wazua Tue, Jan 7, 2025

Mumias Sugar getting more sugary
mdosi
#21 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 1:00:24 PM

Why is everyone talking of starting taking profits? I'm beginning to realize that most people here are just speculators who don't want to invest with a longterm goal. I understand we all burnt our fingers when the market went south but as a serious investor that should not scare you so much that you want to break even and run. If informed people like us are doing this, what will the Wanjikus do and they are largely advised by the elite(eg wazua members)? I guess the market will never stabilize then....
It's amazing what you can achieve when you get rid of fear.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 7:28:11 AM

VVS,
10 bob....and look who are leading the pack today....Sameer and Paka...Looks like a dummy run.

@Mdosi,
Huh??...I am in it for the money..I'll go by Mukiha's wise counsel.....The lot that i bought at 3.20 goes mara moja.

#23 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 7:29:52 AM

@mdosi - True dat lakini that is the market for you...

There are speculators as well... Check out a thread by @stocksmaster
#24 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 12:50:41 PM

@mdosi;

I'm in MSC for a long-term. However, I need some cash to pull down my CFC buying price, thus I'm sell off small portions of counters that make profit and pumping the cash into CFC....where I am also in for a long time to come.
gathinga
#25 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 1:56:24 PM

@Mdosi. The line between speculation and long term investment in a market like ours which has very few choices in indeed thin. If I picked up MSC @ 3.20, now its tripple that..then am actually long term since I have realized my investment objectives (triple the investment). So long term at times is judged by realisation of investment objectives and not the time you stick it out.
#26 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 2:20:15 PM

@mukiha... that wise idea right there.... but i think i will wait for it to hit its high - may be 11 or 12 then i can recoup the investment and leave the rest.
#27 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 6:41:33 AM

MSC has started falling... in early trading...

Maybe it will be time to go back in...
kizee
#28 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2010 5:07:23 PM

try 560pct better!
#29 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2010 6:07:50 PM

Profits might be up... but some of it was already priced in...

0.68 for 1H with a better 2H expected.
#30 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2010 7:08:04 PM

From their website: 01/29/10

"MSC makes a turnaround
Mumias Sugar announces its unaudited half year results witnessing a turnaround in its business, with a 561%increase of profits before taxation.

Mumias Sugar has announced its unaudited half year results witnessing a turnaround in its business. the company has posted a 561% increase of profits before taxation, a 49% increase in its revenues and a 518% increase in its earnings per share.

The Net revenue was Shs 7.7 billion which is 49% higher than the Shs 5.2 billion achieved over the same period last year. Profit before taxation of Shs 1,526 million is 561% higher than the Shs 231 million achieved last year. Earnings Per Share (EPS) is Shs 0.68 compared to Shs 0.11 in the same period last year, which is an Shs 0.57 increase per share."
#31 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2010 7:14:31 PM

@Wendz: it turns out that you were wiser to wait! You will certainly be able to retire this counter at pretty goo ratio on Monday.... I see it touching 15 in early trade...

At that price, you only need to sell 25% of your holding and you will be on a home run
cnn
#32 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2010 7:17:22 PM

the STOCKSMASTER,well predicted.Glad i bought a chunk,12 bob now looks a giveaway.
cnn
#33 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2010 7:19:47 PM

the STOCKSMASTER,well predicted.Glad i bought a chunk,12 bob now looks a giveaway.
chaliwong
#34 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2010 9:36:49 PM

This was supposed to happen.
These company could have been looking for alternative sources of cane which is good but they were not aggresive enough in harvesting what they already have.
The company recently has been very aggressive in protecting its territory to ensure that all cane that was going to private millers goes to their mills.
Middle men who were buying cane from farmers to take to other mills hawana chao huko siku hizi.
In future ukiongeza hiyo na Tarda ... = d> Applause.
mwanafunzi
#35 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2010 4:48:18 AM

i think I Will have more sugar but at what price.
#36 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2010 8:45:46 AM

...This is crazy!! This is phenomenal!! This is big!! I...This is crazy!! This is phenomenal!! This is big!! I am selling mine at Ksh 16 come monday. Applause
#37 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2010 8:47:21 AM

...This is crazy!! This is phenomenal!! This is big!! I...This is crazy!! This is phenomenal!! This is big!! I am selling mine at Ksh 16 come monday. Applause
kishindo
#38 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2010 6:32:10 PM

Watu wana'smile mbaya...sasa even pint should be getting more sugary this coming friday.
being 'partially diabetic' i'll watch the action unfold from the sidelines....
Less is more....for Architects only!!
Kamaa
#39 Posted : Sunday, January 31, 2010 7:13:46 PM

If i were wendz i would offload half of my holding to recup the investment and then wait/speculate with the rest..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
kelele
#40 Posted : Sunday, January 31, 2010 8:21:11 PM

I will be adding more sukari come monday morning. I hoping to get a good chunk at below bob.