wazua Sat, Dec 20, 2025

5 Pages<1234>»
UCHUMI
#21 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 2:26:46 PM

I was lucky... I bought loads at 10/- (Rights bought at 10cents so nett 10.10) lakini I felt queasy so I dumped at between 11 & 12...

Soon thereafter the price spiked to 20/-... when there were rumours of merali buying (or he perpetuated the rumours to sell out)... At first I felt sorry that I sold... until Uchumi was suspended... then I felt good!!!

I am glad I sold... coz I was able to redeploy the cash elsewhere...
qw25041985
#22 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 2:35:34 PM

And u'll feel sorrier/sorriest once they get re-listd
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
maina20
#23 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 3:32:03 PM

d'oh! i also hope and wish they come back soon.....i have not yet written off my uchumi shares....Think
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
#24 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 5:20:22 PM

the deal wrote:
HAHAHAHA I SEE MANY PEOPLE WHERE BURNT BUY UCHUMI HERE...

@the deal i wouldn't laugh at the only company that went to hell and came back. Imagine what would happen if it was your beloved ugali...
StatMeister
#25 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 5:30:06 PM

the one thing i do not understand is why jc wants to expand in TZ instead of consolidating (read pimping) the kenyan operation . . .

tafadhali asikuwe kama KCB, ati expanding coz others are expanding
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#26 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 5:35:31 PM

Uchumi stores are ugly compared to Nakumatt... They need to 'clean' up these before going to Tanzania...
Cicero
#27 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 5:36:11 PM

I am sooo happy with the goings on at Uchumi i have a smile ear-to-ear. As i have stated elsewhere previously this share almost made me to completely quite share-investing.

But i am still sure the price will deep immediately after registration so that frustrated investors can alight and sharks who know what it's worth currently can board. Anyone who is patient enough to give it another year after re-registration will make a fortune together with cunning fellows who'll wait to snatch shares from long suffering investors for a song. BUT i dount any self-respecting investor able to decifer information will sell Uchumi below 12 shillings ... so sorry for guys who had indicated here in a previous thread that they will wait for it below 10 bobShame on you
Don't gamble; take all your savings and buy some good stock and hold it till it goes up, then sell it. If it don't go up, don't buy it...
yekeyeke
#28 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 5:36:56 PM

@stantmaister
I would not be quick to question JCs strategy. you need to appreciate that it is the same JC who has taken this company from receivership to where it to today, however with grest help from:-

-God
-Govenment
-Uchumi Employees
-Very Loyal Uchumi Customers

Lets give him a chance...
yekeyeke
#29 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 5:40:32 PM

I agree. Current shareholders, who have heald shares for three years that the could not trade, must behave and make decisions with SELF RESPECT.

Lazima WAJIHESHIMU. There is no infarminy they will suffer for holding these shares and they should thus not DUMP when the go ahead is given by the CMA.
the deal
#30 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 6:02:29 PM

Uchumi stores are ugly compared to Nakumatt... They need to 'clean' up these before going to Tanzania...

Chief Uchumi cant compete in Tanzania...theres Shoprite there...the SA retailer...btwn if Uchumi chooses to expand immediately after re listing that will be a fast lane to going bust again...
yekeyeke
#31 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 7:49:53 PM

Shame on you @ the Deal. Wewe umeanguka mtihani. Grade F.
Uchumi does not look at competitors. Their strategy, is simple and this is why it has worked so well in this Kenyan market where you have the nakumatts and tuskys and the rest.

They forcus on the customer. Hi mambo ingine ni makalele tuu.

And with this strategy, they will be able to compete and make money in Tanzania and anywhere else the go to.

No one goes to a supermarket because they have a shinny tiled floor like nakumatt. They go to buy goods from the shelves. Floors are secondary, though important, but they cant prevent a cow from drinking water. Ni ngurumo ya chura tu.
mkonomtupu
#32 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 8:27:52 PM

@ the Deal, in retail you look at the operational efficiency and customers per square foot, if you transfer that efficiency to Tanzania and contain your costs and pilferage you will make a decent profit. When Uchumi was going down it's best branch was the Kampala branch. A branch in Dar will do well so long they don't own buildings.

I think the competition for Uchumi is not nakumatt and tuskys rather the many retail kiosks in the neighbourhoods.

Waiting for the Uchumi shares i hope long-suffering retail investors will sell
#33 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 8:33:32 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
I think the competition for Uchumi is not nakumatt and tuskys rather the many retail kiosks in the neighbourhoods.

Do you know what you are talking about??
the deal
#34 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 8:53:50 PM

@Yekeyeke Shoprite is the Wallmart of Africa...there were even rumours that Wallmart will buy Shoprite when they expand to Africa...they operate in 15 African countries apart from SA....theyre on the JSE,NSX and the LUSE...i think their strategy is to use TZ as their expansion base into East Africa...Uchumi cant afford to fight battles with a giant like Shoprite in TZ...i think the best strategy for Uchumi is to focus on Kenya consolidate their market share...then focus East Africa...if they choose to expand rapidly surely they will go bust again...for now we await their return to the bourse...if the story is juicy like DTBK then we will Buy...
#35 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 9:26:18 PM

Tuskys is the old Uchumi
#36 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 10:06:10 PM

Half year results show strong recovery in corporate Kenya. The share prices will only follow. www.businessdailyafrica....0/-/clns9mz/-/index.html
#37 Posted : Thursday, August 12, 2010 10:33:22 PM

Nakumatt intensies CBD market war. www.businessdailyafrica....66/-/4wje76/-/index.html
StatMeister
#38 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 9:33:34 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Nakumatt intensies CBD market war. www.businessdailyafrica....66/-/4wje76/-/index.html

the future of chain stores is sub-urbs, not CBD. remember thika road expansion? all those people building there will need to shop . . .
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#39 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 10:02:41 AM

"Uchumi" has a nice ring to the name. The brand would do well in the whole of EA where Swahili is widely spoken. I think kcb should also consider re-branding since they have decided to expand beyond borders. A corporate name with a country in it arises nationalistic biases.
#40 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 10:24:05 AM

@sparkly - Please note that KCB uses 'KCB' not Kenya Commercial Bank outside of Kenya...

Same with KenolKobil which uses Kobil (not Kenol) outside of Kenya... Even then it is Kenol not Kenya Oil...