Investor
Stocks
Equity - a politically risky stock time to sell
Rank: User Joined: 6/27/2008 Posts: 709 Location: Velayat-e Faryab
Wa_ithaka wrote:yekeyeke- it seems you don't have to try hard to a emit a brainfart. First of all, I am kiuk (and pride to be thank you very much) so the question of being a kiuk-hater arise. And I called it perception. Perception-idiot @Wa_ithaka Idiot, according to Encarta Dictionary, is an offensive term that deliberately insults somebody's intelligence. It is a term used in classification system for somebody with an IQ of about 25 or under and a mental age of less than 3 years. Spare my brother such very hard terms. Use it against our enemies. Yekeyeke is a nice guy. Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,139 Location: Nairobi
90% of Kenyan MPigs are IDIOTS... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
youcan'tstopusnow wrote: A final question: Where do you see Equity in 5 years? I know it's not right, but I can't resist resist answering the question myself, "Market leader in the banking sector in almost all spheres"
Thats a tricky question? It can be YES/NO but i will say it will be a leader in some fronts but not the leading bank. My take would be NIC & KCB. Why? a)There is a revolution ongoing in the banking sector where people want a one stop shop to do all your transaction,preferably online i.e.current account,saving account,financial consultant,Stock Broker.This in tandem with the +ve economic growth,opening of the east africa community..NIC is the leader with a very stable online banking sytem. b)Equity has adopted a model of targeting the masses.It has worked.But not for too long.They have realised that and are trying to ammend that.You see,with products you can target the masses and reach the unbanked lower income groups because they spend and do not save.Not so with services.It reaches a saturation point.You do not want a bank with soo much political perceptions,and majority of the bankers un-educated.NIC is always growing.Corporate clients,middle class,the rich..you never go wrong with such. c)KCB is a C- student with A+ capability.Biggest asset worth and network by branches.Expanded more in other markets.So,with some changes or a minor merger or acquisition has more potential.It pays good dividends than Equity. So,for 5yrs, KCB & NIC are much better than Equity. See what everyone has seen,but think what nobody has thought. Albert Szent-Gyorgyi
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
One of the underlying traits in Wazua discussions is that wazuans will always come out fighting for the stocks in their portfolio.
The Zeal is understandable but the uncouth statements take away from an otherwise healthy educational debate.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/20/2010 Posts: 27 Location: kenya
Waithaka is bure kabisa.... this guy is not a serious dude..... none other that the good words of the Holy book in proverbs 18:2 describes him "A fool takes no pleasure in understanding, but only in expressing his opinion".
Get your facts right dude. That share might hit 30 bob after their half year result. Which i believe under the leadership of Dr Mwangi will be impressive.
Wazua is increasingly becoming a bigot haven.Why can't we allow others to voice their opinions n queries without insulting them?If u think some1 is an idiot dont reply to his post.U end up looking like the real idiot!Waithaka's post is a clear info-seekin query What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
I think Wazua admin should take a lead role in cautioning offenders. Otherwise the forum will deteriorate and lose its place as the foremost site for 'serious talk about wealth'.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/7/2010 Posts: 1,279 Location: nbi
Kadonye & surealligator: apologies for the use of the word idiot. August 4th will be here in less than a month and I'll have my answer The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
@waithaka.
Sasa is when you not umeita watu idiot!!!!!!
Wazua. Can this guy be banned from using Wazua forum for one month, ile iwe funzo kwa wengine wenya tabia kama yake.
I don't understand why you are all bashing @yekeyeke... Kiuk or no kiuk, he has stated a fundamental truth.. that there are a number of Kenyans who PERCEIVE EB to be a kiuk bank, unfairly of course...
I am sure that EB's board, now dominated by British (read Helios), - and even before Helios- do recognize this and are doing the best to get rid of it... An investor in EB shares that does not take cognisance of this fact would be doing himself a great disfavour...
I would only disagree about how big the risk is.. I think EB have done a good job of demonstrating that they are NOT a kiuk bank and are unlikely to be badly affected by the referendoom...
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Ephy wrote:Thats a tricky question? It can be YES/NO but i will say it will be a leader in some fronts but not the leading bank. My take would be NIC & KCB. Why?
a)There is a revolution ongoing in the banking sector where people want a one stop shop to do all your transaction,preferably online i.e.current account,saving account,financial consultant,Stock Broker.This in tandem with the +ve economic growth,opening of the east africa community..NIC is the leader with a very stable online banking sytem.
b)Equity has adopted a model of targeting the masses.It has worked.But not for too long.They have realised that and are trying to ammend that.You see,with products you can target the masses and reach the unbanked lower income groups because they spend and do not save.Not so with services.It reaches a saturation point.You do not want a bank with soo much political perceptions,and majority of the bankers un-educated.NIC is always growing.Corporate clients,middle class,the rich..you never go wrong with such.
c)KCB is a C- student with A+ capability.Biggest asset worth and network by branches.Expanded more in other markets.So,with some changes or a minor merger or acquisition has more potential.It pays good dividends than Equity.
So,for 5yrs, KCB & NIC are much better than Equity. Ephy, let me try and answer your questions: a) If you ask me, Equity is a one stop shop. Banking, Insurance, Stock Broking, Mobile Banking, Online Banking. They have also expanded in Eastern Africa. Uganda, soon Rwanda, hata Eastern Congo wataenda. b) The rich also have accounts with Equity. Why? Because they get loans there cheaper than elsewhere. On corporate clients, Equity in the recent past 'stole' the EABL account from another bank. And they are very soon going to 'steal' a tea company account from another bank. Believe me, corporates are not ignoring equity. c) The branches stats in favour of KCB are unlikely to stand for long. With talk of acquisition of HF(or if itdoens't work out, they may just increase stake) and also rumours of NBK acquisition, keeps investors on their toes, which can only be good for the share. On dividends the only explanation I have is that KCB is more 'mature'. Equity is still young in its life. And finally, James Mwangi is an Evil Genius GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
yeke and og there is no place for such utterances here and am surprised that wazua tolerates u. LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/7/2010 Posts: 1,279 Location: nbi
yekeyeke-I'm sorry I called you an idiot. I couldn't find a more apt descriptor. You really must get up, put on your 10 gallon cowboy hat and get out and about. Perhaps take the missus out for a drive... Owning 100 Equity shares shouldn't be getting you this excitable The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
kadonye wrote:Wazua is increasingly becoming a bigot haven.Why can't we allow others to voice their opinions n queries without insulting them?If u think some1 is an idiot dont reply to his post.U end up looking like the real idiot!Waithaka's post is a clear info-seekin query Aren't you a pot calling the kettle black? I was discussing your post on a different topic with a buddy with whom I do some biashara & he was pissed at your comment/posting/attitude... BTW, I remain an unabashed supporter of Employer Rights especially after I had it with under-performance & theft! If you don't wanna work for me then leave... Kwani, I have a gun to your head? And DON'T STEAL from me & tell me BS about not firing you coz of your kid! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
Hey y'all it's a FRIDAY...loosen up kidogo...go out there and grab a Windhoek Lager...since Tusker is now expensive...Wazua is a place for a mature audience...everyone here is entaitled to his own opinion...but going as far as insults to make urslf heard shows how weak u are...lets keep the peace...
Yeah. Its a friday. And please theres no need 4 abuse. Call ur gal up and hav sm xxx. Hahahaha. Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
@the deal - You miss this stuff when you go to Windhoek don't you? BTW, I remain Tusker Damu tho I like Windhoek... better than the SA beers! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Waithaka
There you go again thinking you know it all. No i am not stressed. What i am is against tribal posts and you sound, feel like a big tribalist. We dont need these tribal posts on wazua at all.
If you are kikuyu or not, keep these tribal bashing posts to your self as they do not help anyone whatsoever.
I would like to appeal to all wazuans to pls keep the tribal agendas of kikuyu bashing that some seem to like soo much.
I will defend my country, community, language, and bank till my last breath.
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
yekeyeke, kweli wewe ni member through and through. Otherwise, I think Equity faces the same 'risks' as every Kenyan company. Not more, not less GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/10/2010 Posts: 73 Location: kenya
I still strongly believe that underachievement of KCB is still HR related. Those who make crucial decisions are "Tired".
Fresh minds with energy, knowledge and daring are required here. If early retirement does not work let them try culling.
There is also a revolution waiting to happen in CFC. They are currently on a sales staff recruitment frenzy.
Investor
Stocks
Equity - a politically risky stock time to sell