Rank: Member Joined: 7/1/2010 Posts: 148 Location: nairobi
kenmac wrote:and this..... 22,000
20,002 hii imenichinda Am paid in Kshs.
MaichBlack wrote:Soma kwa Kiswahili:
1) 19,000 2) 10,009 my guess 1. 19,000 = Elfu kumi na tisa pap 2. 10,009 = Elfu kumi na tisa juu
Haiya, I thought KENDA (not the party) and TISA are both 9? Thread should be aptly named Kiswahili Kifukuzwe...what with all the confusion... Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/3/2010 Posts: 1,141 Location: Londokwe
Mtu anweza fanya blunder. You are employed and told that your salo is elfu kumi na tisa.You are happy that your salo is 19000 then come monthend you get 10009.Utado? 2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
1.Kumi na tisa elfu 2.Kumi elfu na tisa (mgongoni)
kenmac wrote:and this..... 22,000
20,002 1. Ishirini na mbili elfu 2. Ishirini elfu na mbili (mgongoni)
1) 19,000 2) 10,009 Funny it seems all these years of swahili speaking, no one thought of this! This should be the news headlines on T.V and newspapers. I doubt there is an answer! A New Kenya
By the way this problem starts where instead of assigning 11 a new name (English Eleven), in swahili you say Ten and One( Kumi na moja), that totally messes up the possibility of assigning the above problem an answer. Anyone who studied maths in TZ?, maybe you can tell us. You cannot solve this without assigning, 11,12,13...new swahili(i think kikuyu, kikamba, etc were clever enough to use "mirongo" correct me if am wrong, am "from" somewhere there but i do not know counting very well) words for the above. A New Kenya
Much Know wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Soma kwa Kiswahili:
1) 19,000 2) 10,009 Funny it seems all these years of swahili speaking, no one thought of this! This should be the news headlines on T.V and newspapers. I doubt there is an answer! not really, 19,000 - kumi na tisa elfu 19,009 - kumi na tisa elfu na tisa is that clear? I care!
Ati thuks? 10,009, 19,000 and your set are different. As guka says(last time i credit a joke i steal from wazua), put on 'condom ya macho'. The way i do it, anytime i feel 'smarter' than wazuans, i double check my idea. A New Kenya
This one could have earned a good language(mathematical language?) thesis, haiya! Imenibamba sana! A New Kenya
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Rank: Member Joined: 10/26/2011 Posts: 181 Location: Nairobi
1) 19,000 2) 10,009 perhaps it may provide more clarity if read this way: 1. Elfu kumi, elfu tisa 2. Elfu kumi na tisa First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
I'm thoroughly impressed by those youngstars giving Kiswahili a shot. Learning a foreign language is acutely difficult if you did not learn it in childhood.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
You are not kidding when you say Kiswahili kitukuzwe. Here is USA navy singing "Baba Yetu"
Culture
Kiswahili Kitukuzwe