wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

5 Pages<1234>»
BarclayCard?
stocksdoctor
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 4:57:00 PM

Been with I and M bank past one and a half years and no regrets. Annual fee of Ksh. 3000,can wait till the last day to make payment which they reflect immediately,always alerted when I use my card by sms.
rupshi
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 5:11:00 PM

Personally,I have had the Barclaycard (Visa) for more than 10 yrs,and have had no problems. Only,a couple of times,I have received my statements late,in the mail,so have had to pay,penalty and interest charges. But they have assured my that by June,they wil send me E-statements,thru my email.
Mkimwa
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 9:29:00 PM

Move to NIC. I think theirs is less hassle free.. you are alerted via SMS everytime u do a transaction,even outside the country. e-statements,good customer service always,even on phone.
Yearly fee is like 2.5K,interest = 2.5% per month. Be careful with payments,make sure that you pay the full amount to the last cent,and they will never make a single cent out of you.
A friend of mine,had a balance of 201K with some few shillings on top.. He paid 201K. in the next month,he was charged like 4K debit interest because of those few shillings.

Avoid Credit cards like a plague.. unless you have to..
adept
#14 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 5:45:00 AM

I'm with I&M Visa...very professional in my experience.
reox
#15 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 7:18:00 AM

Credit cards....want to know a secret? use and pay next month in full,there will be no charges...you pay only the annual charge which is unavoidable. Again just have it if you must.

Had it back then in 2001-2002 but was in campus and money was a problem...so would use it to fuel my car and do shopping but immediately my salary hits the account would pay in full...my credit limit was 30 days. Wacha one day some thugs stole my headlights plus cornerlights no money in the account so my only option was the card. charges/penalties started to hit me from all corners....wewe... the moment i paid in full i shred the thing into minute pieces and no coaxing can make me have the thing again!

Be proactive not reactive
Don't let urgent deflect you from the important

doh
#16 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 7:41:00 AM

I dont have I&M credit card but have banked with them for 3 years. Very proffessional. Convenient branch network at Rongai,Parklands,wilson,ngong road,south c,mombasa road. City center branch closes at 5pm. No queues. Can withdrwal thru Pesa Point or kenswitch

info is money
pauloti
#17 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 11:25:00 AM

i am tired of using them also - i always have some problem or the other with them and their customer service is pathetic! they have deducted atleast kshs 25000 of me me through false charges over the last year i.e. u pay on time and they process it late so they charge,or they send the bills late. i have also complained to their head offices in UK about the same issue. amazingly they replied to my email within 2 days and gave me names on who to follow up at this end! someone complained about them in the watchman column in the daily nation 2 weeks ago. there has been no reply as of yet! barclaycard used to be the pioneers in the credit card industry in kenya,and they still think we cant do without them. they dont know so many alternatives are available now! we should petition them jointly and inform their head offices in the UK about their useless credit card! im stuck with them for this year atleast coz ive paid my annual fee!
adept
#18 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 1:30:00 PM

@pauloti

Forget about complaining to Barclays UK. Why are you dignifying bad service? Remember Barclays ina wenyewe...notwithstanding its listing on the NSE.

Does the UK office even know whether Nairobi is a city in Kenya,D.R.C. or Chad?

Vote with your feet. That is the only language Big Business understands.

Stop settling for substandard service and trying to counsel these guys to reform while all the while you are paying through your nose...remember,they are still delivering their bottom line.
pops
#19 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 8:31:00 AM

acutally kudos pauloti for getting in touch with their UK offices. at least they will know their kenyan office is slacking! im told the management here are just puppets. they cant take any decisions without consulting the UK head office. and rumour from UK has it that barclaycard has alot of accumulated bad debt in Kenya - they issued alot of cards without proper checks over the last 4 years and are now in a mess. Managers from the UK are going to come in and take over. there are major allegations of graft at the local office. actually barclay card and barclays bank are 2 entirely different companies - so barclays bank has nothing to do with it. so if i were u people i would tread very carefully with this company because they are making us pay all these false charges to cover their losses!
#20 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 11:49:00 AM

@Reox,

That no charge thing is no longer true at least as far as barclaycard is concerened starting Feb. Of late an interest charges on my barclaycard has crept in yet I pay in full! The fifty interest free days are over as I see it. Interest charged every month whether balance is cleared or not. Am looking for alternative.

Fundamentals + Sentiments = Position
5 Pages<1234>»