MPs to earn more!!!
Soko tele wrote:Wendz wrote:Soko tele wrote:Another reason why i will vote NO. ......the draft is doubling MPS and if it passes we will be spending over 8Bn is MP salaries alone. God Save Kenya
Vote yes with me and we shall have powers to kick the bloody thieves out of their seats if they pull that one on us! The same MPs will legislates how an MP can be kicked out...........you tell me how objective that ACT will be. I can bet on my boda boda that they will make it near impossible to recall any of their own........... @Kizee Its going to be unrealistic and hence opens the discussion for a review downwards. Either way, the No campgain does not mean that we wont have a new constitution and the contentious issues (abortion, land, Kadhi and spelling mistakes) do not touch on the devolution...... so this will still stand... or am i wrong? That's true sokotele but at least the document also gives us a chance to choose an independent President who may have his head on his shoulders and might actually put this country in the right track.... Sometimes we fail to choose the right people because they are not "in the circles" of the parties pushing their agendas.... there are many options in this proposed constitutions that can help us put the country in the right track without having to rely on the MPs. Remember there will also be senators and governors etc who might actually push these goons.....
kizee wrote:Wendz wrote:Soko tele wrote:Another reason why i will vote NO. ......the draft is doubling MPS and if it passes we will be spending over 8Bn is MP salaries alone. God Save Kenya
I think we are better off with the new constitution.... what makes you think you are safe with this one when the same MPs have the powers to change the boundaries and dish out constituencies without consulting you? they can increase the numbers and we still wont do anything... As Fundaah says, i think they are trying to beat the constitution by awarding themselves hefty increases so that by the time it passes, it will be odd to review it downwards.... Vote yes with me and we shall have powers to kick the bloody thieves out of their seats if they pull that one on us! ...i guess if we have a new constitution we will have to pay these salos for an extra 100 mps ama? so shud we really vote yes on these grounds? There will be 196 more Mps................do the math
Soko tele wrote:kizee wrote:Wendz wrote:Soko tele wrote:Another reason why i will vote NO. ......the draft is doubling MPS and if it passes we will be spending over 8Bn is MP salaries alone. God Save Kenya
I think we are better off with the new constitution.... what makes you think you are safe with this one when the same MPs have the powers to change the boundaries and dish out constituencies without consulting you? they can increase the numbers and we still wont do anything... As Fundaah says, i think they are trying to beat the constitution by awarding themselves hefty increases so that by the time it passes, it will be odd to review it downwards.... Vote yes with me and we shall have powers to kick the bloody thieves out of their seats if they pull that one on us! ...i guess if we have a new constitution we will have to pay these salos for an extra 100 mps ama? so shud we really vote yes on these grounds? There will be 196 more Mps................do the math DRAFT law??? Emphatic NO! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
I wonder why kenyans love complaining so much
It is true that they have added their salaries. It is also true that you can do nothing and I mean nothing about it.
But somehow you blame this on the new constitution!
My friend soko tele, what do you suggest we do about it. In fact, I am sure that they will increase the salaries again, so what to do about it.
The present constitution allows them to increase their salaries when they feel about it. Since we are living in it, what is your suggestion on what we should do about it.
I know voting yes will stop this once and for all.
rasilio wrote:I wonder why kenyans love complaining so much
It is true that they have added their salaries. It is also true that you can do nothing and I mean nothing about it.
But somehow you blame this on the new constitution!
My friend soko tele, what do you suggest we do about it. In fact, I am sure that they will increase the salaries again, so what to do about it.
The present constitution allows them to increase their salaries when they feel about it. Since we are living in it, what is your suggestion on what we should do about it.
I know voting yes will stop this once and for all. I have not blamed anything on the new constitution infact i want it amended before 4th August. Just put a clause in the draft that says anyone who is actively involved in drafting the constitution( MPs, COE , IIEC and the boundery commissioners) are not eligible to hold any political office untill after 2 terms.
you will discover that if you complain less and find solutions more, you may have nothing to complain about.
If i was in their shoes and the law allowed me to increase my salaries willy nilly. You would not even complain about these guys.
Stop complaining, do something about it or shut up and live with it. It saves a lot of your bandwidth.
Kenyans yawa......who would say no???? .....even Mutava Musyimi is in the house!!!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
rasilio wrote:you will discover that if you complain less and find solutions more, you may have nothing to complain about.
If i was in their shoes and the law allowed me to increase my salaries willy nilly. You would not even complain about these guys.
Stop complaining, do something about it or shut up and live with it. It saves a lot of your bandwidth. lets see...hes/she is doing something about it..hes/shes voicing his dissatisfaction on an internet forum visited by a good number of kenyans..some who share his/her opinion...who knows what next? something may actually come out of it...ama shud he/she chain himself to a tree like okia omtata? ama go to the streets and start chanting mali yetu?
Wendz wrote: I think we are better off with the new constitution.... what makes you think you are safe with this one
We have said before that the options should not be the proposed constitution against the current one, as there are too many other better options which have been put forward and ignored, for example removing (or voting separately) for the very few contentious sections and voting first for those where there is consensous. I would also like to see a constitution that ensures NOBODY CAN DECIDE HOW TO PAY THEMSELVES WITH PUBLIC FUNDS, no wonder the politicians are using simple lies to woo masses. A New Kenya
Much Know wrote:[quote=Wendz] We have said before that the optionsshould notbe the proposed constitution against the current oneagreed but we are already in a situation where the position is between the draft and the current constitution , as there are too many other better options which have been put forward and ignored..unfortunately these will put a reverse gear on the gains already achieved in the draft as you know there are many chameleons in by the name politicians so we better take the positives by the draft than wait for the chameleons to change their colours/stand , ..... I would also like to see a constitution that ensures NOBODY CAN DECIDE HOW TO PAY THEMSELVES WITH PUBLIC FUNDS, ..this is sorted out in the draft So why not say 'Yes'Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
@Fundah what part of the draft stops MP's paying/increasing their salaries, i hunted for it but is seems you have memorized the draft, nisaidie basi A New Kenya
It's ironical that the overwhelming majority of MPs are in YES, in an era when their moral authority is at the lowest.
Rank: Member Joined: 5/7/2010 Posts: 282 Location: Nairobi
I think it's unfair to blame MPs for the salary increase. The MPs simply approved the proposal put forward by a tribunal headed by a retired judge.
To be honest, how many of us would turn down a proposal for an increase of whatever kind? I Wouldn't turn it down. How many ever turned down a cash bonus or share bonus?
Since the tribunal proposed an increase, did you expect the MPs to turn down the proposal. I wish the tribunal had proposed something else.
brewer, i never heard any mp complain about this. never heard bishop wanjiru, mutava musyimi, ruto etc say oh no, give back the money. it is immoral. don't mix this with yes no campaign. your mps have shafted you again. all of them.
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 183 Location: Nairobi
@Fundaah True, the Salaries and Remuneration Commission WILL cap the obscene salos and allowances our MPs award themselves. Er...one teeny weeny thing y'all overlooked is their salaries is just a tip of the iceberg. Going through Chapter 12, you will notice that the ultimate authority lies with Parliament - add CDF, LATF and Uhuru's new love (supplementary budgets) and these clowns will fleece us to Kingdom Come! Any enlightened Kenyan knows that Bungerians make a bulk of their chums from extra-curricular activities. These cheps ain't daft, so they funika your eyes with the Commission y'all so excited about then hand themselves the keys to the cookie jar. @Fundaah, much as I am NO, I'm a realist...and realistically speaking, YES will carry the day. GOD HELP KENYA! So nice that its nasty, so bangin' its busting, So slick that its sick, so dope its disgusting!
@Msoto, Salaries and remuneration act is completely silent on anything to do with MP's pay, only state and all other public officers of which MP's are neither of. They WILL CONTINUE TO DECIDE THEIR PAY AS THEY PLEASE AD INFINITUM A New Kenya
Let me begin by putting my cards on the table - I have not read the draft of the proposed new constitution, not even so much as glanced at it.
Now with that off my chest, my question is to the panel of experts (read Sokotele , Kizee, Wendz, et al). Have any of the camps i.e. NO or YES camp said that the number of MPs or their remuneration is a contentious issue and they will amend the relevant clauses before or after the plebiscite?
So long as the MPigs have the power increase their pay, I will never blame......it is only human and even more kenyan I must add!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
For those who may want to know, there is a Parliamentary Service Commission, whose 10 out of 10 Members will be APPOINTED BY PARLIAMENT (127) who will be responsible for (a) providing services and facilities to ensure the efficient effective functioning of parliament and (e) performing other functions (i) necessary for the well-being of the members and staff of Parliament We are being screwed good. Then they will appoint one member to the so called remuneration commission where nothing to do with parliament can be discussed. They WILL BE INCHARGE OF THEIR PAY FOREVER AFTER THIS. A New Kenya
Much Know wrote:For those who may want to know, there is a Parliamentary Service Commission, whose 10 out of 10 Members will be APPOINTED BY PARLIAMENT (127) who will be responsible for (a) providing services and facilities to ensure the efficient effective functioning of parliament and (e) performing other functions (i) necessary for the well-being of the members and staff of Parliament We are being screwed good. Then they will appoint one member to the so called remuneration commission where nothing to do with parliament can be discussed. They WILL BE INCHARGE OF THEIR PAY FOREVER AFTER THIS. There is a check on this Coming into force of laws116. (1) A Bill passed by Parliament and assented to by the President shall be published in the Gazette as an Act of Parliament within seven days after the assent. (2) Subject to clause (3), an Act of Parliament comes into force on the fourteenth day after its publication in the Gazette, unless the Act stipulates a different date on or time at which it will come into force. ( 3) An Act of Parliament that confers a direct pecuniary interest on members of Parliament shall not come into force until after the next general election of members of Parliament. (4) Clause (3) does not apply to an interest that members of Parliament have as members of the public. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
MPs to earn more!!!