wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

5 Pages<1234>»
AND NOW NSE goes south
#21 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 9:43:35 AM

mwenza wrote:
In the good old SK days somebody(can't remember who) explained to us how the stock market works. He went ahead and gave a very good example of a Mzungu and Monkeys.

Am now wondering.....Have we been left holding the useless monkeys??

Nonsense... kwani, you were forced to buy the shares?
#22 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 9:48:03 AM

@VVS............Even those who bought the monkeys, in the story, were NOT forced to buy. It was a case of willing buyer willing seller.However,they had one thing in common with us.........GREED!!!!.
#23 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 10:00:59 AM

I know its bitter to most of us...................But am afraid the front tyres of this bus have come off. Lets prepare for a crash.
#24 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 10:02:14 AM

i've been trying to understand the African mentality and i see that we are still under the mzungu's spell...

the markets are falling and so what??? i said it about two or three weeks ago warning investors that the NSE wouldnt be spared from this disaster but that doesnt mean we start running for the hills but instead start accumulating cash and take advantage of good buying opportunities that have come...

and for the others who may not have cash... DONT SELL!!! the NSE falling does not mean your company wont earn profits so as it falls instead of selling at a loss sit back and enjoy the dividends and wait for it to bounce back since nothing lasts forever...

and one message for the "FOOLS" who take loans, their rent or mortgage money, childrens school fees, grocery money and the like to invest short term at the NSE.... times like these will teach you a very good lesson....

EQUITIES WILL NEVER LET DOWN THOSE WHO HOLD THEM FOR THE MEDIUM TO LONG TERM
#25 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 10:06:40 AM

@guru...........very good consolation. But you realise that the events of the last few days have left most of us very broke indeed. Especially when we started chasing Equity shares from 19bob to 24bob.
sky5
#26 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 10:10:17 AM

@guru. You are right on spot. Market will rise-fall-rise... If you planted your farm yesterday, why would you expect to harvest today? If you can wait longer, you can reap big. Infact, if you have money, prepare to get on board at your right time.

#27 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 10:10:21 AM

When the bull is running North, a good number of people tell us what price they bought their shares at, naturally at low prices......si hata sasa mwendelee kutuambia!!.

Sasa tumepatikana.

Read my signature herebelow.
#28 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 10:31:07 AM

I don't know about you but I see a lot of opportunity. Remember the story of the two shoes salesmen in Africa? I have over 100k shares SCOM but I'm not complaining coz I'll still get over 20k in dividend.
But I'm more excited to see KPLC, Kenol Kobil, NIC, NBK, KQ, Total etc coming down to levels I consider to be good bargains. My sell for SCOM remains 6.2 whatever time it takes.

the deal
#29 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 11:29:09 AM

everything is in the red...i'm in pain...nothing to cheer..LOL.
#30 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 12:43:25 PM

I sold some EQTY at 23.75 and stopped buying CFC when it went above 60. Had one last order at 63.50 but I pulled it back. Now things a falling together [not apart!] and I wait for sub-20 and sub-60 on these two, then I dive in again.

In the meantime, I'm in for some Ugali; anyone care to join me?
#31 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 1:04:34 PM

The silence on this thread tells me that most people can't believe their bad luck.
#32 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 1:07:50 PM

Global markets up, I wonder when NSE will follow?
Meru Holiness
cnn
#33 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 1:15:27 PM

@mwenza,people may not be intrested in mediocrity.
@muchknow,lets watch the global markets tomorrow,the fear factor may be less,but volatility in the markets may persist until the europeans get their act together and they are trying.In that volatility is a chance to make more money if you make the right calls.
#34 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 1:35:10 PM

Wipe the tears; tomorrow will be another glorious day.....
mozenrat
#35 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 2:04:40 PM

Am praying day and night that it continues to fall. until a certain cheque clears niingie big time
the deal
#36 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 2:10:30 PM

mozenrat wrote:
Am praying day and night that it continues to fall. until a certain cheque clears niingie big time

too late...the rebound is on kesho...
#37 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 2:15:38 PM

I don't know about you but I see a lot of opportunity. Remember the story of the two shoes salesmen in Africa?

@2012 What's the story?
#38 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 2:19:15 PM

Ouch, ouch and ouch!!! My evil plan Muhahahaha! of selling post-split Kenol & buying KQ has gone awry!

Both have fallen...!

So... it is simple... I shall wait it out!
mv_ufanisi
#39 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 2:34:40 PM

the deal wrote:
mozenrat wrote:

too late...the rebound is on kesho...

@the deal - let's hope the rebound actually happens tomorrow. Otherwise if we have another week like this at the markets ... I will get back in BIG time. haha.
Mkimwa
#40 Posted : Thursday, May 27, 2010 3:19:07 PM

Tomorrow will see more RED. I see rebound coming in next week as from Tuesday. This is the time to stay Liquid.

I should have sold CFC at 74... but hey, it will be back.
@MUKIHA, thanks for making my interest in CFC. Its only when i saw your enthusiasm and realised there was money to be made.