wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

14 Pages<1234>»
Church leaders: Go to hell!!!
Brewer
#11 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 10:21:08 AM

Ati they go to hell?

1. The church leaders are expressing their opinion- since when did they lose their right to express their opinion? How intolerant can you be? As someone said, you may not agree with them but you should respect, nay, fight, for their right to express their opinion. They will not be with you at the referundum booth, so I guess whatever they may say, there is no such a thing as 'the church position'.

2. Are you ready to face them on the issue they are raising or you want to personalise the matter? So you do not agree with them, kwani we are all meant to agree on this katiba? The issues they raise- abortion & separation of state and religion- are weighty and are controversial even in the oldest democracies. Some would shudder at any attempt to anchor in the constitution any position on abortion- leave alone the deeply philosophical and controversial issue of when life begins. As Wakoli MP- of all people- was quoted to have said, God knew him by name long before he was conceived and born!

3. Ati in 2007 (or was it 2005) they left you with the wolves- and now you are comfortable being on the same side with the wolves and blame them? Am I not sensing that you now expect them to ask you to vote with your conscience, exactly what they did in 2005? Or may be you want them to agree with you and the best way to achieve that is to hurl insults at them?

4. Who do you chose to follow- the politician or the religious leader? That might eventually be the issue in the referendum! I do not think there is a right and wrong answer to that question. I think it is the question that is wrong but that is our country for you, where the sideshows are the main events! From where I stand, opinions of politicians on the constitution are of bread and butter importance and I ignore them at my peril but I can ignore opinion of religious leaders on matters religious so long as I figure I have put myself right with God. To many the question could be: Are the issues the clergy is raising at the centre of my religious belief and do I share their opinion? A not-so-surprising answer may be yes, but damn them!

5. There is some herd mentality especially where our politics is concerned.Except for the excepts in the media, I have not read the proposed constitution and I believe many Kenyans especially the loudest on the matter have not read it but have chosen to follow someone, or the general mood. No problem with that, but for me the more divergent people I hear the better and there is a long way to the referendum to be convinced to vote either way.
BGL
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 10:29:36 AM

A symbol can cost you an election. In 2005 nobody would like to be associated with a BANANA 'republic' hence ORANGE carried the day. But that belongs to the history books. In this coming referendum the IEEC should choose their symbols wisely to avoid polarization. If i were them of which i am not i would choose a mobile phone vs wrist-watch for either yes or no.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
tuvok
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 10:31:08 AM

Brewer wrote:
Ati they go to hell?

1. The church leaders are expressing their opinion- since when did they lose their right to express their opinion? How intolerant can you be? As someone said, you may not agree with them but you should respect, nay, fight, for their right to express their opinion. They will not be with you at the referundum booth, so I guess whatever they may say, there is no such a thing as 'the church position'.

2. Are you ready to face them on the issue they are raising or you want to personalise the matter? So you do not agree with them, kwani we are all meant to agree on this katiba? The issues they raise- abortion & separation of state and religion- are weighty and are controversial even in the oldest democracies. Some would shudder at any attempt to anchor in the constitution any position on abortion- leave alone the deeply philosophical and controversial issue of when life begins. As Wakoli MP- of all people- was quoted to have said, God knew him by name long before he was conceived and born!

3. Ati in 2007 (or was it 2005) they left you with the wolves- and now you are comfortable being on the same side with the wolves and blame them? Am I not sensing that you now expect them to ask you to vote with your conscience, exactly what they did in 2005? Or may be you want them to agree with you and the best way to achieve that is to hurl insults at them?

4. Who do you chose to follow- the politician or the religious leader? That might eventually be the issue in the referendum! I do not think there is a right and wrong answer to that question. I think it is the question that is wrong but that is our country for you, where the sideshows are the main events! From where I stand, opinions of politicians on the constitution are of bread and butter importance and I ignore them at my peril but I can ignore opinion of religious leaders on matters religious so long as I figure I have put myself right with God. To many the question could be: Are the issues the clergy is raising at the centre of my religious belief and do I share their opinion? A not-so-surprising answer may be yes, but damn them!

5. There is some herd mentality especially where our politics is concerned.Except for the excepts in the media, I have not read the proposed constitution and I believe many Kenyans especially the loudest on the matter have not read it but have chosen to follow someone, or the general mood. No problem with that, but for me the more divergent people I hear the better and there is a long way to the referendum to be convinced to vote either way.

Good stuff.

We really need to learn to be tolerant to other views. If you don't agree, it does not mean that you work your socks off to shut the other person off.

Herd mentality - absolutely. That's one of the main problems with Kenyan politics.

As a follower of Christ, I think I now need to go read the constitution and see for myself what is there and make a prayerful decision.
Jangwa la Jangili
#14 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 10:34:46 AM

Think about it-how many people have you met that have actually READ the final draft? Majority of Kenyans haven't. They didn't even get a copy of the first draft. You need only look at the threads on the katiba on this forum and you can see that even among the educated, many haven't.

Implication? The decision of most will be based on what their opinion leaders tell them. Scary but true.

Thus, most voting decisions will boil down to two factors:

1. Who has your ear - Politican through the press & rallies, buddies through bar/market/shamba talk, church through sunday service, relatives etc.

2. Depending on 1, who's word do you trust more - Is it your educated relative/friend that has read the draft or your local politican or your local NGO/CBO leader or your local religious leader etc

Even a lie starts to appear true if you can repeat it often enough (Read - Sunday after Sunday after Sunday...).

With Ruto & Co. already defiant, any smart politician will want to have as many opinion leaders as possible beating the war drums on their side.

Thankfully, this is something that Mr. Wambui and Nusu Kapeti appear to understand.
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
nanfor1
#15 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 10:46:58 AM

Fellow Christians

There is no abortion in this draft. Unless of course you are one of those catholic priests who prey on young boys and the Kesha pastors who love doing their flock, I don't see any abortion in the draft.

the intellegence issue is important but fundaah covered that.

The rest are just people and churches trying to stay relevant. Hii ni upusi tu.

It will be interesting to see how these churches react in 2012 when some guy decides to start another small war because he's not president....based on the current constitution.
Hata wakizima taa
Wa_ithaka
#16 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 12:51:00 PM

I'm still waiting for these d***heads to tell me why they don't boycott the current katiba since it has the cathy courts in it.
Chruch leaders have been an embarassment since the 2005 referendum when buried their heads in the sand and subsequent tribal support in 2007 GE.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
gabrini
#17 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 1:50:21 PM

I dont have an issue with the abortion clause coz nothing is indicating that it is allowed.As for the Kadhis court we've been having them even in the current constitution but do they affect our lives as non muslims-nop and yes, no because they serve muslims only and yes because their budget is footed by tax payers money-me included y?let it be removed from the constitution and allow for a complete separation of the state and religion-bila grudge
Allank
#18 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 2:41:53 PM

Yap! ever heard of the majority rule...our muslim brothers can have their Kadhi courts but out of our constitution!!! we can not continue paying for 1895 agreements between the British and sultan of Zanzibar!As for abortion clause i do not see anything wrong with protecting the life of a mother when in danger
Kama kuoga ni usafi taulo lachafukani?
#19 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 3:08:47 PM

Abortion is simply a symptom, a symptom of a deeper social malaise/ societal failure where adults across all ages engage is casual makudinyo without a care, or where a child is conceived of a rape,etc. Or from just poor contraceptive planning.
These societal failures must be the very reasons why the church is afraid, because the guilty are afraid. To the extent societal failure reflects some degree of failure of the churches, the churches are afraid that these failures will be tied to their inability to lead & guide their flock when most needed.
Maybe that's why they are afraid of hearing that word, even when it clear no one is advocating for the act.
Mel Munyua
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2010 3:43:24 PM

All major wars are religion based.
14 Pages<1234>»