wazua Sun, Jan 5, 2025

Taking the Village out of the Villager
#21 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2019 8:33:19 PM

We are telling you for free... it’s uncouth behavior. When you do it... know what we think of you. Don’t act surprised when you realize people frown upon that type of behavior. It’s like eating with your mouth open or picking your nose then licking the fingers.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2019 8:44:34 PM

hamburglar wrote:
We really really really really need to ban these stupid retrogressive mother tongue languages. They add zero value to our country and are one of the biggest reason for hate amongst Kenyans. I lived in the States for a long long time and the tribalism there is probably tenfold that in Kenya. It is unbelievably TOXIC. Around election times people stop talking to each other and in some extreme cases, form tribal groups that meet over the weekends at their fellow tribesmen houses to incite each other. Absolute takataka. Tribes and mother tongues are very primitive and people who insist of grouping themselves along tribal lines in a cosmopolitan setting are the worst. Then you see the same people complaining about racism in the West yet they were busy conducting a church service in their mother tongue on Sunday. You can’t comprehend the level of stupidity in some people. Complete bunch of morons.

Trust me, you will die without seeing Kikuyus abandoning Kikuyuness. Take off your earphones and walk into Olive Garden, Italians in America will be talking their language freely, walk into La Cantina and Latinos will be on. Take a trip and get yourself into the Londoner and you'll find Scotts speaking Gaelic in America. I dont need to say anything about Germans. So its only a Mwafrika suffering from severe inferiority complex can think someone indulging in their culture by way of lingo is toxic. Very stupid mentality i must say.

Wewe the furthest you’ve been to is Maragua and now you want to lie to us that Italians speak Italian at Olive Garden. Which Olive Gareden is that? I have dined at Olive Gardens in more than a dozen cities and never heard a single word of Italian being spoken by anybody. I’ve eaten in plenty of Latino restaurants and the common language is usually English. Just because a restaurant is called LaCorazon does not mean that Spanish is the language of communication. Is Luo the primary language at Kosewe or is it Somali at cafe Pronto? Peleka uongo Maragua. Nonsense. People who speak vernacular in the midst of people from other tribes are idiots. Simple as that. These tribes that you guys are glorifying here will be the same tribes that will be killing each other in 2022. A bunch of freaking tribal idiots.

I can see you have a problem with comprehension.

First Olive Gareden can only be found in your Maragua if you so wish. But I guess since you only think of communication as being speaking you dont think the menu comprises of 70% italian words
More than 60% of diners at Olive garden are bound to be Italian and if you listen to their conversations they are not there to impress you nyeuthi infact they will be wondering if you can stomach their lactose infused foods to say the least. People should speak whatever they want if you are not comfortable --- make that choice and go where you feel accommodated.

If a Church in Boston feels that they should conduct their services in Kikuyu, no body should stop them because they are offended, they are allowed by the law....even the Vietnamese temples conduct their sermons in Vietnamese language.

Its absolutely foolish to think that English speaking is some sort of intelligence.

Don’t call it a Kenyan church - call it for what it is. Don’t tell people to come then speak Kikuyu to them.
The term uncouth comes to mind whenever I come across these types of people.

I do not think Its called a Kenyan Church. And everyone is free to leave if they feel they are not intune with the practices in these churches. There are others that conduct sermons in Kisii (SDA), Kiswahili, Kalenjin, Kamba.,...go where you feel fit. There are over 50Kenyan churches in the US for heavens sake, and apart from that...English churches exist. In the land of free....the choice is yours.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2019 9:21:28 PM

hamburglar wrote:
We really really really really need to ban these stupid retrogressive mother tongue languages. They add zero value to our country and are one of the biggest reason for hate amongst Kenyans. I lived in the States for a long long time and the tribalism there is probably tenfold that in Kenya. It is unbelievably TOXIC. Around election times people stop talking to each other and in some extreme cases, form tribal groups that meet over the weekends at their fellow tribesmen houses to incite each other. Absolute takataka. Tribes and mother tongues are very primitive and people who insist of grouping themselves along tribal lines in a cosmopolitan setting are the worst. Then you see the same people complaining about racism in the West yet they were busy conducting a church service in their mother tongue on Sunday. You can’t comprehend the level of stupidity in some people. Complete bunch of morons.

Trust me, you will die without seeing Kikuyus abandoning Kikuyuness. Take off your earphones and walk into Olive Garden, Italians in America will be talking their language freely, walk into La Cantina and Latinos will be on. Take a trip and get yourself into the Londoner and you'll find Scotts speaking Gaelic in America. I dont need to say anything about Germans. So its only a Mwafrika suffering from severe inferiority complex can think someone indulging in their culture by way of lingo is toxic. Very stupid mentality i must say.

Wewe the furthest you’ve been to is Maragua and now you want to lie to us that Italians speak Italian at Olive Garden. Which Olive Gareden is that? I have dined at Olive Gardens in more than a dozen cities and never heard a single word of Italian being spoken by anybody. I’ve eaten in plenty of Latino restaurants and the common language is usually English. Just because a restaurant is called LaCorazon does not mean that Spanish is the language of communication. Is Luo the primary language at Kosewe or is it Somali at cafe Pronto? Peleka uongo Maragua. Nonsense. People who speak vernacular in the midst of people from other tribes are idiots. Simple as that. These tribes that you guys are glorifying here will be the same tribes that will be killing each other in 2022. A bunch of freaking tribal idiots.

First Olive Gareden can only be found in your Maragua if you so wish. But I guess since you only think of communication as being speaking you dont think the menu comprises of 70% italian words
More than 60% of diners at Olive garden are bound to be Italian and if you listen to their conversations they are not there to impress you nyeuthi infact they will be wondering if you can stomach their lactose infused foods to say the least. People should speak whatever they want if you are not comfortable --- make that choice and go where you feel accommodated.

If a Church in Boston feels that they should conduct their services in Kikuyu, no body should stop them because they are offended, they are allowed by the law....even the Vietnamese temples conduct their sermons in Vietnamese language.

Its absolutely foolish to think that English speaking is some sort of intelligence.

Don’t call it a Kenyan church - call it for what it is. Don’t tell people to come then speak Kikuyu to them.

I do not think Its called a Kenyan Church. And everyone is free to leave if they feel they are not intune with the practices in these churches. There are others that conduct sermons in Kisii (SDA), Kiswahili, Kalenjin, Kamba.,...go where you feel fit. There are over 50Kenyan churches in the US for heavens sake, and apart from that...English churches exist. In the land of free....the choice is yours.

I agree 100%. Interesting that everyone is happy when a mzungu comes to kenya and preaches in his native english language but has a kiswahili translator so that non english speakers can understand. But when we have a kikuyu preacher majuuu using his language to preach and has a person to translate the sermon to english for non kikuyu speakers it becomes a problem. When will we africans overcome this inferiority complex? A native english speaking preacher is no different from a native kikuyu speaking preacher.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2019 9:37:51 PM

Nothing makes me more happier than when i attend my 8yr old son's school open day and i see the kids talking to their parents in dholuo, kisii, kipsigis, kimeru, kikuyu, maragoli, somali etc. It gives me reassurance that the languages of our forefathers will survive into the next generation. And yes he attends a middle class school where we pay 60k per term for lower primary.
#25 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 7:38:06 AM

hamburglar wrote:
The Englishmen worship in their mothertongue English. The Frenchmen worship in their language French. Zuluman uses Zulu. Boer uses his language Afrikaans. Baganda uses luganda. So why should a kikuyuman not use his language gikuyu to worship his God. Why should a kikuyuman use the language of the alien englishmen or swahilimen to worship? All humans are born equal and none should impose their culture including language on others.

I don’t care about the Englishman or the Frenchman or German or Zulu. Am Kenyan and what concerns me is Kenya. They can speak their languages for all I care, as long as they all understand each other. I think we should also adopt Kiswahili as the national language and teach every kid that is born how to speak Swahili and get rid of vernacular languages. Maybe, just maybe then we can have a more United Kenya. Everybody would feel equal in their country. Instead of stupidly voting along tribal lines like we do every election period, maybe then we can actually vote leaders based on important values like integrity, performance, ability etc. With tribes, it will be the same song year after year after year. Mtu wetu mtu wetu. Mtu wenyu and yet the scumbag you’ve elected is the biggest piece of shit in the history of the world? I get riled up when I see young educated people sticking to these archaic and retrogressive things like tribes. It’s pathetic when people literally stop talking to each other because of the hate brought about by tribal alignments. I have seen the hate some of my tribesmen have against a certain tribe and vice versa. It’s disgusting.

There is no other way to describe these disgusting so-called learned, tribal men around. Education did not help at all. When I was in employment, there are some shameless people who switch to their vernacular even in midst of other tribes. Later I realized And the common thing among those tribal men was they hailed in the village most of their time and the village did not leave them. The title of this thread is so on point!
Ngalaka
#26 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 10:33:13 AM

Let’s separate the wheat from the chaff.

I agree there are jingoists in our society.
I am not ok with people who in a social/public forum arrogantly speak their own language endlessly in the midst of others who don’t understand it.

That habit was promoted by Jomo himself right from the bully pulpit.

That said, we have to be careful not to generalise and condemn even legitimate appreciation and use of one’s first language.

There has to be exception to a reasonable person and there are many such situations.

We must appreciate that we live in a Country called Kenya, and there are certain realities.

Local languages are going nowhere, and can be used for good.
Only when their use is infused with chauvinism should we object.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#27 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 2:28:47 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

I am not ok with people who in a social/public forum arrogantly speak their own language endlessly in the midst of others who don’t understand it.

That said, we have to be careful not to generalise and condemn even legitimate appreciation and use of one’s first language.

There has to be exception to a reasonable person and there are many such situations.

We must appreciate that we live in a Country called Kenya, and there are certain realities.

I am wondering why this fact is so difficult for akina @hardwood and @muchr?
can't they see people have problems with it? you can continue speaking your tongue to people who understand it but when you are in the presence of others who don't and ALL of you understand a given language in which you are comfortable with - speak it. I am also not perfect... As soon as I meet a Kenyan abroad I speak swahili... sometimes it's in a forum that has people from other places in Africa - they get disturbed and voice their concerns. I change. it's only proper!
#28 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 3:26:15 PM

So when I go to a pub and find a group of luos, mluhyas or mkambas sitting at their table enjoying their beer and talking to each other in their vernacular I should walk to them and ask them to shut up because they shouldn't use "primitive languages" in public places?
#29 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 3:29:11 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

I am wondering why this fact is so difficult for akina @hardwood and @muchr?
can't they see people have problems with it? you can continue speaking your tongue to people who understand it but when you are in the presence of others who don't and ALL of you understand a given language in which you are comfortable with - speak it. I am also not perfect... As soon as I meet a Kenyan abroad I speak swahili... sometimes it's in a forum that has people from other places in Africa - they get disturbed and voice their concerns. I change. it's only proper!

Public and choice of language should be determined by the audience present. That's why wazungu preachers choose to have a translator. In the case of the wagithomo vs UK rant, the audience - the wagithomo preachers present are 100% Kikuyu the politicians were 90% kikuyu 10% others it was very ok to speak Kikuyu as that was the audience being addressed.

Same thing with the videos posted...the majority wins, there are people who have their old parents attending those churches the preachers prayer warriors just want to accommodate them.
gk
#30 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 4:11:18 PM

hamburglar wrote:

It doesn't matter. Use of name "Kenyan" doesn't mean it's for all or only Kenyans. Just like African, American, Chinese etc. And once you get there and don't like it, come on, move on!
We're ok with people speaking Kinyarwanda, Somali, Hindi etc amongst us but if fellow Kenyans or sorry Kikuyus do, its becomes tribal.
No free man is ashamed of expressing his roots and identity.
#31 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 9:21:18 PM

Some people here think we are trying to convince them to stop using their vernacular in public spaces... We are not... We cannot fix that bug! We cannot undo your raising. That's why I started this thread by saying you can take the monkey from the tree but not the tree from the monkey. Mti is a stronghold to some. We understand you... most of you cannot be helped. What this thread is supposed to do is to tell you - the behavior you consider normal... is not! We are telling you EXACTLY what we think of you and how where we place you. Ndio usishangae when we frown upon you!
#32 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 10:00:39 PM

Some people here think we are trying to convince them to stop using their vernacular in public spaces... We are not... We cannot fix that bug! We cannot undo your raising. That's why I started this thread by saying you can take the monkey from the tree but not the tree from the monkey. Mti is a stronghold to some. We understand you... most of you cannot be helped. What this thread is supposed to do is to tell you - the behavior you consider normal... is not! We are telling you EXACTLY what we think of you and how where we place you. Ndio usishangae when we frown upon you!

This hasira (frowning) itakuumiza matumbo bure. Live and let live. There is actually a silver lining to not understanding what people around you are saying. You can have very private moments in public which is quite refreshing.
#33 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2019 10:45:26 PM

I am at the pub. So should I go and ask the guys sitting on the left to stop speaking in kisii coz it's offensive and also talk to the mzungus on the right and demand that they stop speaking in polish coz this is kenya and we dont want funny languages in public places and that they should only speak in a language we can understand ie kiswahili or english?

#34 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2019 6:24:18 PM

I am at the pub. So should I go and ask the guys sitting on the left to stop speaking in kisii coz it's offensive and also talk to the mzungus on the right and demand that they stop speaking in polish coz this is kenya and we dont want funny languages in public places and that they should only speak in a language we can understand ie kiswahili or english?

Are you part of those groups?
Mucher
#35 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2019 2:57:54 PM

Many people speak several languages these days. Everyone wants to learn English because it has become the language of global education and commerce. But your mother tongue should always come first. No matter where we go and what we learn our mother tongue must never lose its significance.
#36 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2019 3:37:32 PM

hamburglar wrote:

The languages are not the problem. African languages are rich and interesting, and are our identity. What you hold is hate. You are hating the wrong people for being themselves, but thank God, they don't care.

I suspect you & Masukuma wanted to talk about mannerisms. You want to change people's behaviour overnight. Well, good luck with that.
#37 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2019 5:23:08 PM

hamburglar wrote:

The languages are not the problem. African languages are rich and interesting, and are our identity. What you hold is hate. You are hating the wrong people for being themselves, but thank God, they don't care.

I suspect you & Masukuma wanted to talk about mannerisms. You want to change people's behaviour overnight. Well, good luck with that.

I have stated over and over again... there is no way of changing this people.. there is no way of plucking the tree from the monkey. I was just informing them that many consider it undesirable and quite uncouth - whether they care about it or not... is a separate matter.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2019 5:36:18 PM

hamburglar wrote:

It's not easy but it can be done. None of my kids speak my mother tongue. Their grandma complained until she gave up. Their friends are from all over.
For me, it is simply a practical decision. For the 40-plus years I have been alive, not a single door or opportunity has been opened for me on account of my ability to speak kikuyu or being a kikuyu. Actually, several doors have been slammed shut because of being a kikuyu.

I would rather my kids learn French, Spanish, german, Chinese and sign language rather than kikuyu. I also keep hoping they marry outside the tribe.

This cultural identity is a very abstract concept to me.
#39 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2019 5:48:01 PM

hamburglar wrote:

It's not easy but it can be done. None of my kids speak my mother tongue. Their grandma complained until she gave up. Their friends are from all over.
For me, it is simply a practical decision. For the 40-plus years I have been alive, not a single door or opportunity has been opened for me on account of my ability to speak kikuyu or being a kikuyu. Actually, several doors have been slammed shut because of being a kikuyu.

I would rather my kids learn French, Spanish, german, Chinese and sign language rather than kikuyu. I also keep hoping they marry outside the tribe.

Shindwe! What kind of a man hates his tribe and culture - which includes language? You are KIKUYU FIRST before you are Kenyan. You do not loose your kikuyuness just because a mzungu came to your village 100yrs ago and told you that kikuyus and surrounding tribes will now be called kenyans.

Also which kind of father wishes that his kids marry outside so that his tribe and culture can be wiped off the face of the earth. Bure kabisa.
#40 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2019 6:05:21 PM

hamburglar wrote:

Grounding in a physical place is in my opinion more important than an abstract cultural identity. If you live in Githioro Nyandarua county you should be able to understand who you are, where you are and be able to communicate with those that you live with. If you live in Kileleshwa Nairobi you should be able to do the same.

It is quite possible that the guy in Githioro is called Omondi and his parents were born in Homa Bay but it would be extremely important for him to learn and speak Kikuyu. Now if the the guy in Kileleshwa is named Njoroge and is a fluent Kikuyu speaker and insists on speaking it he may alienate himself from the people that he lives with.