wazua Fri, Mar 20, 2026

Right time to buy shares
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 07, 2010 3:04:53 PM

@the deal, thanks!

@raszag other than reading some good books on investing in stocks, as for now (starters) dive in slowly (maybe bits of 5k or 10K spread in 5 to 8 counters receiving good reviews here from the aforementioned (in @the deal post) commissions are standard 2.1% sell and same for buy (if you jump in big time +100K pieces you save kitu .7% either way so?), if that money means too much to you, put a little in the market and learn, take the rest elsewhere. Following "valued" advice from this site will help (you will learn as you read the posts), avoid stocks you hear bad vibes about from here unless you have very solid info. Am talking about years of experience not months and don't expect quick cash. Market doesn't seem too risky at the moment, its not the best neither the worst of times. But you might get lucky and don't fear burning too much either.Once your a pro, you will know what to do, sio?
winston
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 07, 2010 3:28:50 PM

raszag wrote:
Thanks guys...I've gone thro the different chats and what am seeing is equity, kplc, kenol, co-op, eabl, Arm as the places to put money. I've like 250k i want to weka in shares. What the advice on what i can put where.. cheers

@RASZAG - It is unlikely that the professionals on this site will tell you EXACTLY which stocks buy and EXACTLY how much to put into them. The decision is ultimately yours...and so will be the rewards (or pain)
shauriyako
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 07, 2010 3:30:29 PM

@ raszag
karibu and joins the class.
When we wake up in the morning, we have two simple choices. Go back to sleep and dream, or wake up and chase those dreams. The choice is yours! .
komera
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 07, 2010 4:02:11 PM

i second everyone that has said this is the best place for advice and getting info bout our local market, i have been following the threads from a distance as a guest then reg recently.

am also like ras, very new in the nse, still gathering info and education on stock trading. i know i will lose in some counters but my target is to gain more than i lose.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 07, 2010 4:31:35 PM

raszag wrote:
Thanks guys...I've gone thro the different chats and what am seeing is equity, kplc, kenol, co-op, eabl, Arm as the places to put money. I've like 250k i want to weka in shares. What the advice on what i can put where.. cheers

Start with at most 3 counters with low P/E [you do know what that is, don't you? if not buy "Business Daily" and check the stock tables] and average to high daily volumes; divide your money equally amongst them - 80k each

Spread your buys over two months (8 weeks). Buy a tranche of worth 10k of each counter weekly.

Usibabaike hat kama zinashuka....it's good when you are on a buying spree [I was both happy and unhappy when CFC started climbing above 50 -> happy because my wealth was increasing; unhappy because I still buying]

Once you have completed they buying
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 07, 2010 4:35:10 PM

...once you complete buying, watch you wealth grow. When one share climbs, sell a small portion and put the money in the one that is lagging behind.

Oh; BTW, it helps to keep track of you portfolio with any of the available online services. Its free. There is one right here on wazua but I use www.mystocks.co.ke
raszag
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 07, 2010 6:40:23 PM

asanteni.....u guys have been in this game and u really know ur stuff...will make my first step this week...

Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
Kaufman
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 07, 2010 10:19:21 PM

Do your own research or use a broker
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 07, 2010 10:46:51 PM

Make a note of the 100units buy sell rule as you plan, kes10k will not buy 100 wtk per order or eabl but will buy a lot of scom or unga, so with your buys distribution 'equitable' or balance means much more than it does in the constitution.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 07, 2010 11:06:35 PM

komera wrote:
... i know i will lose in some counters but my target is to gain more than i lose.
@komera wrong attitude to approach investments with. You invest to WIN never to lose. If you are ready to lose, then you take your money to the casino.