wazua Thu, Jan 2, 2025

Safaricom @ 5/=
ktr
#21 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 11:46:00 AM

@ ptor thanks 4 ur prediction u made some 2 buy below 4.

...better bitter butter.
kir
#22 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 11:50:00 AM

Finally its hit a high of 5.05/-.Thats good news as it will act as an encouragement to retail investors and they will want to see how it will trade in recent weeks.

dennis
Hi-Lo
#23 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 12:02:00 PM

...hey..this guy can market shares...Baillie...too bad his international blitz ends today...why cant' assist Eveready as well...SCOM left it at 2.5!!

Playing the stock market without insider info...is like buying a cow in the moonlight.
meshaque
#24 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 12:03:00 PM

2.5 Million shares were traded at 5.15.

smiling all the way from my boker. Bought at 2.8 is that 100 or 50% profit? LOL

mesh
sheep
#25 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 12:15:00 PM

Other stocks are starting to seem VERY cheap....its starting to look like one of the most expensive stock judging by the P/E and earnings expectations
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#26 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 12:43:00 PM

This should be tomorrow's headline:

FINALLY,SAFARICOM CROSSES Sh5

But knowing our press.......

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#27 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 12:46:00 PM

Any-who: my profit taking begins very soon...tomorrow perhaps...it might touch 5.20...fingers crossed....

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#28 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 12:49:00 PM

Standard Headline:

Good Dawn for Wanjiku Investors as Safaricom Touches IPO price!!

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

#29 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 7:27:00 AM

That sh5.20 deal at 9:35am must have been my sell order....awaiting confirmation....

#30 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 8:03:00 AM

I see trades at 5.10... demand is strong so 5.20 is a possibility... Net foreign buyers 33%... and 24mn of bid...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#31 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 8:09:00 AM

@VVS

5.20 is NOT a possibility!!!! It is reality...a deal was done at 9:35am at 5.20....I am thinking it was my order.....

#32 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 8:16:00 AM

@mukiha - I meant that the price has dipped back to 5.10. The highest bidder at 5.05 but there are 200,000+ shares on offer at 5.15 so it is NOT at 5.20 at the moment.

I do believe it will get back to 5.20 but I think the demand is slowing down... for now...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
mtaalam
#33 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 8:22:00 AM

@Impunity,

Sadly Wanjiku investors sold their shares at 2.80/-

...ili iwe funzo!
Douvante
#34 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 9:23:00 AM

do you think this stock will continue to rise further between now and next week now that it has hit the ipo price?

Everything happens for a reason.
mufasa
#35 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 9:51:00 AM

Who was the guy who placed the huge order @ 4.45???? the price will dip back to satisfy his demand. there is nothing to sustain that price at over Ksh. 5

edu
Do it today! Tomorrow is promise to no-one.
#36 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 10:37:00 AM

The demand is still there at 5/-... so it will be a while before it falls to 4.45... if it does...

Gatheuzi
#37 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 11:47:00 AM

Safaricom has a unique advantage over new entrants. With M-pesa service becoming the norm as far as payments are concerned,we should see more growth in data revenues. Given the dealership support and the banks joining the cue,it will continue to be a major payment system going forward.

As far as the 1st half results were concerned it was notable that the the company is banking on data to fuel future revenue growth. Operating Profit was up a marginal 3.4% and PB4 Tax was up only 1.7%.

Going by the way the maket has taken the news,it seems that during these tough economic times,static revenues are a welcome and the expectation is that improvement on the bottom line will be maintained once the economy gets back on track.

EPS improved by 8%. Assuming the price stays on at 5/= and results follow the same pattern by year end and the EPS gets to about 0.34 we will see a PE ratio of 14.88. Give the sector PE ratio of &gt;20,I will expect the price to stabilize on or about KES6.70.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
novestor
#38 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 12:05:00 PM

@Mukiha,i least expected of all people you to begin profit taking this early,i will be keenly studying the benefit of your decision.

What drove you to this decision if you don't mind sharing?

Learn something new everyday
Learn Something New Every Day!
#39 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 12:16:00 PM

@novestor; Once the investor promotion is over,I don't think this stock will remain above 5 for a very long time.

So,I'm selling small lots for every 10% gain on my average purchase....and when it slide back down,I will put the cash back in for more shares than I sold. If it remains high,no harm done....

Kata
#40 Posted : Thursday, November 26, 2009 4:54:00 PM

@mukiha

Wat if they proceed with the share consolidation/merger/whatever?......do u think its time to bail out yet ama hata wewe uma-panic?

Wisely and slow; they stumble that run fast