SME
Ideas
water pump
There are these small pumps that cost about 6 - 8K and can pump water to 40 metres. Anyone used them? How good are they?
Kindly also note there is "Pump ya tube ya Baisikeli", same hydram tu, a pump you can make yourself, using plumbing parts tu (if you have a pipewrench)! It will cost you kitu 7,000/- for a small one (1 inch) ok for domestic na kidogo kitchen garden e.tc, and like the ones i made, "twin 2 inch" cost like 10k each, but for two inch you have to "modify" all parts into chuma for it to work because of 'very high pressure'. No elec, no power, thing runs 24 hours (brought out due to rains), see mine on youtube. Ras Kienyeji Man
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/14/2015 Posts: 10 Location: Nairobi
Much Know wrote:Kindly also note there is "Pump ya tube ya Baisikeli", same hydram tu, a pump you can make yourself, using plumbing parts tu (if you have a pipewrench)! It will cost you kitu 7,000/- for a small one (1 inch) ok for domestic na kidogo kitchen garden e.tc, and like the ones i made, "twin 2 inch" cost like 10k each, but for two inch you have to "modify" all parts into chuma for it to work because of 'very high pressure'. No elec, no power, thing runs 24 hours (brought out due to rains), see mine on youtube. I have a hydram that i cannot use since it requires construction of a weir and WRMA are taking their sweet time to issue us a permit!!!!
msahle wrote:Much Know wrote:Kindly also note there is "Pump ya tube ya Baisikeli", same hydram tu, a pump you can make yourself, using plumbing parts tu (if you have a pipewrench)! It will cost you kitu 7,000/- for a small one (1 inch) ok for domestic na kidogo kitchen garden e.tc, and like the ones i made, "twin 2 inch" cost like 10k each, but for two inch you have to "modify" all parts into chuma for it to work because of 'very high pressure'. No elec, no power, thing runs 24 hours (brought out due to rains), see mine on youtube. I have a hydram that i cannot use since it requires construction of a weir and WRMA are taking their sweet time to issue us a permit!!!! Under the water act 2002 (google it), if the river is passing through your shamba and you are doing it within your half of the river then (you are called "raparian owner"), those excessive rules were wiped out in the legal reforms preceding constitutional reform, you do not need permission especially domestic and irrigation on your shamba only, unless you are distributing water. If you are going to touch someone else shamba you ask the person directly for permission "EASEMENT". Ras Kienyeji Man
Much Know wrote:msahle wrote:Much Know wrote:Kindly also note there is "Pump ya tube ya Baisikeli", same hydram tu, a pump you can make yourself, using plumbing parts tu (if you have a pipewrench)! It will cost you kitu 7,000/- for a small one (1 inch) ok for domestic na kidogo kitchen garden e.tc, and like the ones i made, "twin 2 inch" cost like 10k each, but for two inch you have to "modify" all parts into chuma for it to work because of 'very high pressure'. No elec, no power, thing runs 24 hours (brought out due to rains), see mine on youtube. I have a hydram that i cannot use since it requires construction of a weir and WRMA are taking their sweet time to issue us a permit!!!! Under the water act 2002 (google it), if the river is passing through your shamba and you are doing it within your half of the river then (you are called "raparian owner"), those excessive rules were wiped out in the legal reforms preceding constitutional reform, you do not need permission especially domestic and irrigation on your shamba only, unless you are distributing water. If you are going to touch someone else shamba you ask the person directly for permission "EASEMENT". Well after going through the water act (http://www.wrma.or.ke/images/jdownloads/wateract2002.pdf) i still see that i have to get a permit since i require a weir to get sufficient head for the pump!
@msahle, hope you haven't paid them anything, i would recommend Kenya Law Resource Centerparticularly for Laws in Agribusiness SME, you will need these resource if you are to make it in this sector which will produce Kenyas next billionaires without being hindered by obstacles such as you are facing. As an SME you will need to have a grasp of a varid number of laws to survive. we urgently need whatever it is you want to farm on Kenya/Foreign tables ASAP. Please note if you are RIPARIAN OWNER you need to install your hydram ASAP without further delay, the economy needs your next output urgently. Below is a link and excerpt on water act 2002 from kenya law resource center. "The riparian owners right to quantity enables him to abstract, divert, obstruct or impound the water. The water abstracted may be used for ordinary domestic purposes such as drinking, cooking and washing or it may be used for purposes such as irrigation which the common law considers to be extraordinary purposes. Where the riparian owner uses the water for ordinary purposes, there is no restriction in the quantity that he/she may abstract even if the abstraction exhausts all the water in the river."
 Thanks for the info...Quite eye opening i must say.Now i can go ahead and install the hydram.
SME
Ideas
water pump