11 Pages<1234>»
Question on roads @the usual suspects
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 2:29:59 PM

@Djinn,
Work or just touring?

@Sasha,
Great stuff.....Naona pia hukuja na relismile !....There should be a shortcut to the lake via Nyahururu-Maralal-Baragoi no?.....and where (why?) have you been hiding?
Sasha
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 3:33:49 PM

Laughing out loudly ! Sikuja na reli! Nyahururu - Baragoi? What about the mountains? Would make the journey much shorter. It would actually make it a one day trip!

Been around but kinda busy. Been struggling to manage a bulging client portfolio! At least now I can have some time to post a few things here and there!
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 4:05:01 PM

@Sasha,
Kwani wewe siku hizi ni mpishismile? .....If you are overwhelmed by clients,unatuma wengine kwa Shikuku ama Osewesmile ...Nice to have you around!
#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 4:43:33 PM

@Djinn
The road from Nanyuki Isiolo was fixed. Only a few potholes along the timau area. Nothing much though for a Land Rover. They fixed the road from Isiolo to the Meru- Nanyuki junction. You can full throttle down to Isiolo.
Conquestador
#15 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 9:05:40 PM

Ati Maralal-Baragoi?
You need a good set of spare wheels, a small portable oil well and a spare life. The Baragoi of Suguta valley will consider @Djinn as game especially in the upcoming initiation season...

Best bet, as @Njung'e/ @Sasha ably atriculates is Kitale- Lodwar. At least the 'bandits' there are used to humans wearing clothes.

@Djinn: answer @Njung'e's question: Work or pleasure? If later, why not rope in some Wazuans for company?
#16 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 11:35:16 PM

Sasha wrote:
@Djinn: Sorry about the link. Go to the homepage i.e. explorekenya.com then scroll to the bottom of the home page, you will see Lake Turkana Safari. If you are unable to do this I will paste excerpts from the site.

This route will not necessarily need a road monster but it may come in handy in the desert! However, have to agree with guka on passing through the desert alone.

Kalacha is a small settlement on the edge of the desert on an oasis near North Horr and the Ethiopian border. You can actually rest there before the long trek to Loiyangalani (will take you about 5 - 6 hours driving at average speeds of 50-60kph).
On the scale of 10, for the Kitale route I'll give an 8! For the Isiolo route I'll give it a 4 heading to 5!

@guka: I'm assuming Djinn is going on a road trip and local tourism. And on that note Djinn, you will need a mobile petrol station for this round trip!

Djinn, If you are doing this for tour why not go through Isiolo Marsabit Loiyangalani route and do the Lodwar Kitale route on your way back. The road to Merille is in good shape but the remaining distance is pure agony for even cruisers. And you might need a new tyre for each of those Hours arross Chalbi!

Be kind to share with wazua your experiences across those counties.

@Njung'e

Looks like you have been through every boundaries and Hamlet commission since independence. Ni wapi hujui?
Cardinal
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 8:42:44 AM

@Djinn,
Only way to Lodwar is via Kitale.From Kitale to Lodwar is 10 hour drive so i would suggest you sleep overnite at Kitale and hit the road early.It's tough and you require a serious off-road and not the bijuti.From Kitale,the road is fair upto a place known as Marich just before you drop to the valley.It's here that the journey begins.You can't say there is much of road between Marich and Lodwar..Beware of armed thugs at Marich,Kakong and Kalengmorok and where possible look out for NGO cars from Kitale and trail them for safety.....If you want to take advantage of police escort,be at Kapenguria at 11am or 1pm.

Distance;
Nrb-Kitale approx 390 kms.
Kitale-Lodwar Approx 320 kms.
Lodwar-Kalkol (on the shores of L.Turkana)- 78Km.

I salute you.You know alot.
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 11:02:33 AM

@Congeustador,
You are right....The thugs along kitale-lodwar Loki road are very humane.You can stop by and "borrow' a gun at a fee of 1,000 just to test your firing skills.I once did and i know for dead that i can't shoot an elephant even at point blank...lol.

@Willing.
Is there?....hahaha!!.....Remember Mzee Safari in the ol' geo/history? books?.....You never know...lol.

@Cardinal,
Travelling is my fav pastime......Ahsante!
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 11:08:12 AM

@Djinn,
Only way to Lodwar is via Kitale.From Kitale to Lodwar is 10 hour drive so i would suggest you sleep overnite at Kitale and hit the road early.It's tough and you require a serious off-road and not the bijuti.From Kitale,the road is fair upto a place known as Marich just before you drop to the valley.It's here that the journey begins.You can't say there is much of road between Marich and Lodwar..Beware of armed thugs at Marich,Kakong and Kalengmorok and where possible look out for NGO cars from Kitale and trail them for safety.....If you want to take advantage of police escort,be at Kapenguria at 11am or 1pm.

Distance;
Nrb-Kitale approx 390 kms.
Kitale-Lodwar Approx 320 kms.
Lodwar-Kalkol (on the shores of L.Turkana)- 78Km.

Hats off..... Feels like we would want to mention where we come from coz you will have good info of our backyards!
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 11:16:53 AM

@Wendz,
Thanks dear and don't worry.I am talking to Kimunya and soon you will have tarmac connecting Ol-kalou and Kanyagia through Kirima.....Then tarmac Mairo Inya - Shamata.....or should i just go ahead and become your governor now that i have your vote?....Laughing out loudly ROTFLMAO!!
11 Pages<1234>»