Culture
Alcoblow - Is it the solution?
butterflyke wrote:RINKA group of 24 Administration Police (AP) officers raided a police roadblock in Nairobi and freed one of their bosses who had been arrested by regular police for drink driving. The illegal rescue early Saturday morning has heightened tension between the two police units which have been at loggerheads in the recent past. The armed APs stormed the road block on Lang’ata Road and freed their boss, a chief inspector, who had been arrested by police and officials from the National Traffic and Safety Authority at around 2:30 a.m. The inspector had failed a breathlyser test and, while he waited for the officers to take him to the police station alongside other people who had been arrested, he called his juniors. Police at the road block told the Sunday Nation that the seven officers conducting the breathalyser tests stopped the inspector who was driving a personal vehicle and realised he had taken alcohol beyond the required limit. About two months walisimamisha wakubwa wa jeshi, walipigwa kama step children and detained at DoD for some hours!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
butterflyke wrote:RINKA group of 24 Administration Police (AP) officers raided a police roadblock in Nairobi and freed one of their bosses who had been arrested by regular police for drink driving. The illegal rescue early Saturday morning has heightened tension between the two police units which have been at loggerheads in the recent past. The armed APs stormed the road block on Lang’ata Road and freed their boss, a chief inspector, who had been arrested by police and officials from the National Traffic and Safety Authority at around 2:30 a.m. The inspector had failed a breathlyser test and, while he waited for the officers to take him to the police station alongside other people who had been arrested, he called his juniors. Police at the road block told the Sunday Nation that the seven officers conducting the breathalyser tests stopped the inspector who was driving a personal vehicle and realised he had taken alcohol beyond the required limit. It will be interesting to know how this will end. The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
So this army and AP guys, they are set free? Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
KulaRaha wrote:So this army and AP guys, they are set free? The army guys actually took the NTSA guys hostage and they had to beg to be released!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:KulaRaha wrote:So this army and AP guys, they are set free? The army guys actually took the NTSA guys hostage and they had to beg to be released!!! LOOOOL....anyways Kenya has become a joke. Seems the army runs everything...like Pakistan. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
C & P
The Court of Appeal has said the use of breathalysers to arrest drunk drivers is illegal.
A three-judge bench on Friday said the laws introduced by NTSA are inconsistent with the Traffic Act.
The court ordered that they be taken back to Parliament for review.
The decision was reached after a successful petition by Reminisce club on Langata road.
In March 2014, the court ruled that the two cases that sought to abolish the breathalysers be argued together.
Justice Mumbi Ngugi consolidated the first case filed by Richard Ogendo and another by Kariuki Ruitha - proprietor of Reminisce Sports Bar.
Pottermark Enterprises, the company that supplies the gadgets under the Alco-blow brand was also involved as an interested party.
we lack commonsense as a country, even systems meant to help are crushed the moment they touch the 'top' people.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:we lack commonsense as a country, even systems meant to help are crushed the moment they touch the 'top' people. NTSA is not the system to help us my friend. That's a corruption den. Just incase you didn't understand what the ruling was about Section 44 of the Traffic Act criminalises the driving of a car under the influence of alcohol to an extent that the driver has no proper control of the vehicle.Nowhere does it discuss the amount of alchohol you should or should not drink. As the alcoblow tenderprenuers would like to suggest. Stop blaming courts and figure out why you voted for the fellow who can't read simple english and make a law that's consistent with existing laws. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Hate it or love it alcoblow has had a positive effect on Kenya. I do not drink and drive because the prospect of arrest and a huge fine is deterrent enough. I take cabs instead, and those drink-ups baada ya kazi are out of the question. It's been going on long enough that this is the norm now. All my friends know, 'don't bother calling @quicksand on a weekday, he never shows'. Drinking less is a GOOD thing. You waste less money and spend more time with your loved ones. Not drinking and driving is also another good thing. I am mostly a sensible and considerate fellow, and yet driving under influence is one thing I would occasionally find myself doing (weak will power, bad habits). I am not alone in this regard. It is only too easy to be tempted into thinking you will drink moderately or you will be Ok...alcoblow cures us of this temptation. On the balance of outcomes, alcoblow is a good thing.
alma1 wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:we lack commonsense as a country, even systems meant to help are crushed the moment they touch the 'top' people. NTSA is not the system to help us my friend. That's a corruption den. Just incase you didn't understand what the ruling was about Section 44 of the Traffic Act criminalises the driving of a car under the influence of alcohol to an extent that the driver has no proper control of the vehicle.Nowhere does it discuss the amount of alchohol you should or should not drink. As the alcoblow tenderprenuers would like to suggest. Stop blaming courts and figure out why you voted for the fellow who can't read simple english and make a law that's consistent with existing laws. sawa, I totally, 100% agree with you, did not know about the law, thanks for pointing that out. I am also very sorry, I will not vote for the fellow who can't read again, I beg for your forgiveness. The pub owner was right, those things are just for corruption sake, the guys from the pubs can properly control their vehicles, after all the car knows the way home.
Culture
Alcoblow - Is it the solution?