Investor
Stocks
EQUITY MADNESS!!
@OGUTU,Wendz. If u can make money in NSE then u understand the market. Period. Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land. The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
There used to be boy who lived in a glass house. He never came out of the house…The glass of the entire housed used to have a tint of blue…If you looked outside,all you would see was blue (the colour of the tint)…As a result,the boy grew up thinking that the world outside was all blue… Akina Jammo,emundu et al are like the boy who lived in the tinted glass house…they are speculators to the bone…they see a speculator in everyone…in their mindset,everyone is and should be a speculator… If you look at most of the posts to this ‘crude’ post (now look at the title!) you will realize most are speculators looking for shortterm gain… why should we assume everyone is a short term speculator. why why why & WHY! Longterm investors are the ones who cushion the market..NSE has survived this far courtesy of longterm investors. If we continue these kind of posts….castigating anyone buying EB @ 18.00 (even for longterm),coz some speculators were late to get in & they want it to go down…then I can assure you…we will only end up with a cyclic market….and the longterm investors like NSSF,foreign funds,local fund managers,myself who do not have time to speculate will STAY AWAY…This will be the FINAL BLOW to NSE I can assure you!
@BAAK Good one.
But a quick question? Who drives the prices? Speculators are as important as long-term investors. The two go together..... Actually,the speculators are the ones who make the NSE interesting and hence attract more investors. If speculators are not on board,be sure the prices will not go up.... to give you a chance to sell or go down,to give you a chance to buy. Long term investors do not have to take 10 years to sell. they can sell within a month should an important piece of information comes up. Infact,they are usually more informed about the market than long term investors for obvious reasons.
Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
@ The General I just love that quote by the Sage of Omaha. The market never forgives and shall never forgive. Buffet also says that if the market was perfect,then he would be a bum in the street holding a bowl. N/B (Come to think of it,your signature is one observation i can attest to ! ) Seek ye first the finacial kingdom,and all else shall be added unto you. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@njunge00
you arent in a bin...... are you?
Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
@BAAK,I hear you...tumezoea hizi posts..heroes in waiting for calling a price dip...BTW who talks when predictions go wrong?...remember buying enough Equity at under Ksh. 9.50(95) whilst others were loudly wondering what was wrong with me..or KCB at 15.10-35/= with others thinking I'm insane...we take these posts with a pinch of salt...si lazima..not everyone has the time or access to buy/sell order prices to mark time the market. Strategise,invest and come reap your returns/losses when time is due...with the right investment it's time in the market not timing that matters.
Food for thought....this is a company that returned 100% profit when the country's economy grew by 2% in the year 2000..a great future lies ahead for investors with it's regional expansion plan.. Uganda goes into oil production next year....S Sudan in it and up next for launch...Tanzania & Rwanda under serious consideration...rumours of an SA penetration....with 30% of all Kenyan bank accounts...again now has 50% of all CDS accounts locally...making 70% of the transaction costs...huge government privitisations definately in the offing this year....young visionary and successful management... intent on making this the most successful bank in Africa not East and Central....I'd expect a bit of offloading by some directors at some point...as an investor does that change their successful business model? I'm looking at the long-term share price graph..not bleeps
When all is said and done.. We r here for the money.
DISCLAIMER: This is the opinion of one Jammo,CFA,CPA,based in nairobi. Whilst care has been taken in compiling the data,he doesn't accept any responsibility of accuracy or completeness of info contained herein..neither does he purport to be a genius!
@jammo - I see you have been pigwad mawe by haters till you had to change your tag line...hahaha.
Anyway,I figure there is a need to understand that any advice shared here is never absolute...we each have to define our own investment objectives. We cannot escape the responsibility to do our own research which of course includes listening to other people's views...
Notice the counter stopped for a breather today..a thing that happens end week....rarely midweek..Kesho seems to be interesting. Some of exit orders for last week purchases were been lodged today..
DISCLAIMER: This is the opinion of one Jammo,CFA,CPA,Opinionated and Loud,based in nairobi. Whilst care has been taken in compiling the data to be as most factual n logical,he doesn't accept any responsibility of accuracy or completeness of info contained herein..neither does he purport to be a genius!
Eh? 30 posts arguing about nothing-I'd have understood about strategy,but share price movement? Everybody has an opinion and it may not be one you share-so what? Argue your pt coherently without getting personal and you may just convince somebody. At the end If you've done well from buying Equity at Ksh95. Good on you and here is your medal. But remember its an unrealised gain until you sell. Pesa yako. Akili kama unayo ni yako. Why do you have to get emosional? www.mjengakenya.blogspot.comSehemu ndio nyumba
K-Rep(same business model as Equity) just reported a huge loss,yet Equity is still 'profitable'. Igo gitu. I've never trusted Kenyan indigenous banks. I bet you Equity is the largest ponzi scheme in Kenya right now. Just like Maddoff,the truth will finally come out. Meanwhile,speculate with this pig but never hold it long term.
TB..there's more to krep woes than bein a micro finance. Political instability earlier in the year n global financial crisis do make a good excuse to cover other issues don't they? Eg,cooperative's doin fine yet last 2 years about 15coop societies have gone under...includin a teachers sacco in machakos. Teachers?....
DISCLAIMER: This is the opinion of one Jammo,CFA,CPA,Opinionated and Loud,based in nairobi. Whilst care has been taken in compiling the data to be as most factual n logical,he doesn't accept any responsibility of accuracy or completeness of info contained herein..neither does he purport to be a genius!
@ Tb, wacha people wake up,you will receive it.. The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie. The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
TB,dig up more on why K-Rep went into that loss. It is not from following their business model.
My fellow brothers be patriotic support one of our own to show the world that despite other banks going under in Europe there is one in Kenya which is expanding.Mr Mwangi should have been invited to G20 sumitt here in the UK to show them how banks are managed.Insted of the many bla bla about EB we should give it all the support it deserves.My portfolio is 100% EB and ive no regrets for the past years.
ogutu
That is the spirit. Put your money where your mouth is! ni pesa zako. My portfolio is 75% Equity and I'm not selling. When even the Chinese are looking into copying EB's model,it reminds me of MTN copying Safaricoms M-Pesa product...no one wants to copy unsustainable models.
Equity enjoys the goodwill of many kenyans and on the understanding that it is a special bank accessible and tailored for the 'common man'. But is it?
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,103 Location: Nairobi
Is the Tusker Baridi here,the blogger ColdTusker? TB or SKerians: Please clear this up. (I do not think so but kuuliza ni bure) Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@ ecstacy
hebu enlighten me on what portion of K-Rep's loss is not attributed to it's business model?
One thing we can agree on,if you have faith in a stock,go all in,diversification is for losers and lazy investors. Disclaimer: I use stop loss as a risk management tool,in Kenya you're screwed if your stocks begin tanking.
Investor
Stocks
EQUITY MADNESS!!