Investor
Stocks
Safaricom to acquire Interconnect & IGO wireless
Disclosure: I am a SCOM shareholder, but wouldn't touch Zain with a 10m pole ===== How do I juggle between all these lines? Simple. T-wireless stays at the office - rarely carried. SCOM MPESA also stays at the office, only carried out for transaction. Zain & YU are in a Chinese twin-sim bought for only 4k on Luthuli avenue. BTW you can also get a GSM/CDMA twin from China Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,259 Location: Nairobi
@tony stark - CREATIVE DESTRUCTION If you can launch a network of comparable quality (ha, that is a low bar as we know) as SufferingCon... folks will come... LTE/4G is the way to go... Did you say no money? Well, there are always investors out there. I don't know any but look at the iPhone. It has DOMINATED the new smartphone market yet the iPhone is only 3 years old (9 Jan 2007). Motorola is an also-ran yet a pioneer of cellphones. Sony merged the cellphone division with Ericsson but not a huge success. LG & Samsung have become huge players since 2007. Nokia is fumbling with smartphones. They were untouchable in 2005. RIM/Blackberry was not even in the phone business 9 years ago. Palm [original smartphones/PDA]'died' & now bought by HP. Yet... today's HOTTEST phone brand is iPhone... CREATIVE DESTRUCTION Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Cammarada wrote:@Tony: Activism in a capitalistic economy has very small share of impact. You better just live with what SC are doing. Whether orange bought a debt ridden asset or not is not the question, if you watched MJ interview of how they only had 200m as resource to establish themself at the time when Kencell was comfortably asleep. Live with it or find your way into SCOM board room and tell other directors what they are doing is bad. CCK should be keep an eye on suffericon!!! When they do it MJ comes on Telly says oh how they had a hard time and the public and everyone else jumps up and down saying suffericon is doing a great job leave them alone! CCK shouldn't leave them alone. Lets use banks as an example Equity has the largest number of bank accounts in Kenya. You bank with southern bank of kenya. If equity introduces a prohibitive and restrictive charge to bank cheques from southern bank at equity what will happen. You will probably have to open an account at equity 2 because all your customers are in equity and you cant afford to be paying ridiculous extra charges. But CBK keeps an eye out for unfair practices and that is what CCK should be doing wit e-commerce, voice, data etc etc! That is exactly what suffericon is doing with voice, mpesa and soon internet services some how. Using your market position to leverage other out of the market and restrict access to their market through restrictive and prohibitive charges
@mukiha - Do u have a brand name? I want to buy Twin-SIM too. I also have T-Wireless coz cheap F&F for landlines. How old is the phone? Performance? I think Nokia has a Twin-SIM fone but I have not seen it yet... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
tony stark wrote:@ Muhika .. I think im not passing my point across very well. The kenyans who are losing money on expensive calls i totally agree with you .......... shauri yao. My complaints are for the technology developer who want to intergrate Mpesa into an online payment scheme. Suffericon wont give them access because they too are developing this system takes suffericon 10 years the developer was about to launch e.g Tulipe and the likes.
Im complaining about the ISPs the skywebs who will be priced out when suffericon controls internet service from cable to teh last mile.
I complaining suffericon will coerce/ leverage its subscibers to use its affiliate companies through one or 2 marketing gimmicks, lies or restricting access to their subscribers. That's what im complaining about!! This are teh industries which aren't developing because of suffericons practices. It's just about movement to cheaper options it's also about access!
On technology integration; I see your point On ISPs being priced out of the market; I don't think it is pricing that is the problem. It is convenience. I have been approached by two ISPs for internet connection. They are same price as SCOM (which is higher than Orange), but their connection fixed to one location. KDN gave me a free modem for the Butterfly ADSL. I used it for two months the moved to a new office. They were not able to move with me. (That's how I ended up with Zain GPRS and late with Orange CDMA EV-DO) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
VituVingiSana wrote:@mukiha - Do u have a brand name? I want to buy Twin-SIM too. I also have T-Wireless coz cheap F&F for landlines.
How old is the phone? Performance?
I think Nokia has a Twin-SIM fone but I have not seen it yet... Nokia doesn't have a twin-sim. What you get are all FAKE Nokias from China!! I've used it for just about a month now. My bro has had one for almost a year. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
@tony stark - Then I will either: - Open an account at equity coz that's where my customers. Customer is KING - Convince my customers to move to another bank - Suck it up There is ALREADY an example here. The ATMs... Equity has the most. KCB has many as well... yet I prefer the service at (slightly expensive) I&M Bank... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:@tony stark - CREATIVE DESTRUCTION
If you can launch a network of comparable quality (ha, that is a low bar as we know) as SufferingCon... folks will come...
LTE/4G is the way to go...
Did you say no money? Well, there are always investors out there. I don't know any but look at the iPhone. It has DOMINATED the new smartphone market yet the iPhone is only 3 years old (9 Jan 2007).
Motorola is an also-ran yet a pioneer of cellphones. Sony merged the cellphone division with Ericsson but not a huge success. LG & Samsung have become huge players since 2007. Nokia is fumbling with smartphones. They were untouchable in 2005. RIM/Blackberry was not even in the phone business 9 years ago. Palm [original smartphones/PDA]'died' & now bought by HP.
Yet... today's HOTTEST phone brand is iPhone... CREATIVE DESTRUCTION Why has the I-phone gotten so big is because they give developers access to develop applications for iphone. That why I joined orange so that i can get an i-phone yes I know very shallow! All the rest didnt and this is very different from what suffericon is doing. It is hard to move because you have to change numbers and your not sure if people will be able to reach you (imagined or real doesn't matter) .. hopefully soon this will change! CCK has the responsibilty to regulate ecommerce according to the communication act. Mpesa is part of e-commerce should. Why can't i send money from my mpesa to Zap. (Please correct me if im wrong and how much does it cost) How will people transact business when a mammoth like suffericon is moving (according to white african blog) 20 % of the GDP. The same company wont let competitors send money to their systems. That is nonsense!! Thats not creative destruction. Thats just fact!
@tony stark - Erm, why dont the 'enlightened' ones move to Zap? Kwani, the NSIS will jail them if they join the opposition? YU has Obo-pay too... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:@tony stark - Then I will either:
- Open an account at equity coz that's where my customers. Customer is KING - Convince my customers to move to another bank - Suck it up
There is ALREADY an example here. The ATMs... Equity has the most. KCB has many as well... yet I prefer the service at (slightly expensive) I&M Bank... Why should I be forced to open an account there??? With banks you dont have to because CBK does it job and no one jumps up and down when they do there work! Suffericon does that with mpesa. Why should we be forced to have suffericon lines for mpesa. muhika does, i do and nearly everyone using a zain, yu or orange line has a suffericon line for this or that purpose. What does CCK think about that! Well if they cant do there jobs give CBK the task of regulating e-commerce they will do it and level the playing field.
VituVingiSana wrote:@tony stark - Erm, why dont the 'enlightened' ones move to Zap? Kwani, the NSIS will jail them if they join the opposition?
YU has Obo-pay too... Umeshinda!!! Yours is a great attitude live and let live!
@tony stark, its possible to send money from mpesa to zain and vice versa.
tony stark wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:@tony stark - Erm, why dont the 'enlightened' ones move to Zap? Kwani, the NSIS will jail them if they join the opposition?
YU has Obo-pay too... Umeshinda!!! Yours is a great attitude live and let live! BTW, u do know... I dont use sufferingcon for phonecalls yet I support their right to a FREE marketplace... Why? Coz I am AGAINST price controls but for COMPETITION... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
After all the arguing, BOTTOM LINE is, Safaricom IS a MONOPOLY. Monopolies SHOULD be REGULATED. But, after a complete sim card registration of all subscribers, I wonder if Safaricom will still have 10 million subscribers on it's books?  Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
jguru wrote:After all the arguing, BOTTOM LINE is, Safaricom IS a MONOPOLY. Monopolies SHOULD be REGULATED. But, after a complete sim card registration of all subscribers, I wonder if Safaricom will still have 10 million subscribers on it's books?  Post-registration u will see a drop-off coz that lines for Mpangos might be reduced! BTW, Telkom was a monopoly... they blew it... Sufferingcon EARNED its way in... It was given to them on a silver platter... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
the reasons why I cant ditch my safaricom line are:- 1.I am one of the owners for crying out loud who leaves his business to buy to his competitor. 2.When I compare the convinience I get from Using saf line I just cant have enough of saf just imagine the only zap out let in my estate is out of service there is no Yu cash. 3.Just go to your saf line Icon and compare the services there with the others. 4.My line has safaricom No.s only. 5.Mcheza kwao utuzwa. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
jguru wrote:After all the arguing, BOTTOM LINE is, Safaricom IS a MONOPOLY. Monopolies SHOULD be REGULATED. But, after a complete sim card registration of all subscribers, I wonder if Safaricom will still have 10 million subscribers on it's books?  It is not a monopoly! There are 4 other players who have completely misunderstood the market and are paying for their mistakes with losses! ====== While at it; why don't people complain about the POSTA protected monopoly? Did you know that to deliver mail under 300g, the Comms Act says that you MUST charge at LEAST 5 TIMES what POSTA is charging? That's why all courier companies charge sh125 and above - since POSTA charges sh25. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
@Selah; did you know that it is cheaper to call YU-to-SCOM, than SCOM-to-SCOM? It was the same thing a while ago, ZAIN-to-SCOM was cheaper than SCOM-to-SCOM. Then Zain hiked the cross-net charge....and I moved to YU Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
mukiha wrote:jguru wrote:After all the arguing, BOTTOM LINE is, Safaricom IS a MONOPOLY. Monopolies SHOULD be REGULATED. But, after a complete sim card registration of all subscribers, I wonder if Safaricom will still have 10 million subscribers on it's books?  It is not a monopoly! There are 4 other players who have completely misunderstood the market and are paying for their mistakes with losses! ====== While at it; why don't people complain about the POSTA protected monopoly? Did you know that to deliver mail under 300g, the Comms Act says that you MUST charge at LEAST 5 TIMES what POSTA is charging? That's why all courier companies charge sh125 and above - since POSTA charges sh25. Damn!!! Yaani, they FORCE you to charge 5x Posta!!! What a bloody crock of shit! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
mukiha wrote:jguru wrote:After all the arguing, BOTTOM LINE is, Safaricom IS a MONOPOLY. Monopolies SHOULD be REGULATED. But, after a complete sim card registration of all subscribers, I wonder if Safaricom will still have 10 million subscribers on it's books?  It is not a monopoly! There are 4 other players who have completely misunderstood the market and are paying for their mistakes with losses! ====== While at it; why don't people complain about the POSTA protected monopoly? Did you know that to deliver mail under 300g, the Comms Act says that you MUST charge at LEAST 5 TIMES what POSTA is charging? That's why all courier companies charge sh125 and above - since POSTA charges sh25. True true!! CCK is sleeping at it jobs! We dont have physical address and other courier companies are not given access to the mail boxes which are exclusively postas. That should change. But that said posta will deliver you mail to hagadera, lokichar and marsabit at a uniform fee. Which couriers won't. The capital out lay for mail services is a cost that Goverments all over shoulder world over. Posta should wake up. They would benefit largely if the ecommerce took off by delivering good and parcels. They should also allow couriers access to their post boxes for a small fee that would make life easier for everyone and increase their revenue!!!
Investor
Stocks
Safaricom to acquire Interconnect & IGO wireless