Investor
Stocks
How to tell NSE has bottomed out
Metasploit wrote:Metasploit wrote:Bargain window closing!
I have picked HFCK at 30,CFC at 85, KQ between 11.45 and 11.70 and Safcom at 11
Tried Kengen at 11.60 but it failed.
All in all thanks to the sellers!
And watch Kenya Re (the volumes) The bellweather rebounds and on solid demand confirming the floor and change in trend! Still discount trading on some of the counters!dont know why the fear on KCB trading at a quick > 15% gain Simba and member don't look nice on the charts. That sinking feeling... KCB is testing below 50SMA @43.30 while EQTY already closed below the 50SMA @33.25 and looks likely to test 100SMA @27.85 and on decent vol spikes from the tops. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,095 Location: Nairobi
KCB has been affected by the non-payment of contractors by GoK. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
hisah wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:I think to re-balance the view on the Eurobond, we should also consider QE from the BoJ, ECB & BoE. @hisah I'm looking at it from a perspective that there must be yield seekers out there. So if they have devaluing Yens, Euros & or GBPs, then why not buy into a USD frontier sovereign bond and make 6-7%? Especially one with a strong emerging mineral & hydrocarbon play? Glorified by the IMF too. (distorts the Junk Bond look in the long run - tenor) What do you think? I share the same view. KE offers a better play for yield chasers. So the pie should see oversubscription. And if so the stocks will be discounted so that those that miss out get in on bargains. Chief, let's see what the Ratings Vigilantes have to say too. Apparently, they've had a sleuth on the ground in Jan... Fitch Teleconf: Prospects for Kenya - Tuesday 4 Feb, 11:00 GMT http://www.reuters.com/a...d-idUSFit68926720140203
Kenya to press ahead with Eurobond, undeterred by tapering; "We have not seen major revision of interest rates globally and that is why we are working quite fast to ensure we complete the process as quickly as possible," Henry Rotich said. http://www.reuters.com/a...d-idUSL5N0L81O120140203
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/26/2012 Posts: 985 Location: Dar es salaam,Tanzania
hisah wrote:Metasploit wrote:Metasploit wrote:Bargain window closing!
I have picked HFCK at 30,CFC at 85, KQ between 11.45 and 11.70 and Safcom at 11
Tried Kengen at 11.60 but it failed.
All in all thanks to the sellers!
And watch Kenya Re (the volumes) The bellweather rebounds and on solid demand confirming the floor and change in trend! Still discount trading on some of the counters!dont know why the fear on KCB trading at a quick > 15% gain Simba and member don't look nice on the charts. That sinking feeling... KCB is testing below 50SMA @43.30 while EQTY already closed below the 50SMA @33.25 and looks likely to test 100SMA @27.85 and on decent vol spikes from the tops. 100 %Agreed. Simba has failed to cross over 49 ksh resistance thrice and consequently setting lower Highs (50 Ksh on 23 Oct,49.50 on 25th Nov and 49 on 6th Jan) and lower Lows (45.75 on 8th Nov,44.25 on 18th Dec and 42.25 today).I believe it has bottomed FOR TODAY and poised to bounced very quickly to another lower HIGH(47.50)!which is actually 11-12% !But dangerous play it is (Actually realised the two brothers do app 10% after flooring) For equity,31 is the new resistance! “The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
Cde Monomotapa wrote:hisah wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:I think to re-balance the view on the Eurobond, we should also consider QE from the BoJ, ECB & BoE. @hisah I'm looking at it from a perspective that there must be yield seekers out there. So if they have devaluing Yens, Euros & or GBPs, then why not buy into a USD frontier sovereign bond and make 6-7%? Especially one with a strong emerging mineral & hydrocarbon play? Glorified by the IMF too. (distorts the Junk Bond look in the long run - tenor) What do you think? I share the same view. KE offers a better play for yield chasers. So the pie should see oversubscription. And if so the stocks will be discounted so that those that miss out get in on bargains. Chief, let's see what the Ratings Vigilantes have to say too. Apparently, they've had a sleuth on the ground in Jan... Fitch Teleconf: Prospects for Kenya - Tuesday 4 Feb, 11:00 GMT http://www.reuters.com/a...d-idUSFit68926720140203
Kenya to press ahead with Eurobond, undeterred by tapering; "We have not seen major revision of interest rates globally and that is why we are working quite fast to ensure we complete the process as quickly as possible," Henry Rotich said. http://www.reuters.com/a...d-idUSL5N0L81O120140203 sawa comrade. And where id youcant go? Too quiet... We need the memobank back now that the volatility is causing interesting debates... Need the scribe back to record the yellings $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
NSE20 slide continues as it sheds 0.58% to close at 4,828.34 on the 1st day of Feb. Still trying to find support and a bit worrying if it can't bounce at the 50SMA level at 4839. The next moving average level (100SMA) is settled at 4347. The 2 big banks are already below their 50SMA levels while EABL is bouncing at the 100SMA and BAT is looking very toppish and will likely slide below the 50SMA level @563 unless solid support comes in. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:hisah wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:I think to re-balance the view on the Eurobond, we should also consider QE from the BoJ, ECB & BoE. @hisah I'm looking at it from a perspective that there must be yield seekers out there. So if they have devaluing Yens, Euros & or GBPs, then why not buy into a USD frontier sovereign bond and make 6-7%? Especially one with a strong emerging mineral & hydrocarbon play? Glorified by the IMF too. (distorts the Junk Bond look in the long run - tenor) What do you think? I share the same view. KE offers a better play for yield chasers. So the pie should see oversubscription. And if so the stocks will be discounted so that those that miss out get in on bargains. Chief, let's see what the Ratings Vigilantes have to say too. Apparently, they've had a sleuth on the ground in Jan... Fitch Teleconf: Prospects for Kenya - Tuesday 4 Feb, 11:00 GMT http://www.reuters.com/a...d-idUSFit68926720140203
Kenya to press ahead with Eurobond, undeterred by tapering; "We have not seen major revision of interest rates globally and that is why we are working quite fast to ensure we complete the process as quickly as possible," Henry Rotich said. http://www.reuters.com/a...d-idUSL5N0L81O120140203 sawa comrade. And where id youcant go? Too quiet... We need the memobank back now that the volatility is causing interesting debates... Need the scribe back to record the yellings aka waMemory. Sure, Institutional Memory.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,497 Location: nairobi
bado sijui mambo ya bolingo bands but hfck shall touch 29 this week HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:bado sijui mambo ya bolingo bands but hfck shall touch 29 this week Excellent I hope it falls even further. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
What is the NAV for NBK?... #TeamNBK
ecstacy wrote:What is the NAV for NBK?... #TeamNBK 18.95 ( 10,982,206,000 - 5,675,000,000)/ 280,000,000 .... The NBV goes lower if preference shares refuse to be paid at the par value of Kes. 5/-. If my memory serves me right, kuna wakati NSSF had the argument that they can’t be redeemed at 5/- given that they have stayed for long and revived the bank
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,182 Location: nairobi
Is britam trading almost 5m shares in the opening 30mins,,this are the dying moments of the market correction. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
"The Glory!!"
There was BRICS, MINT, now pave way for... *drum roll* ... "ReutersTradingAfrica @TradingAfrica 8m It's time to summarize African investment opportunities through the #KINGs: an acronym for Kenya, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Ghana #AfricaInvest"
When did you join HFCK bandwagon, i remember you had reservations about it early in the day. esp the matrimonial property issue. Karibu lakini The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,182 Location: nairobi
Whenever this hater talks -ve about hfck,it gains,i like the sharp contrast in his words. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
hisah wrote:NSE20 slide continues as it sheds 0.58% to close at 4,828.34 on the 1st day of Feb. Still trying to find support and a bit worrying if it can't bounce at the 50SMA level at 4839. The next moving average level (100SMA) is settled at 4347. The 2 big banks are already below their 50SMA levels while EABL is bouncing at the 100SMA and BAT is looking very toppish and will likely slide below the 50SMA level @563 unless solid support comes in. And the index bounces on testing 100SMA level yesterday and closes @4,883.90 or 1.14% up today. Let's see how long the bounce holds as the results start flying in.
**The trump card still remains that eurobond**
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Aguytrying wrote:When did you join HFCK bandwagon, i remember you had reservations about it early in the day. esp the matrimonial property issue. Karibu lakini If it falls further. The lower the price, the better. A lower price wipes away some of the sins Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
hisah wrote:@ecstacy - EA is sitting on a hydrocarbon lake. When this stuff goes online (commercial) you don't want to miss that bull run that will last quite a distance. KE will definitely become an international finance hub. The game is bigger than you think and all those plan costing trillions are not pipe dreams. Why the trillion plans all over sudden which are far bigger than the EA nations GDPs? Big money never plays guessing games. It's very focussed and deliberate when it comes having its way. Big banks, multinational want a piece of the game and are already setting up. This is not guess work.
EA guys will have to come out of the small mindframe to see the big picture. For now it looks very confusing, but 10 - 20yrs later the talk will be different. I concur. What happened to the warm up which is Uganda? The USE still boring regardless of the oil developments there..
VituVingiSana wrote:Aguytrying wrote:When did you join HFCK bandwagon, i remember you had reservations about it early in the day. esp the matrimonial property issue. Karibu lakini If it falls further. The lower the price, the better. A lower price wipes away some of the sins agreed! other than this and maybe kenya re, unga. there are very few undervalued good counters left. of course the obvious agrics also The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Despite the doom and gloom(joy) of volatility I have identified some capital gain opportunities in the near to mid term. Shares I dont even hold. 1. Ken Re 18.00-20.00 the numbers speak for themselves. 2. Ken Gen 11.00 - 12.00 profit from the rights issue. 3. diamond trust 200-220 same as kengen with even more upside 4. KPLC at 14.00 ride out the share depression into the 20's and then run away like mad. 5. equity bank at 30.00-32.00 when you hear the Ceo is buying, he know something you dont ( or maybe he wants to sell to you at a higher price) goes against everything i stand for( pb 2.7), but equity has a headroom to reach the 40's this year and next The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Investor
Stocks
How to tell NSE has bottomed out