wazua Tue, May 5, 2026

Why do people sing gospel songs when drunk?
raszag
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 11:40:15 PM

when guys are drunk vichwa zao huyumba humba and in the process just see 'stars'....Don't we all believe God is up there beyond the stars? haya, lazima basi tumuimbie tukidhani tuko karibu kufika kwake hapo mbele ya stars...
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
Spend.thrift
#12 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 9:08:58 AM

@ Ms Kenya,

To know the reason why drunks always chant gospel tunes or why they will rise up when the deejay at She Been plays "akisema atakubariki, hakuna atakayezuia" , you only have to ask yourself why more than 80% of drunks drink in the first place.

The beer is often taken to fill some void which is either unidentified ( by the drunk guy in his/her sober state) or too difficul to deal with.

Beer has no message, it only helps to bring out what is in the hearts or minds of the drunk guys.

So never let off somebody who abuses you or katias you (like when a female goes to a party and her juinor male tries to tel her very sweet things like how beautiful she is) and then the next day they tell you "sorry, I was drunk".

I learnt this from studying the character of close relatives and friends for more than 20 years.

Otherwise those who drink for purposes of social company and relaxation will (in almost certain terms) never get drunk. They just sip and talk or strike deals.
ProverB
#13 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 9:19:22 AM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
…May I ask.. Why do Kenyans sing gospel (church) songs when they’re completely drunk? E.g. ’Mugithi’ which is about a train to heaven…’Kuna dawa’…’Kiriro’…..’Wi Muoyo, Jesu wi mwoyo’

probably because its difficult to sing Genge/Kapuka? Kapungala and all other crap out there composed of very much noise and sound and few sentences..
waiting to hear collabo ya Daddy Owen, Abbas kubaff and nyota ndogo.. think it will be a whole new Genre.. kapungaHoplarabu or something.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#14 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 10:49:00 AM

Spend.thrift wrote:
@ Ms Kenya,

Otherwise those who drink for purposes of social company and relaxation will (in almost certain terms) never get drunk. They just sip and talk or strike deals.

Actually these are the people i don't like going out with....such boring characters.Their main interest ni kusorora watu kwa club. There's time for business and pleasure. There are so many other places to "sip, talk and strike deals" wacha kujaza club bure. Just because someone seems to be dancing, singing and basically having a good time does not mean they are drunk.

Btw why is it that people who have never tasted alcohol think they know so much about what a goes through a drunk's head.
#15 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 10:57:52 AM

[quote=Spend.thrift]Btw why is it that people who have never tasted alcohol think they know so much about what a goes through a drunk's head.

My point exactly, you find a person who has never tasted phombe talk as the real expert, explaining all the things the drunk does, wengine wetu twaimba lakini sisi hapana shenzi!!!
#16 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 11:06:22 AM

Let's see if they know:.....Why do drunks pass by the butchery and buy a Kg of beef or mutton?....10 marks.
Pablo
#17 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 11:39:34 AM

Its not just Gospel songs. Last time I was at Remenise, that Rua (or is it Murimi) just sung silly songs even popular adversts like that one of 'Wadudu ni hatari, wadudu ni wachafu wauwe mara moja DOOM, DOOM DOOM.... naa DOOM'

Also sung are nursery rhymes which are adulterated (literally).
#18 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 12:45:24 PM

Pablo wrote:
Its not just Gospel songs. Last time I was at Remenise, that Rua (or is it Murimi) just sung silly songs even popular adversts like that one of 'Wadudu ni hatari, wadudu ni wachafu wauwe mara moja DOOM, DOOM DOOM.... naa DOOM'

Also sung are nursery rhymes which are adulterated (literally).

I came out from Reminisce having learnt a lot of dirty kyuk words....they adulterate many songs, but the crowd seems to like it
#19 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 1:37:28 PM

Phombe ni kitu ya ajabu. I remember one time one of my buddies started singing the old version (or was it his own version) of ' killing me softly..' at 4 a.m. I think the fellow was seeing the other side of life. He couldn't even pronounce the name of the liquor we had kunywad.. He would say Gibleys...Pray
marex
#20 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 1:51:24 PM

si watu wote.
The way I am