wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

130 Pages«<1920212223>»
KENOL KOBIL .... 2012
Kausha
#401 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 1:56:21 PM

Total will remain in town. They are one of the 2 downstream partners in Uganda, the other is CNOOC. With ongoing prospecting in Kenya I doubt they want to leave soon.

Unlike the Unilever deal which was a massive rip off and stank to the skies - thanks to Stella's incompetence, KayKay may be different because the acquirer is not yet a shareholder in the business and the strike price achieved in the initial entry will be a good guide as to what minorities are to expect. I believe Kestrel Capital is advising Biwott & co and will definitely push for a decent enough price - likely above valuation coz of the control premium. Puma will not want to keep minorities around for longer lest the value of the company rises thereafter and will probably pay a similar price or a few cents more to that paid to Biwott. What helps is that Kestrel have consistently valued the share at 17+ so they would look stupid and loose credibility if they advised their client to accept a lower price regardless of any material info inside KeKe not known to the public.

I would have been miffed if it was Biwott launching a takeover. That would be similar to the theft Brooke Bond (majority in Unilever) did in July 2008. They knew that tea prices were rising from mid 2008 and since the stock markets were depressed, added onto a severe drought(low tea vols) and Wanjiku didn't know there was tonnes of upside ahead it was opportune for them to steal from natives. African Alliance was picked by Unilever to advise Minorities - never mind Unilever was then under control of Broke Bond and Stella accented to this. I raised this issue with them and pointed to them the bad counsel and poor valuation forecasts they were about to dish out to minorities when they didn't even have a clue on the direction of tea prices in the market. CMA typical of them not to engage their brains when called upon to, stayed true to their lazy selves and sanctioned the deal. From 2009 (a few months post the deal) and till today Unilever has been making tonnes of cash from tea. I bet Wanjiku would have made 300%+ i.e 62bob then until now. Williamson was at 48bob then and was 230 before sale of building. Added onto that Unilever has better farms and is better run than Williamson. When a company is delisted it should surely be via an arms length transaction and preserving the role of capital markets in the country as opposed to allowing ruthless capitalism to prevail, because most minorities don't want to remain in private equity status for obvious reasons. Short changing them is opening public capital markets to the abuse of large investors which is what the Unilever deal did. Am sure Stella and co have never bothered to do a post decision review..
#402 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 2:02:16 PM

Pray that no politician will enter inside and allege money cleaning syndicate.
MoG
#403 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 2:06:03 PM

selah wrote:
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:

Remember 2007 early when the same story was in the press on CFC bank. The closing price before the material announcement was about Ksh.134. The following day,ati someone sold/bought some 12,500 shares at 900!Laughing out loudly

Si wangewacha tu ata mimi ningeuzia kamtu KK at 50 bobLaughing out loudly

Enyewe,today was going to be that day my plans for a kaplot huko kwa masurburbs(Read Karen) would have been actualised!smile
It seems like it's not yet Uhuru!Laughing out loudly

This laughter is infectious!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#404 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 2:15:57 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Dividend payment is scheduled for Monday...

\o/ \o/

Aki nini hii sasaLaughing out loudly
#405 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 2:17:32 PM

hisah, at the right price I won't be copmlaining...
Jamani
#406 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 2:31:08 PM

Exactly my point at the right price no complaining...otherwise i will consider not selling
BGL
#407 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 2:32:16 PM

Even Adre de Simone the CEO of Kestrel supports suspension for a short time. How short the timeline will be its up to Stella Kilonzo to decide but from past experiences short time can be upto 90days. if the minority shareholders are defiant this thing could drag for long just like Carbacid. My verdict crystal ball tells me that KK will be delisted, once you are the majority shareholder you do what you want. How soon will depend on the side CMA/GOK will find comfort.
But considering KK has been one sore ass and has so many pending issues with KPC (GOK) etc etc the take-over may be drag for long upto 2yrs.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Jamani
#408 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 2:40:05 PM

BGL wrote:
Even Adre de Simone the CEO of Kestrel supports suspension for a short time. How short the timeline will be its up to Stella Kilonzo to decide but from past experiences short time can be upto 90days. if the minority shareholders are defiant this thing could drag for long just like Carbacid. My verdict crystal ball tells me that KK will be delisted, once you are the majority shareholder you do what you want. How soon will depend on the side CMA/GOK will find comfort.
But considering KK has been one sore ass and has so many pending issues with KPC (GOK) etc etc the take-over may be drag for long upto 2yrs (frustration). I am getting anxious with 23% of my portfolio in this thing.

We will possibly know by June 11th. CMA/NSE also wants the population that invests in shares to increase from 10% to 40% and they know the public is watching.....
#409 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 3:00:57 PM

Maybe they wan't to delist soon before the KPC settlement is done. A settlement now will definitely add to the markup...
itz
#410 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 4:08:32 PM

I cant believe investors here are drinking NSE's koolaid that it is to their benefit to halt trading in KK.As an investor in any company you pray and hope that it will be taken over so that you can enjoy and benefit from the upside the stock would have.KK investors have been cheated because this stock should have spiked on this news and the buyers should have been forced to pay a higher premium.The only people benefiting and thinking kenyans can be taken for a ride is PUMA energy and some big KK holders because they get a fixed price.
Metasploit
#411 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 4:27:49 PM

itz wrote:
I cant believe investors here are drinking NSE's koolaid that it is to their benefit to halt trading in KK.As an investor in any company you pray and hope that it will be taken over so that you can enjoy and benefit from the upside the stock would have.KK investors have been cheated because this stock should have spiked on this news and the buyers should have been forced to pay a higher premium.The only people benefiting and thinking kenyans are idiots is PUMA energy and some big KK holders because they get a fixed price.

Case study Petrobas Brazil!

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
hisah
#412 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 5:07:51 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

And what is the right price? You could take 50/- only to see the thing hit 500 a few months later...

In such cases, to avoid this kind of rip off sentiments, the buyout comes with a delisting offer. Then a few years later, an IPO is done when wanjikus have forgotten and the juice has been squeezed. Happens all the time - wash, rinse, repeat...

Just watch and you'll see unilever relisting a few years later...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
QW25091985
#413 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 5:12:17 PM

hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

And what is the right price? You could take 50/- only to see the thing hit 500 a few months later...

In such cases, to avoid this kind of rip off sentiments, the buyout comes with a delisting offer. Then a few years later, an IPO is done when wanjikus have forgotten and the juice has been squeezed. Happens all the time - wash, rinse, repeat...

Just watch and you'll see unilever relisting a few years later...

puma energy ipo ? ikae . bure kabisa
the deal
#414 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 5:32:54 PM

Read this...don't forget to buy yourself a packet of tissues http://www.postzambia.co...icle.php?articleId=24143
holycow
#415 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 5:53:53 PM

[quote=the deal]Read this...don't forget to buy yourself a packet of tissues http://www.postzambia.co...cle.php?articleId=24143[/quote]

@Jerry, you must be smiling, having made a timely exit.
BGL
#416 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 6:03:19 PM

For Immediate Release
May 9th 2012: SUSPENSION FROM TRADING OF THE SHARES FOR KENOL KOBIL LIMITED
We refer to the Cautionary Statement dated May 8 2012, released by Kenol Kobil Limited. The Cautionary Statement confirms the signing of an exclusive agreement between the key shareholders of KenolKobil Limited and Puma Energy for the sale of their majority shareholdings in KenolKobil Limited. The Cautionary Statement also states that should the transaction proceed, Puma Energy would comply with the requirements of the regulations under the Capital Markets Act, and contemplates making a Take-Over offer to acquire all the shares in the Company in accordance with those regulations.
The Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE) in consultation with the Capital Markets Authority has therefore suspended trading of the securities.
This is pursuant to the provision 22(b) of the Capital Markets (Securities) (Public Offers, Listings and Disclosures) Regulations 2002.

MR. PETER MWANGI
CHIEF EXECUTIVE
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Metasploit
#417 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 6:05:20 PM

[quote=the deal]Read this...don't forget to buy yourself a packet of tissues http://www.postzambia.co...cle.php?articleId=24143[/quote]

Until today !!!

http://www.agritrade.co....id=63:rokmicronews-fp-3

“The process to reconcile these provisions, and arrive at the final purchase price, has been ongoing and it is now anticipated that this will be concluded by 30th April 2012. Upon determination of the final purchase price, Puma Energy will immediately proceed to implement the mandatory offer,” said the statement

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
#418 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 6:59:19 PM

wanjiku has been screwed in this promising KENYA company.
QW25091985
#419 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 7:10:59 PM

the sad thing about this is that its tying up capital in a bullish market !
three months is a long time ( assuming the share is suspended for that long )
Metasploit
#420 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2012 7:15:38 PM

QW25091985 wrote:
the sad thing about this is that its tying up capital in a bullish market !
three months is a long time ( assuming the share is suspended for that long )

Am afraid for Puma Energy zambia it has gone for more than 1 year!
But the company did not delist

http://www.bloomberg.com/quote/PUMA:ZL/chart