wazua Sun, Dec 29, 2024

60 Pages«<2324252627>»
Estimated 71 Billion Barrels...
Nabwire
#481 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2012 9:01:10 PM

There's no need for action, this is capitalism at its best. Im happy for the people who doubled their money in a day but sasa nikujaribu kustrategize going forward with little or no info??
#482 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2012 9:12:06 PM

Nabwire wrote:

2. Mbawa (L8) is large so their is a possibility that they drilled at the wrong spot. Remember the first well that was drilled in Block 10BB (Loperot well) was also not very promising - shell got 13M net pay - it was abandoned in 1992, yet the Ngamia 1 well returned a reading of over 100M.

Thats the same thing I was thinking, kwanza this is offshore oil!!! So tununue ama tungoje ishuke even more, cant believe just Monday it was up 107% na sasa imerudi price ya Monday, si hii ni mchezo??

Tungoje it will be back to where it all began. Then after some stability we get in
hisah
#483 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 7:34:10 AM

S.Sudan oil politics and why Total is frowning...

http://www.reuters.com/a...twitter&dlvrit=56943
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#484 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 6:35:17 PM

KAMPALA, Sept 17 (Reuters) - Uganda has officially revised upwards its estimated oil reserves by 40 percent to 3.5 billion barrels after appraisal activity in two blocks revealed more crude deposits, a senior government official told Reuters on Monday.

RINK
shocks
#485 Posted : Wednesday, September 19, 2012 9:53:00 AM

Check this story on business daily

I thought they said the gas wasn't commercially viable, hawa watu wanatufichia white.
#486 Posted : Wednesday, September 19, 2012 6:01:38 PM

shocks wrote:

I thought they said the gas wasn't commercially viable, hawa watu wanatufichia white.

They want a better deal, meaning what is down there must be big. That alone speaks alot.
#487 Posted : Wednesday, September 19, 2012 6:36:28 PM

Iko kitu. You just do not announce these kind of things and reverse then that quickly.
hisah
#488 Posted : Wednesday, September 19, 2012 6:52:33 PM

shocks wrote:

They want a better deal, meaning what is down there must be big. That alone speaks alot.

First you attract attention... Then you divert the attention... Then you home in... Then you surprise the prey!
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Strategist
#489 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2012 10:56:49 AM

S.Sudan says oil pipeline via Kenya to cost $3 bln

Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:14pm GMT Print | Single Page [-] Text [+]

By Kelly Gilblom

NAIROBI (Reuters) - A pipeline allowing South Sudan to export its oil via the Kenyan port of Lamu, freeing the landlocked country from reliance on a route through Sudan, will cost $3 billion, Finance Minister Kosti Manibe said.

Manibe said that although South Sudan did not have the money to pay for the pipeline's entire cost, the newly independent country would invest in the project and had the necessary reserves of crude to offer guarantee to any financiers.

"The 2,000 km pipeline will cost approximately $3 billion dollars," he told a news conference in Nairobi on Friday.

"We don't need to have the money right now, we have the reserves," he said. "South Sudan will definitely have equity in the pipeline," he added.

Officials expect construction on the pipeline will begin by June 2013 and last two years. They said it will be able to transport between 700,000 barrels and 1 million barrels of Southern Sudanese crude per day.

South Sudan has 7 billion in proven reserves, the country's energy minister Stephen Dhieu Dau said. found oil deposits in March should they be prove to be commercially viable, said Kiraitu Murungi, Kenya's energy minister.

"We believe from the indications that we've been given that we if we are lucky we might have as much oil as (South) Sudan. Any extra that we don't use in the country we are going to put in the same pipeline as the Sudanese oil and export it through the port of Lamu," said Murungi.

Murungi said the country is also planning to build a second refinery in the northeastern town of Isiolo to produce up to 100,000 barrels per day and refine crude from Turkana.

Kenya already has another refinery near the port of Mombasa, processing 1.6 million tonnes of crude a year.

http://af.reuters.com/ar...ws/idAFJOE87903C20120810
#490 Posted : Saturday, September 22, 2012 1:43:28 AM

hisah
#491 Posted : Saturday, September 22, 2012 11:48:19 AM

Link - http://subseaworldnews.c...-survey-offshore-kenya/

By Q2 2013 drilling starts on the new blocks. The news will be after elections.

hisah
#492 Posted : Sunday, September 23, 2012 8:55:49 PM

More capital calls for EA oil/gas ventures continue...

www.theeastafrican.co.ke...50/-/sutkvc/-/index.html
hisah
#493 Posted : Monday, September 24, 2012 10:36:44 AM

Total Chief Executive Officer Christophe de Margerie has pledged to step up the search for oil and gas while at the same time buying and selling assets to boost output and curb exposure to European refining. The strategy has seen Total move into so- called frontier nations including French Guiana and Kenya, while continuing to invest in large production projects in Kazakhstan, Canada and Australia, where high costs have weighed on returns.

http://www.bloomberg.com...ank-of-america-says.html
#494 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 5:00:53 AM

We met Tullow Oil management yesterday afternoon who provided some colour on recent developments but nothing materially new. That said, it is worth highlighting that in the exploration programme, management considers that the Twiga-1 well onshore Kenya is better placed than Ngamia-1, as it was sited after full interpretation of FTG data - results out late October. Interestingly, post-drill tests were not conducted at Ngamia-1 because the required equipment was not in the country and could not be deployed to the site quick enough. Should Twiga-1 prove successful, with equipment now on site, it will be tested first, before the rig returns to Ngamia-1.

http://www.rte.ie/news/b...load/2012/0926dolmen.pdf
#495 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 6:50:27 AM

[quote=murchr]
We met Tullow Oil management yesterday afternoon who provided some colour on recent developments but nothing materially new. That said, it is worth highlighting that in the exploration programme, management considers that the Twiga-1 well onshore Kenya is better placed than Ngamia-1, as it was sited after full interpretation of FTG data - results out late October. Interestingly, post-drill tests were not conducted at Ngamia-1 because the required equipment was not in the country and could not be deployed to the site quick enough. Should Twiga-1 prove successful, with equipment now on site, it will be tested first, before the rig returns to Ngamia-1.

http://www.rte.ie/news/b...oad/2012/0926dolmen.pdf[/quote]

Hmmm!, interesting point on UG. M7 has for eons insisted that all his oil be refined locally so he can export to .ke It seems he is now coming around to seeing sense in refining just enough for domestic use and exporting the rest via Kenya
#496 Posted : Thursday, September 27, 2012 9:05:54 AM

Robinhood wrote:
[quote=murchr]

http://www.rte.ie/news/b...oad/2012/0926dolmen.pdf[/quote]

Hmmm!, interesting point on UG. M7 has for eons insisted that all his oil be refined locally so he can export to .ke It seems he is now coming around to seeing sense in refining just enough for domestic use and exporting the rest via Kenya

M7 has a responsibility to the UG people not kenyans.
mkonomtupu
#497 Posted : Monday, October 01, 2012 10:19:10 AM

("Africa Oil" or the "Company") is pleased to announce the spudding in Kenya of the Paipai-1 exploration well located in onshore Block 10A, on September 29, 2012. The well is planned to drill to a total depth of 4,112 meters and will test Cretaceous and Jurassic sandstone targets. The well is operated by Tullow Oil plc ("Tullow") who hold a 50% working interest. Africa Oil holds a 30% working interest in the Block. The Paipai-1 will be drilled using the Sakson PR-5 rig and is targeting gross best estimated prospective resources of 121 million barrels by the Company''s independent resource evaluator.
http://finance.yahoo.com...-paipai-1-060000491.html
shocks
#498 Posted : Monday, October 01, 2012 12:24:10 PM

Another Link

Good news, so in another two months we will know exactly how large this oil reservoir is.
Drool
Nabwire
#499 Posted : Monday, October 01, 2012 1:04:56 PM

I'm surprised Murchr is not all over this!!! October has started well, lets wait and see
#500 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 2:49:36 AM

Nabwire wrote:
I'm surprised Murchr is not all over this!!! October has started well, lets wait and see

smile I saw it, but its been one of those days. Good news indeed, hopefully the end of the month will be a party. Is this the one they partly sold to Marathon? I read they own 30% interest and yet Tullow owns 50%?