wazua Thu, Jan 2, 2025

Unseating a dominant rival
anasazi
#21 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 6:42:41 AM

True, they became dominant by doing the right thing in the first place... Kencell/Celtel/Zain did themselves in by sticking with per minute. I started off on Kencell... Then got sick of per minute billing and moved to Safcon. I'm sure there are many stories of how dominant players got there..
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#22 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 7:46:45 AM

Fantastic topic, is it @muganda thread starter?
I think to better understand this you need to look at once-upon-a time dominant companies and see how they were overome such as
1. Elliots bread
2. Unilever(East African Industries)Treetop/Kimbo/Lux soap/Rexona
3. Kilimanjaro water
4. Isuzu (especially matatu)
5. Barclays bank
6. Kencell
7. Brookside

Juxtapose this against
1. Super loaf/Festive bread
2. Bidco
3. Keringet
4. Second hand matatus
5. Equity
6. Safaricom
7. limuru fresh/Fresha
Other than corrupt management, if you study the above you will find a lot of it has to to with pricing and "snobbery" when one finds themselves dominant. When the dominant player adopts "snobbish" ideas,(making customers queue for product, failing to deliver on demand, excessive advertising, ignoring complaints, keeping product always higher priced than competition assuming your product is superior, taking customer for a fool with per minute billing etc) the player wanting to cut into the market needs to take advantage of the "snobbed market". I think EABL is about to find itself in the former, they have become arrogant and snobbish. If keroche works with bar owners it will cut down this giant.
A New Kenya
#23 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 7:48:33 AM

tony stark wrote:
.....market and provide a better cheaper service/product to his market!

@tony stark: cheaper is not always the winner. Some times you can win with a more expensive product/service.

Example: A few years ago, the price of a descent cup of coffee in Nairobi was around 50bob. Then an idiot came and set up a Coffee bar where the cheapest coffee was 90bob [almost double the previous average]...and he won the market big time!!!
#24 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 8:22:29 AM

>> To unseat a dominant rival its important to segment the market then develop a market mix for each segment. The segment however should be large enough to generate sales that ensure good returns...e.g EB and safaricom started by offering cheaper services than their competitors and achieved a huge market share...it would be more fruitful to for Orange, Yu or Zain to specialize on either data, calls, sms, or mpesa than the price wars. e.g. for Yu to unseat safaricom they may need to segment the market geographicaly and offer 'bei ya slum', 'bei ya campus', 'bei ya coast', 'bei ya nairobi' etc. The idea is to get loyal customers instead of the squatters they have now, ...
tony stark
#25 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 9:03:52 AM

@ Muhika, That idiot didn't improve the coffee he just improved the service. So what he is selling is better service and better ambience not expensive coffee. His service won not his coffee.
As Muhika say market market market!!
#26 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 9:03:54 AM

I find it interesting that so many people found SCOM cheaper than Kencell, while the truth was that SCOM was charging sh30 per min billed at 50cts per sec and Kencell was sh15 per min [billed per min]

Indeed at one time, a Kencell->SCOM call [sh25] was cheaper than a SCOM->SCOM call [sh30]!!!

SCOM's win in the battled field had little to do with the airtime price...after all they were more expensive!!!!

SCOM won mainly due to the way they managed their distribution...gave retailers a much higher margin [sh1,600 per line sold] than Kencell [sh300].

the retailers really pushed SCOM lines even at the time when the network was collapsing every day!!!
#27 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 9:07:54 AM

tony stark wrote:
@ Muhika, That idiot didn't improve the coffee he just improved the service. So what he is selling is better service and better ambience not expensive coffee. His service won not his coffee.
As Muhika say market market market!!

@tony stark: the idiot did actually improve the coffee...he offered a wider variety. When you went to his bar and asked for coffee, the waiter asked you "which type?". At the other places, the waiter would only ask whether white or black.
#28 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 9:23:01 AM

@mukiha - I would say that 'idiot' was smarter than all of us combined...
#29 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 9:23:07 AM

@Mukiha, ati SCOM's success had nothing to do with price? I must admit I did not know that. I was with Kencell when they started and got tired of being charged Kshs 15 even when I talk for 5 seconds. They even passed all Mteja calls to a message service and happily chopped my 15 bob even when I had no intention of leaving a message. They then took eons to respond to these concerns. I saw them as a greedy lot selling a service which was more expensive to me in real terms though it was advertised as cheaper. I am sure many thought the same too.
anasazi
#30 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 9:43:27 AM

@Much Know... that list of people who were once dominant gets me thinking... Even when you're on top, watch out! The fall could be just around the corner.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 9:53:32 AM

Talking about Safcon, how come they always scoop the best award for the Most Respected Company? How can you respect an entity that makes you queue for services forever? Or has the word "respect" lost meaning?
#32 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 10:29:38 AM

Guys very good insights, and no arguments about the idiot.

@mukiha, Okoa Jahazi is very cheap if it saves you when your stuck; same with an Equity Loan if they are the only bank that values you enough to give one to you. My take was Safaricom was cheapest at the time, because I could choose to speak for 30 secs.

I actually had both lines at the time and credit always ran out of the Kencell line faster. Even Kencell's eventual switch to per second billing must mean something.

But we also need to move beyond money and look at the brand. At a certain level, human beings are aspirational - Safaricom, the peoples option Kencell, pink is the colour of clarity
Come to think of it, the idiot's company is very aspirational. There's even a song about the coffee... That's why the most handsome/beautiful person in the world is often your child.

@mwenza, have you seen the queues in Equity? But the customers do not want to go anywhere else

#33 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 11:22:52 AM

@muganda; true, Kencell portrayed itself as an elite product. SCOM came out as a mwananchi product. If you remember, kencell lines were initially only available at their designated shops. SCOM came and introduced the idea that one can get a line from any shop...or kiosk.

@Robinhood; I wrote that SCOM's success had "little to do with price". Kencell's Voice mail was actually a good thing and a huge technological advantage over SCOM. However, faced with a "hostile" retailer network, nothing good could ever be said about Kencell by the dealers. Remember, they were seen by the public as the experts in the field.

#34 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 11:23:20 AM

>> If mukiha statement on scom and kencell prices is true, them scom won the market through psychological tactics . scom divided the market into social classes, and made people to believe that kencell was meant for guys from upmarket leafy neighborhoods and scom for the middle class and low class. Having a kencell line was like for prestige, for high class guys, and scom for mwananchi....Yu and Orange are coming in through the same strategy, and safaricom is now perceived as the expensive network, a re alignment is in order.
#35 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 1:03:40 PM

@mwenza - Wananchi dont vote for Most Respected Company but the CEOs of other firms do... maybe there might be other folks too...

35mn Kenyans... how many have flown KQ? Yet they won 'Most Respected Company the year profits jumped... So the basis is not democratic (though in all fairness, how does a teetotaler judge EABL?)
anasazi
#36 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 2:00:59 PM

By the way, whats the status of the whole number portability thing? There was some noise about this then it went quite. Ama kuna mtu alilipwa? Coz to me this is the game changer.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 2:45:43 PM

>> According to CCK the number portability issue is due to be implemented within six months.
Wakanyugi
#38 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 7:51:43 PM

I have heard people say that this number portability thingie is what will sink Safaricom. I disagree. People are very conservative when it comes to changing items - like phone numbers and bank accounts - that have an emotional value to them. (For instance, research done in the US recently showed that an American is more likely to get divorced than to change his/her bank account). Number portability has not caused a significant increase in churn in areas where it has been introduced. Plus Safaricom has been working pretty hard to ensure customers stay loyal - one reason they introduced M-PESA and now they are revamping their customer service.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)