30 Pages«<1920212223>»
Konza city Reality.
#201 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 6:21:58 PM

bird_man wrote:
Let me just ask this....
If you were Seven Seas,Craft Silicon,Nokia Siemens,Ericsson,Safaricom,Kencall,KDN,AK,IBM,HP etc.....why would you shift your office from Westlands/Mombasa Rd to Konza?

Is it that taxes will be lower?Fibre faster?Cheaper labour?Cheaper electricity?Huge market?

What?

Yes....all that plus networking depending on the supply chain management. So far 18 universities are setting up base there...labor will be in plenty.
a4architect.com
#202 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 6:27:45 PM

This article by Standard Newspaper outlines the dangers of too much public debt, mostly from the vision 2030 projects.

http://www.standardmedia...%20to%20raise%20concern

Lets hope Ministry of Info top brass will read this info so that their decisions on behalf of Kenyans don't make us all more poorer.

Lets hope that in future, our leaders will see the importance of using local consultants as opposed to overseas as in the case of Konza city with IFC and London based engineers.

As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#203 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 6:35:21 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
This article by Standard Newspaper outlines the dangers of too much public debt, mostly from the vision 2030 projects.

http://www.standardmedia...%20to%20raise%20concern

Lets hope Ministry of Info top brass will read this info so that their decisions on behalf of Kenyans don't make us all more poorer.

Lets hope that in future, our leaders will see the importance of using local consultants as opposed to overseas as in the case of Konza city with IFC and London based engineers.

Our debt is too little if we are to compute what we will get out of this projects....it makes it worthy to borrow. Have a look at this http://www.economist.com...ntent/global_debt_clock and notice how well we are doing
a4architect.com
#204 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 7:04:14 PM

Kenyas debt is $14,962,191,781

This figure is mind boggling.

Raising it by even a 50 cent is too much dishonor to the next generation.

In justifiable cases like Lamu port and Thika road/Southern/Eastern bypasses, this is ok since business generated out of this will pay back.

In cases such as Konza where prudent decisions can be made to avoid debt, this should be avoided.

jerry
#205 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 7:18:52 PM

It's about 32,000 kenya shillings per head. Did you know that America has even a bigger debt for fighting her perceived enemies?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#206 Posted : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 7:30:04 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
Kenyas debt is $14,962,191,781

This figure is mind boggling.

Raising it by even a 50 cent is too much dishonor to the next generation.

In justifiable cases like Lamu port and Thika road/Southern/Eastern bypasses, this is ok since business generated out of this will pay back.

In cases such as Konza where prudent decisions can be made to avoid debt, this should be avoided.

Do u know that the ICT sector contributes 5% towards GDP growth. Now imagine the potential in the right business environment.
jamplu
#207 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 8:28:52 AM

@jamplu, I don't get your argument. So, if I have never created an IT product then I am not qualified to talk about this project? Then in that case, ditto to the ICT board and everyone from the PS to the cleaner at the ministry of Information. I wonder what apps they've created. Most of whose CV consists of working at 3 mice.

I still insist that without manpower, this is not an ICT city but a Real Estate venture. If you have read this thread, you will see that the very gov't of Kenya has outsourced nearly every major project to a company in another country. Their excuse has always been that there aren't good companies that can handle the projects. If Ndemo himself can outsource all gov't data to Google, exactly what are you talking about being an IT hub?

As for your question, I was doing something in technology before there was internet in Kenya. I retired 3 yrs ago and spend my time surfing the net and walking around nairobi from one mbuzi to another. Yet something tells me that I'm younger than you and you are busy in the office.

@Alma my problem is your kind who just critic and have no solutions and make assumption about people just!
If you did something in technology 3 years before internet...Laughing out loudly boss i'll let you eat your mbuzi and walk about town cauz we have nothing to talk about.
#208 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 8:51:04 AM

@jamplu before you directly approached me to talk to me, we were having a very heated debate on the pros and cons of konza. Mind you, every opinion was respected and everyone is wrong and everyone right. The idea here was to engage in verbal intercourse to come up with a reasonable idea of what its all about.

This has led to a softening of stands on both camps.

That is until, some guys like you have to come around and because they can't offer anything in such heated debate, go to the least common denominator which is personalization of issues.

So I will leave childish behavior to shidrens and hopefully we shall have a very heated, bitter and serious discussion of this ICT issue.

I am not the one who says that IT guys in Kenya aren't what they think they are. All you have to do is call KPLC customer care. Try KDN if you want to learn more. Or read what I consider to be one of Kenya's best has to say about it. Idd Salims Blog:

"I am still in pain. Apart from Mpesa, we REALLY don’t have alot to talk about in terms of mass-financial innovations. Apart from Ushahidi, we REALLY don’t have alot to talk about in terms of mass-social-impact innovations. Apart from sprinkles here and there, we REALLY don’t have alot to talk about in terms of local tech."

That's not me who said it, its one of your gurus.

I did not realise that there is a God complex with IT guys in Kenya. When someone says you aren't all that, you start equating greatness to creating Apps.

Its like a dairy farmer telling the professor, "how many titties have you ever milked".

I have given my opinions based on what I have experienced in life and in business. If you don't like it, shauri yako. You don't see me interested in knowing who you are or what you do.

Lakini if you think hizi ni enzi za Nyayo where Gov't can spend tax payer monies on projects and all of us say a Hail Mary, think again.

Nyayo is retired.

By the way, kweli guys of this ICT board only stick in wazua to bash anyone against this project?

a4architect.com
#209 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 12:16:10 PM

@alma..true..lets stick to issues when engaging in debate here. Gone are the days when Govt was 100% right and its citizenry had no other outlet to give their views.

As we speak, Kenya is experiencing slow internet due to cable breakage at the coast.

Instead of Ministry of Info using the KES 1 Billion tax payer money to repair/ensure redundancy, they buy land at Konza and resell the same land to us.

They then retain services of Worldbank/IFC and London based architects as opposed to local architects/consultants at a very high cost to us tax payers.

The only local thing is the adverts on Kenyan tv and radio.

This thread here in Wazua offers Ministry of Info/ICT BOard more consultancy service all for free than they can get from Worldbank/IFC and the London based architects/engineers combined.

#210 Posted : Thursday, March 08, 2012 5:37:49 PM

Ping Pong. Luckily you aint the policy makers
30 Pages«<1920212223>»