Investor
Stocks
Safaricom FY 2016 results net profit up 19.6%
And when they are told they have peculiar habits, Kenyans take it personally!! Most of these Kenyans could actually afford the airtime but okoad jahazi for other reasons - too lazy to go to the shop (never mind you can buy using MPesa), why buy cash while I can okoa (American tabia ya living on credit) etc. etc. But those are extra coins in my dividend account so I am not complaining - as long as my fellow Kenyans had other options but chose to make me a few coins richer!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Next will be "Tuma sasa, lipa baadaye". You simply send someone money you don't have in your Mpesa account (amount depends on your profile) and you can load the account later - within say 7 days. So if mpango smses you in the middle of a meeting telling you she is at the Salon and needs 3k ASAP, and you have nothing in you account, you still send her pap and load later. But on loading, 3,300/= or something close to that plus sending fee inamezwa pap!! Mpango is happy, you are happy (ending?), company is happy and I (the shareholder) am happy!!! Ka ching ching!!! Until of couse some communist comes along and says we need to protect you and your mpango from the "high charges"! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/20/2015 Posts: 2,811 Location: Mombasa
MaichBlack wrote:Next will be "Tuma sasa, lipa baadaye". You simply send someone money you don't have in your Mpesa account (amount depends on your profile) and you can load the account later - within say 7 days.
So if mpango smses you in the middle of a meeting telling you she is at the Salon and needs 3k ASAP, and you have nothing in you account, you still send her pap and load later. But on loading, 3,300/= or something close to that plus sending fee inamezwa pap!!
Mpango is happy, you are happy (ending?), company is happy and I (the shareholder) am happy!!! Ka ching ching!!!
Until of couse some communist comes along and says we need to protect you and your mpango from the "high charges"! @Maich you want to say Kenyan economy is driven by mpango induced transactions ? John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 992 Location: Kenya
Equity Group grew its loan book by 50bn while KCB grew by 62bn for the full year 2015. Okoa Jahazi Bank is half way the amount of the big banks do. Remarkable
Spikes wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Next will be "Tuma sasa, lipa baadaye". You simply send someone money you don't have in your Mpesa account (amount depends on your profile) and you can load the account later - within say 7 days.
So if mpango smses you in the middle of a meeting telling you she is at the Salon and needs 3k ASAP, and you have nothing in you account, you still send her pap and load later. But on loading, 3,300/= or something close to that plus sending fee inamezwa pap!!
Mpango is happy, you are happy (ending?), company is happy and I (the shareholder) am happy!!! Ka ching ching!!!
Until of couse some communist comes along and says we need to protect you and your mpango from the "high charges"! @Maich you want to say Kenyan economy is driven by mpango induced transactions ? Are you serious??? That was just a by the way example meant to capture your attention (and evidently it did that very well). There are thousands various examples where one would use the service. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
watesh wrote:Equity Group grew its loan book by 50bn while KCB grew by 62bn for the full year 2015. Okoa Jahazi Bank is half way the amount of the big banks do. Remarkable Safaricom doing that without sweat In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,342 Location: Nairobi
watesh wrote:Equity Group grew its loan book by 50bn while KCB grew by 62bn for the full year 2015. Okoa Jahazi Bank is half way the amount of the big banks do. Remarkable Explains why Equity chose to go with Equitel instead of being locked in with Safaricom. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Angelica _ann wrote:watesh wrote:Equity Group grew its loan book by 50bn while KCB grew by 62bn for the full year 2015. Okoa Jahazi Bank is half way the amount of the big banks do. Remarkable Safaricom doing that without sweat Given that Safcom's take in okoa jahazi is just Kes 5 from 50/- credit....that amount is insane! "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:watesh wrote:Equity Group grew its loan book by 50bn while KCB grew by 62bn for the full year 2015. Okoa Jahazi Bank is half way the amount of the big banks do. Remarkable Safaricom doing that without sweat Given that Safcom's take in okoa jahazi is just Kes 5 from 50/- credit....that amount is insane! The regulator needs to reign in! Safaricom's Okoa jahazi interest is more than shylock charges considering time value of money!!! John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,804 Location: NAIROBI
Hellios Telkom kenya will give safaricom a run for their money in the mobile business based on the way the company is being reorganised. Airtel will either close shop or be sold to the highest bidder Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Spikes wrote:murchr wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:watesh wrote:Equity Group grew its loan book by 50bn while KCB grew by 62bn for the full year 2015. Okoa Jahazi Bank is half way the amount of the big banks do. Remarkable Safaricom doing that without sweat Given that Safcom's take in okoa jahazi is just Kes 5 from 50/- credit....that amount is insane! The regulator needs to reign in! Safaricom's Okoa jahazi interest is more than shylock charges considering time value of money!!! Safaricom charge a fee not an interest. They do not have a lending licence. Life is short. Live passionately.
sparkly wrote:Spikes wrote:murchr wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:watesh wrote:Equity Group grew its loan book by 50bn while KCB grew by 62bn for the full year 2015. Okoa Jahazi Bank is half way the amount of the big banks do. Remarkable Safaricom doing that without sweat Given that Safcom's take in okoa jahazi is just Kes 5 from 50/- credit....that amount is insane! The regulator needs to reign in! Safaricom's Okoa jahazi interest is more than shylock charges considering time value of money!!! Safaricom charge a fee not an interest. They do not have a lending licence. Whether manslaughter or abortion murder is murder! John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
21.50/- "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Quite amazing mpesa bank is almost hitting 1 trillion in market cap and few wanjikus are not on board. The GFC bear and 2011 bear made wanjikus so negative to ever want to touch it. So when Wanjikus troop back in as the rocket phase kicks in, that will become one giant bubble of epic propositions...!! $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Bye bye #teen! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Investor
Stocks
Safaricom FY 2016 results net profit up 19.6%