wazua Fri, Dec 27, 2024

Law Society Conditions of sale - What they say?
Kwanini
#21 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 2:49:00 PM

@everyone- i really appreciate your time and feedback. But its the Creator of the Yam and the Knife who will bless you accordingly. However since "To those to whom much has been given much will be required", son of uganda, weka number yako, the verbosity helped a great deal. Its only that i dont have enough to go round and thought SK charity would suffice.
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
#22 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 3:00:23 PM

Wewe @Kwanini a true nobleman. All in jest my good man. No wonder lawyer wanted to run with your money...

Glad I can always meet you on Wazua to chat! smile
wazua
#23 Posted : Tuesday, August 17, 2010 4:00:16 PM

Dear Members,

Kwanini wrote:
@wazua- i may not be very well endowned, but as a sign of appreciation, can i mpesa a little something for you to donate towards your annual Mbuzi and or Sk Charity?

Thanking @Kwanini for the generous contribution, which was duly matched and forwarded to @leona of SK/Wazua Charity club to aid a greater cause.

Welcome to Wazua.
lisaox
#24 Posted : Tuesday, August 17, 2010 4:52:18 PM

My two cents
Law Soc conditions for sale are simply certain conditions that govern sellers and buyers when dealing with conveyance of land.They are almost always quoted in agreements for sale of land.They are about 6 pages,not much,i can send you copy.Anyway,they have detailed terms which have been used as governing sale contrtacts for land UNLESS otherwise different terms are specifically incorporated into the agreement for sale. SO if your contract was silent regarding how or through whom paymnt for the land is to be done,the conditions will govern this particular aspect.let me know if you want a pdf copy. If you need anymore legal advice,uliza mimi on wazua,am a lawyer lookin for a job so am sure I'll have a bit of time to give some general advice for starters anyways as i develop network akin to safaricoms!
mozenrat
#25 Posted : Tuesday, August 17, 2010 5:01:12 PM

lisaox..

Please sambaza pdf to

ratenmozen (at) gmail dot com
Kwanini
#26 Posted : Tuesday, August 17, 2010 6:21:58 PM

lisa@ tafadhali
sambazia
wajameni@gmail.com
Mungu akuruzuku
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
Shiznit...
#27 Posted : Tuesday, August 17, 2010 10:51:36 PM

pls forward me a copy @ princesokam at gmail dot com
really appreciated will come in handy....
kindest regards,
Hunderwear
#28 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2013 8:55:40 PM

tom_boy
#29 Posted : Thursday, February 13, 2014 1:39:39 PM

For those Wazuans who may be in the know, when purchasing a flat in one of these developments, there is something called "reversionary interest". Hii ni mnyama gani and how does it arise? How is the worth of this interest determined and why is a buyer charged for transfer of reversionary interest to the management company?
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
mkonomtupu
#30 Posted : Thursday, February 13, 2014 3:39:19 PM

tom_boy wrote:
For those Wazuans who may be in the know, when purchasing a flat in one of these developments, there is something called "reversionary interest". Hii ni mnyama gani and how does it arise? How is the worth of this interest determined and why is a buyer charged for transfer of reversionary interest to the management company?

It's simply means that because the owner of the land only has a 99 year lease after which the person on the title is either supposed to apply to government to extend the lease or demolish your building and the land is given to someone else to develop it. The reversionary interest is the right given to your management company to apply for extension of your 99 year lease from the government. In grogon area the leases were extended for 30-40 years so pay for it so that your grandchildren can continue staying in your flat
tom_boy
#31 Posted : Thursday, February 13, 2014 4:27:33 PM

Than you Bwana Mkonomtupu. I had assumed that the company selling the flats would transfer the original lease to the management company once all flats are bought out. This means that the buyers pay for the flats seperately then pay again for the lease to go to the management company. That is like buying the same thing twice! Do you mean to say the lease remains in the name of the vendor until it expires. What happens where the vendor also acquired the lease from someone else, does this mean the original lease remains in the name of the original seller? How is the value of this revesionary interest arrived at?
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
mkonomtupu
#32 Posted : Thursday, February 13, 2014 4:47:56 PM

i will assume the company selling the flats is the developer. the original lease could be in the name of the another person who gave out the land to the developer. the original lease is transferred to the management company where the flats owners are the shareholders once all the flats are sold out. Actually if you notice you have a lease which is shorter maybe by a week than that held by the management company. If the reversionary interest is not transferred then the original owner will be the only one recognized to apply for extension of the lease. You may need to look for his descendants to apply for you if you don't transfer it-this is why management company is incorporated because it can last forever. That's why its important to make the transfer. The lease remains in the name of the vendor until it is transferred to the management company. The value of this interest is not fixed depends on the what the vendor wants and how much he can squeeze out of the buyers
tom_boy
#33 Posted : Thursday, February 13, 2014 6:32:15 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
i will assume the company selling the flats is the developer. the original lease could be in the name of the another person who gave out the land to the developer. the original lease is transferred to the management company where the flats owners are the shareholders once all the flats are sold out. Actually if you notice you have a lease which is shorter maybe by a week than that held by the management company. If the reversionary interest is not transferred then the original owner will be the only one recognized to apply for extension of the lease. You may need to look for his descendants to apply for you if you don't transfer it-this is why management company is incorporated because it can last forever. That's why its important to make the transfer. The lease remains in the name of the vendor until it is transferred to the management company. The value of this interest is not fixed depends on the what the vendor wants and how much he can squeeze out of the buyers

Very interesting information. So what happens in a situation where not all flats are sold and the vendor decides to lease/rent out some of them, yet the sale agreement with other buyers states that the reversionary interest is only transfered to management company when all flats are sold. Hmmmh