Operation #OndoaNyasi Hon Otiende Amollo
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Thatch is one of the best roofing material. Why spend millions importing decra roof from new zealand when you can have a nice roof using thatch?  
Our mud huts should have evolved with the times and we wouldnt have a housing problem. Part of the blame should go to out architects and engineers. Also mzungu taught us to hate anything african aka shenzi. 
@hardwood We no longer have good quality thatch. Appreciably most resorts and hotels use makuti and such thatch the traditional sources in the village have dwindled. Mabati is a sign of development in the village. Make a lot of noise when it rains thought in the absence of ceiling and soundproofing. Nyasi on the other hand you sleep fwaaaaaah Lakini during PEV arsonist will have an easy time "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
simonkabz wrote:Sansa wrote:thuks wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Sansa wrote:How durable are these houses? What do you mean yawa 50 yrs with regular, cheap maintenance I'm referring to the mud walls not the mabati. The mabati is a good improvement but the way that mud was built around those posts is wanting. It doesn't look like the walls are thick enough. Since this mud is readily available, can't those involved come up with a way to make those interlocking mud bricks for everyone who needs a house in the village? Sansa, kwani you've never seen a mud-walled house? THose things last even a lifetime. The mabati is a major leap, in that the locals can now harvest rain water. Saw Mutua doing the same. I have seen mud walled houses but looking at those ones he is replacing, they look like they are crumbling and God knows how long ago they were built. Then when you look at the ones they have built, you can see the poles/twigs they have used so you know they walls are not thick. I also don't know how they react to rain soo ...
Sansa wrote:simonkabz wrote:Sansa wrote:thuks wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Sansa wrote:How durable are these houses? What do you mean yawa 50 yrs with regular, cheap maintenance I'm referring to the mud walls not the mabati. The mabati is a good improvement but the way that mud was built around those posts is wanting. It doesn't look like the walls are thick enough. Since this mud is readily available, can't those involved come up with a way to make those interlocking mud bricks for everyone who needs a house in the village? Sansa, kwani you've never seen a mud-walled house? THose things last even a lifetime. The mabati is a major leap, in that the locals can now harvest rain water. Saw Mutua doing the same. I have seen mud walled houses but looking at those ones he is replacing, they look like they are crumbling and God knows how long ago they were built. Then when you look at the ones they have built, you can see the poles/twigs they have used so you know they walls are not thick. I also don't know how they react to rain soo ... That's usually the first layer, second layer is akin to plastering which is applied after the first mud layer has dried. You can even go as far as applying different types of clay and cowdung for decoaration. Nyinyi watoto wa nairobi mko na mambo kweli If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Sansa wrote:simonkabz wrote:Sansa wrote:thuks wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Sansa wrote:How durable are these houses? What do you mean yawa 50 yrs with regular, cheap maintenance I'm referring to the mud walls not the mabati. The mabati is a good improvement but the way that mud was built around those posts is wanting. It doesn't look like the walls are thick enough. Since this mud is readily available, can't those involved come up with a way to make those interlocking mud bricks for everyone who needs a house in the village? Sansa, kwani you've never seen a mud-walled house? THose things last even a lifetime. The mabati is a major leap, in that the locals can now harvest rain water. Saw Mutua doing the same. I have seen mud walled houses but looking at those ones he is replacing, they look like they are crumbling and God knows how long ago they were built. Then when you look at the ones they have built, you can see the poles/twigs they have used so you know they walls are not thick. I also don't know how they react to rain soo ... That's usually the first layer, second layer is akin to plastering which is applied after the first mud layer has dried. You can even go as far as applying different types of clay and cowdung for decoaration. Nyinyi watoto wa nairobi mko na mambo kweli Hata kuna 3rd layer ya madoido patterns & graphics!!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Swenani wrote:Sansa wrote:simonkabz wrote:Sansa wrote:thuks wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Sansa wrote:How durable are these houses? What do you mean yawa 50 yrs with regular, cheap maintenance I'm referring to the mud walls not the mabati. The mabati is a good improvement but the way that mud was built around those posts is wanting. It doesn't look like the walls are thick enough. Since this mud is readily available, can't those involved come up with a way to make those interlocking mud bricks for everyone who needs a house in the village? Sansa, kwani you've never seen a mud-walled house? THose things last even a lifetime. The mabati is a major leap, in that the locals can now harvest rain water. Saw Mutua doing the same. I have seen mud walled houses but looking at those ones he is replacing, they look like they are crumbling and God knows how long ago they were built. Then when you look at the ones they have built, you can see the poles/twigs they have used so you know they walls are not thick. I also don't know how they react to rain soo ... That's usually the first layer, second layer is akin to plastering which is applied after the first mud layer has dried. You can even go as far as applying different types of clay and cowdung for decoaration. Nyinyi watoto wa nairobi mko na mambo kweli Ohhh Good to know! Lakini I'd have still done mud bricks.
@hardwood quality grass for thatching is hard to find in the region. And good 'thatchers  'are also mia just like good plumbers, carpenters etc. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:@hardwood quality grass for thatching is hard to find in the region. And good 'thatchers  'are also mia just like good pilots etc. waah If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:@hardwood quality grass for thatching is hard to find in the region. And good 'thatchers  'are also mia just like good pilots etc. waah Fantastic airports, poor pilots with weak landing gears In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:Swenani wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:@hardwood quality grass for thatching is hard to find in the region. And good 'thatchers  'are also mia just like good pilots etc. waah Fantastic airports, poor pilots with weak landing gears Jehova wanyonyi!!! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
hardwood wrote:There is nothing wrong with a mud or thatch house. Why have people been brainwashed to think that it is a problem?  I agree with you. There is no problem thatched house. Unless the houses being replaced are aged and falling apart. Nonetheless, kudos to him. It's the thought that counts
Sansa wrote:Swenani wrote:Sansa wrote:simonkabz wrote:Sansa wrote:thuks wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Sansa wrote:How durable are these houses? What do you mean yawa 50 yrs with regular, cheap maintenance I'm referring to the mud walls not the mabati. The mabati is a good improvement but the way that mud was built around those posts is wanting. It doesn't look like the walls are thick enough. Since this mud is readily available, can't those involved come up with a way to make those interlocking mud bricks for everyone who needs a house in the village? Sansa, kwani you've never seen a mud-walled house? THose things last even a lifetime. The mabati is a major leap, in that the locals can now harvest rain water. Saw Mutua doing the same. I have seen mud walled houses but looking at those ones he is replacing, they look like they are crumbling and God knows how long ago they were built. Then when you look at the ones they have built, you can see the poles/twigs they have used so you know they walls are not thick. I also don't know how they react to rain soo ... That's usually the first layer, second layer is akin to plastering which is applied after the first mud layer has dried. You can even go as far as applying different types of clay and cowdung for decoaration. Nyinyi watoto wa nairobi mko na mambo kweli Ohhh Good to know! Lakini I'd have still done mud bricks. why? coz they look better or because they are stronger than the method being used here? or just to make the constructions more labour extensive and expensive for no reason? i have a feeling that you are busy trying to look for a problem where there is none.
Angelica _ann wrote:Swenani wrote:Sansa wrote:simonkabz wrote:Sansa wrote:thuks wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Sansa wrote:How durable are these houses? What do you mean yawa 50 yrs with regular, cheap maintenance I'm referring to the mud walls not the mabati. The mabati is a good improvement but the way that mud was built around those posts is wanting. It doesn't look like the walls are thick enough. Since this mud is readily available, can't those involved come up with a way to make those interlocking mud bricks for everyone who needs a house in the village? Sansa, kwani you've never seen a mud-walled house? THose things last even a lifetime. The mabati is a major leap, in that the locals can now harvest rain water. Saw Mutua doing the same. I have seen mud walled houses but looking at those ones he is replacing, they look like they are crumbling and God knows how long ago they were built. Then when you look at the ones they have built, you can see the poles/twigs they have used so you know they walls are not thick. I also don't know how they react to rain soo ... That's usually the first layer, second layer is akin to plastering which is applied after the first mud layer has dried. You can even go as far as applying different types of clay and cowdung for decoaration. Nyinyi watoto wa nairobi mko na mambo kweli Hata kuna 3rd layer ya madoido patterns & graphics!!!! they can also be plastered with cement and sand both inside and out. these things actually last for decades.
mkenyan wrote:Sansa wrote:Swenani wrote:Sansa wrote:simonkabz wrote:Sansa wrote:thuks wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Sansa wrote:How durable are these houses? What do you mean yawa 50 yrs with regular, cheap maintenance I'm referring to the mud walls not the mabati. The mabati is a good improvement but the way that mud was built around those posts is wanting. It doesn't look like the walls are thick enough. Since this mud is readily available, can't those involved come up with a way to make those interlocking mud bricks for everyone who needs a house in the village? Sansa, kwani you've never seen a mud-walled house? THose things last even a lifetime. The mabati is a major leap, in that the locals can now harvest rain water. Saw Mutua doing the same. I have seen mud walled houses but looking at those ones he is replacing, they look like they are crumbling and God knows how long ago they were built. Then when you look at the ones they have built, you can see the poles/twigs they have used so you know they walls are not thick. I also don't know how they react to rain soo ... That's usually the first layer, second layer is akin to plastering which is applied after the first mud layer has dried. You can even go as far as applying different types of clay and cowdung for decoaration. Nyinyi watoto wa nairobi mko na mambo kweli Ohhh Good to know! Lakini I'd have still done mud bricks. why? coz they look better or because they are stronger than the method being used here? or just to make the constructions more labour extensive and expensive for no reason? i have a feeling that you are busy trying to look for a problem where there is none. I am not looking for a problem. Just thought they'd be stronger and last a longer time.
Batoto ya Nairobi can go to Bomas of Kenya and see grass thatched huts   "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Sansa wrote:How durable are these houses? Jibu hili hapa imagine how the poor family now feels i celebrate Otiende Amolo "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Operation #OndoaNyasi Hon Otiende Amollo