stands to loose most should Equity's plans succeed ? While M-pesa might receive a hit, its the revolutionary product, M-shwari, that could be hardest hit. Why, because the bulk m-shwari customers, the small savers and borrowers, are traditionally equity customers.

CBA has experienced a level of success in retail banking they could only dream about 2 years ago. Can they let go without a fight?

And this is where it can get dicey for Equity. Its outright suicidal to challenge CBA at this point in time.

Hon.Jamleck is a muranga county homeboy with the Equity top honchos. Why then is he coming out so passionately against his people ?

Sorry, but I just couldn't ignore the political angle.
#485 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 10:09:39 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Let panic sellers exit and leave good sitting space we will still take the enemy headon.

Kenyans!!! Selling and buying the news!!!

And status quo will change faster than you can say "buy"! Safcom cannot win this thin sim war. All it can be is a nuisance for some time. Soon and very soon, thin sim cards will be overlaid on [mostly] Safcom sim cards. Fact!
kasibitta
#486 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 11:27:14 AM

mnandii wrote:
Equity share is showing interesting Elliott Wave pattern. That, coupled with the fact that James Mwangi is now a celebrity CEO appearing on business magazine covers as well as latching onto a business that is not the mainstay of the bank tells you something quite important.

Have you posted the charts yet?...cant see it on the elliots wave thread.
hisah
#487 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 11:44:04 AM

kasibitta wrote:
mnandii wrote:

A simple daily chart while @mnandii does the wave count chart. That red candle that formed after the reversal from 63 to close at 55.50 marks a top that will take a while (likely months) to break above!

For now support is between 50 - 52 level. If the price closes below the 50day SMA @48 the next target will be the 200day SMA @39. At which point it will mean that the 63 all time high print will take a 1yr or more to be retested!?

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#488 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 12:01:30 PM

hisah wrote:
kasibitta wrote:
mnandii wrote:

A simple daily chart while @mnandii does the wave count chart. That red candle that formed after the reversal from 63 to close at 55.50 marks a top that will take a while (likely months) to break above!

For now support is between 50 - 52 level. If the price closes below the 50day SMA @48 the next target will be the 200day SMA @39. At which point it will mean that the 63 all time high print will take a 1yr or more to be retested!?

@hisah....Will you be kind enough to post a similar analysis for CIC?
the deal
#489 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 12:33:42 PM

I don't think SCOM will go down without a good fight...SCOM has shown they can fight...remember the SCOM-Airtel price wars which led to the current cheap calling tariffs people are enjoying?...Airtel lost that bruising battle with a bloody nose...only danger for Equity is when losses from Equitel will start feeding through the income statement if they don't manage to dislodge SCOM...overall good times ahead for consumers as for shareholders I don't know smile
meme
#490 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 1:04:40 PM

Equity has brought banking to their customers through their phones and banking will be affordable, convinient and accessible courtesy of Equity and Equitel.Money transfer will become affordable. We will have gained freedom to manage our money at the comfort of our phones and on top of that we use the line to make calls etc.

Equitell is 70% mobile money. That explains Safaricoms reaction. Like I said earlier, safaricom will not get KO-ed but they will certainely take a knock!
Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
#491 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 9:49:23 PM

The I.c.t cabinet secretary mr.matiangi says he is well briefed by cak and is satisfied with their decision,so parliament can keep their politics to the green guys
#492 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 9:52:51 PM

cak licensing director on kbctv.
candid discussion.

Denmark China Taiwan and USA uses these. thin sim,.what is there for a failed state to fear using them.
our mpigs and politicians are just too thick.

why are we wasting our taxes on cak cbk if we cant trust the work they are doing?
Akenyan2014
#493 Posted : Thursday, September 25, 2014 11:08:20 PM

candid discussion.

Denmark China Taiwan and USA uses these. thin sim,.what is there for a failed state to fear using them.

why are we wasting our taxes on cak cbk if we can trust the work they are doing?

You are forgetting MPs were the other day fighting to grab the 15B security deal from Safcom's mouth, you can't claim parliament is pro-Saf.

My take is that the mobile money hasn't been fully exploited, new entrants should not be a big threat to the existing dominant player. In fact presents Saf an opportunity to improve and the market to determine the optimum pricing. Beneficiary ? Achieng' and Wanjiku
#494 Posted : Friday, September 26, 2014 12:35:03 AM

Akenyan2014 wrote:
candid discussion.

why are we wasting our taxes on cak cbk if we can trust the work they are doing?

You are forgetting MPs were the other day fighting to grab the 15B security deal from Safcom's mouth, you can't claim parliament is pro-Saf.

My take is that the mobile money hasn't been fully exploited, new entrants should not be a big threat to the existing dominant player. In fact presents Saf an opportunity to improve and the market to determine the optimum pricing. Beneficiary ? Achieng' and Wanjiku

Mpigs are not pro-Saf or pro-anything specific for that matter. They are pro-the guy with a fat cheque book. It's that simple. That is why I refer to them as mercenaries for hire.

Even if you were to come with a fool-proof plan to create thousands of jobs for Kenyans and absolutely no disadvantages/down side to your plan, this goons will try their best to squeeze as much money from you as possible if your plan needs their approval. They are like the mafia. Only that the mafia has brains. What we have to deal with is a bunch of brainless mafia-like village idiots!!! It pisses me off to the core!!!

I don't know what we will ever do to rid these lovely country of ours of this clowns!!!
#495 Posted : Friday, September 26, 2014 3:16:18 AM

So who stands to loose most should Equity's plans succeed ? While M-pesa might receive a hit, its the revolutionary product, M-shwari, that could be hardest hit. Why, because the bulk m-shwari customers, the small savers and borrowers, are traditionally equity customers.

CBA has experienced a level of success in retail banking they could only dream about 2 years ago. Can they let go without a fight?

And this is where it can get dicey for Equity. Its outright suicidal to challenge CBA at this point in time.

Hon.Jamleck is a muranga county homeboy with the Equity top honchos. Why then is he coming out so passionately against his people ?

watch it lest you are accused by @maich of 'introducing politics into an intellectual discourse'......
Goldilocks Reloaded
#496 Posted : Friday, September 26, 2014 8:58:27 AM

Safaricom themselves were unable to prove to CA or the parliament committee that there are any material risks to their clients. After Wangusi said Equity can proceed since CA is an independent authority, Jamleck Kamau & Co. are now saying the will hold CA responsible "if anything goes wrong" with the thin SIM. How many fraudulent things go wrong with Mpesa DAILY yet safcom have never been sanctioned. This is a commercial fight between two commercial entities, both with willing clients who are not bound to stay with either party and hence parliament should stay away. You can never stop technology who's time has come.
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
jawgey
#497 Posted : Friday, September 26, 2014 9:16:11 AM

In the mean time Equity has already launched equitel counters in their branches. They've started ditching away their equitel lines-the thin sims not yet. I also like their equitel customer care service(100).. makes you want to 'hama' suffering-com permanently. smile
Seeing is believing
#498 Posted : Friday, September 26, 2014 9:36:04 AM

Goldilocks Reloaded wrote:
Safaricom themselves were unable to prove to CA or the parliament committee that there are any material risks to their clients. After Wangusi said Equity can proceed since CA is an independent authority, Jamleck Kamau & Co. are now saying the will hold CA responsible "if anything goes wrong" with the thin SIM. How many fraudulent things go wrong with Mpesa DAILY yet safcom have never been sanctioned. This is a commercial fight between two commercial entities, both with willing clients who are not bound to stay with either party and hence parliament should stay away. You can never stop technology who's time has come.

Er...Safaricom actually had no problem with the one-year trial. It had agreed to it.(It was, like @Sasha said, a sort of win for them round 1, buys them time). Weird for Jamleck and his team to meddle with this thing at this moment (or is it looking for more allowances for committees?) It's all a matter of liability. Two service providers, two different, though similar, products. If there's a breach, who will be liable? Why do you think the CAK indemnified itself and asked Finserve to agree in writing to be liable if there was an issue?

Secondly, you being conned by a fraudster doesn't make Mpesa bank liable. Infact, most improvements have come as a result of that to ensure you don't fall into that trap. Sim cards that can read contacts, confirmations, etc. I stand corrected but has there been a case of a third party breaching the mpesa system? We may have a problem with Safcom, but many assumptions on this thread show some naivety in the issues.

By all means, let the thin sim come, but like all other new technologies, let it be done in phases. A trial is good also for Equity, ensuring they cover all their bases.
Goldilocks Reloaded
#499 Posted : Friday, September 26, 2014 9:54:28 AM

Goldilocks Reloaded wrote:

Er...Safaricom actually had no problem with the one-year trial. It had agreed to it.(It was, like @Sasha said, a sort of win for them round 1, buys them time). Weird for Jamleck and his team to meddle with this thing at this moment (or is it looking for more allowances for committees?) It's all a matter of liability. Two service providers, two different, though similar, products. If there's a breach, who will be liable? Why do you think the CAK indemnified itself and asked Finserve to agree in writing to be liable if there was an issue?

Secondly, you being conned by a fraudster doesn't make Mpesa bank liable. Infact, most improvements have come as a result of that to ensure you don't fall into that trap. Sim cards that can read contacts, confirmations, etc. I stand corrected but has there been a case of a third party breaching the mpesa system? We may have a problem with Safcom, but many assumptions on this thread show some naivety in the issues.

By all means, let the thin sim come, but like all other new technologies, let it be done in phases. A trial is good also for Equity, ensuring they cover all their bases.

Exactly my point. If there is a breach of the system, how will they prove that the breach came from Equity side or from Safcom side or a design fault by Taisys? We cannot rule out penetration from Safcom side because if Safcom were genuine, they should not just be sitting there waiting for penetration of their system by the thin sim. Just like they have managed to secure Mpesa systems from external hacking (or so we assume), they should be currently also playing around with the thin sims to ensure their systems are ready but then again their main aim at the moment is not to secure their systems but to stop Equity by all means!
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
#500 Posted : Friday, September 26, 2014 11:30:23 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

watch it lest you are accused by @maich of 'introducing politics into an intellectual discourse'......

The politicians have already introduced themselves... He he he!