Investor
Stocks
EQUITY ON CNN
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,118 Location: Nairobi
NSSF wants to by NBK... thus EB may be jumping the gun... Mwangi announced EB buying NBK (maybe EB was 'promised' NBK by the power that be... uhuru, kibaki, ndungu, kinyua) but it was a premature announcement. Another suitor for NBK may be one of the Nigerian Banks (UBA, etc), Ecobank or Stanbic... Any one of these guys would double/triple their branches by buying out NBK... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@Very-many-Things: Mwangi never said that EB has any intention of buying NBK!!! He was misreported. He was responding to a shareholder query as to whether EB would consider buying NBK. He said something like...."we as individual shareholders of EB can buy the Gov. shares in NBK when they are floated..." [Not the exact quote, but something along those lines] If the shareholders of EB buy NBK, it would not mean that EB has bought NBK. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
a case of EB advertising on CNN means a lot to the bank and the shareholders... could be targeting the Kenyans living in the diaspora and the foreign investors... anyway, how do they get to know EB well, if not thru ads... only critics will not see that fact... When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
I just hope the management does everything to keep the bank on its feet!!! Equity is a good thing for kenyans, bank kenyan, own kenyan!!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Its a known fact that Kenyans prefer to belive in unverifiable facts than known issues. As an example: All the top banks are political. KCB (has been respondent bank in all GoK OFS i.e. not a level playing field); NBK takes most GoK salary bills and has been used to fight GoK enemies; you can't get paid for your tea as a farmer unless you have a Co-op Account. Yet they believe kifaki is a large shareholder of Equity. Co-op which is owned co-opa and others was allowed to hide its shareholders (allowing akina muriuki to amass a fortune in shares), yet all your hear is about Equity (a full listed counter) and the Hellios deal. Many continously believe that Equity is under-capitalised, yet the facts are that its most capitalsied of the large 10 banks. Sehemu ndio nyumba
@Mainat. Good on you. You are telling it as it is. Let's get the naysayers here arguing it out with facts. They can start with some financial ratios in relation to other banks etc. From my experience, betting against Equity is prone to serious risks!
Kestrel capital have upgraded Equity from 'accumulate' to 'buy',branch expansion and investment on ATMS expected to net more income from commisions.They gave a P/e of 6.9 for the bank which make it cheap compared to its peers. Well,my PE calculations still give a value around 10,not unless these guys have information not in public domain....a share to look out for.
good stock “I don’t regret the things I’ve done, I regret the things I didn’t do when I had the chance.”
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,530 Location: nairobi
Mukiha do ua hm work. Why place words in quotes if u aint quoting! Baus! Get serious. Anyone who saw him speak at the AGM knows what he said. On other news, im lol @ EB move to advertise intl. Of wat benefit is it nd theyr nt even market leaders! HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
@obiero, be wary of shallow posts. Do you mean only markep leaders should advertise? All the same, iko kitu hapo. Some reasoning behind it, shady or otherwise. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
good stock.watch out that space.
currently, shares in the banking industry are quite unpredictable especially for those which have been focusing on regional and out of border expansion.soon these strategies might bear fruits and/or even break even for those branches still under performing .with this in mind......................guess what??????????????
whoever said what's Kenyan is doomed should go hang ........... najivunia kuwa member. abt going on CNN, why not?????????.do you know how many members live in the diaspora and have all rights reserved of getting to hear their bank in the air
Its amazing how kenyans are quick to castigate their own with zeal and get attracted to anything foreign especially if it comes from the west. Was it not Equity that revolutionized the banking industry in the last 10 or so years?. Personally i HATE these so called multinational banks especially after being FORCED to close my account by barclays in yr 2000 for having less than their threshhold of 50k in their current account.
If equity dies, let me die with it and if it prospers let me be there to lip the benefits. Kweli wakenya have peculiar habits
The price for it now is very favourable.Kuingia ndani na miguu yote mbili na kuwa member.FI have started to pick it.Watch this space. Knowledge Is Power But Action Get Things Done
I want to believe that them views expressed about EB are nt personal, bt political! The bank is here to stay, havin over 4m clients...over 50% of loans advanced are from the bank! For me, ill still buy their shares! "
Life's a wheel of fortune and its my chance to spin it" |
Watu. This Equity bashing needs to stop. If some one is not happy with equity advertising on CNN, then why have they not complained about all the other advertsers on CNN? Equity is here to stay.Remember when Equity opened their branch in Machakos and there was a roumer going around that bank was about to colapse? Almost every one rushed to withdraw their cash and more money had to be sent from Nairobi. And today? Equity is still araound and going strong. Estimates by end of 2009 are for 4.5 million deposit bearing accounts. If you dont want to bank with equity keep off and let those who want do so. If the issue here is that Gikuyu's have managed to run a successful bank, then start yours and compete. I have never seen a bad thread about these mzungu banks full of matharao.Kweli wengi wetu ni pumbavu. Kama mavi a ya kuku.
There was also another roumer that equity will start charging monthly fees on the savings account from 1 jan 2010. Jameni. Kwani hii wivu itaisha lini? If the bank wants to nake any changes, these will be anounced in good time for all and sundry to see and act accrodingly. Companies like these are not run in the back yards and follow all laid down regulations including annual finacial audits and regulatory ausidts by the CBK and complinace requirements by the CMA. Kama wewe you dont like Gikuyu's basi wewe, kaa vivyo hivyo. You can start you own bank and compete. Kwani si the 4.5 Million account holdrs were still around before equity became a commercial bank.!!??. Kama wewe huwezi kutafuta, wacha wale wanaweza kutafuta watafute or better still, tafuta na wao. Learn from them. If this is about ODM and PNU, these two are now together in serikari. Hakuna hiyo siasa ya kuachwa nyuma tena. Unless of course unataka kuachwa deliberatly and kuchoma kile wengine wamejenga. Can the person who stared this thread tell us:- =who they are banking with.(most likely mzungu bank) =Why they have an issue with equity and not any other bank. =How much they pay per month. =why they feel pain when equity is mentioned. =Why they are pumbavu. =Why the accept to remain Pumbavu up to this date.
@yeke, hehehe LIMAU! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Sadly, some of us are still colonised mentally.
EB literally liberated Kenyans from the shackles of snobbish western banks. That is the reason the same banks had to take humble pie by hawking no-frills accounts, simplify loan application and appraisal procedures, open branches in the areas such as Gikomba, Kawangware etc.
Personally, I have heard a lot of unprintable rumours, from huge non-performing loans portfolio to branch closure due to rising costs, being peddled by my own close friends who hold senior management positions at a few banks I will not name. Ironically, they are Kenyans.
Until we learn to nurture our own through good and bad times, we shall forever remain enslaved economically.
@yekeyeke,be more intelligent in understanding the posts.I STARTED this post to seek the opinion of investors on this site about the Equity move,i didn't reckon on a low opiniated ones of your kind and ilk.If you must know my holding in Equity can feed your clan until realisation of vision 2030.Rise up,small minds are truly dangerous.
CNN. Wewe you are the one, together with your cohuts and appologists, who have a small mind. Why dont you start a post on Sameer, or capital FM?. What you started is not a post, but a poorly presented forum for roumer mongering. If you have facts on equity present them. If not keep off. This is a very serious forum and it should be treated as such.
Annlyse this. The EU funded the ministry of tourism to advertise magical Kenya on CNN. Why havent you stared a post on how useless an effort this will turn into? But ony when JM does the same do you come out with you "wise" posts. JM is not looking for foreign investors. Helios is the biggest investor in EB and they are foreign. Any in any case, what is wrong with looking for these? MJ did the same but since he is white and is not from ypour tribe, you have no issue with it.If Kenya has enemies you are one of them. JM Should move to Aljazeera, Skynews, BBC, DW, French, CCTV and also to Japan and all those international media houses once he is done with CNN. Kwani uta do?
Investor
Stocks
EQUITY ON CNN