wazua Fri, Aug 8, 2025

Psychology of sex
#21 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 9:19:57 PM

This image has given me more hard ons than any other I can think of. It is usually on a Friday after lunch and I send a text to Ciru Diabs (I do not know her real name but this is the name saved on the phone) saying "Niaje kasupuu." Sometimes she answers immediately sometimes she takes a few minutes sometimes hours and sometimes she just does not answer.

What is funny is that any text message I receive after sending this one will give me an instant hard on. Many times I have excitedly opened the message only to find it is from someone else like the guy I buy shoes from telling me he has new stockd'oh! d'oh! Hardships indeed!!

A case of 'priming'? Please check on the first pdf I've shared and how priming works to determine some of our responses.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 9:27:44 PM

The philosopher Immanuel Kant famously argued that sexual desire is ‘an
appetite for another human being’. Moreover, ‘as an Object of appetite for
another’, Kant writes,
a person becomes a thing and can be treated and used as such by every one. This
is the only case in which a human being is designed by nature as the Object of
another’s enjoyment. Sexual desire is at the root of it; and that is why we are
ashamed of it, and why all strict moralists, and those who had pretensions to be
regarded as saints, sought to suppress and extirpate it. (Kant, 1963: 163–4)
If sexual acts involve reducing a person to an object for our enjoyment,
then they violate the basic rule of morality, which, for Kant, obliges us to
treat persons always as ends in themselves and never as mere instruments
for our use. Kant’s sexual philosophy led him to condemn virtually all
sexual acts, including extramarital sex, masturbation, paid sex, and homosexuality.
Kant condoned only procreative sex between heterosexual
marital partners because, for reasons explained below, procreative sex
between marital partners mitigates the moral wrongs of instrumental use,
and avoids degrading the humanity of the participants (Herman, 1993:
60–1; Brake, 2005: 58, 76–7).
#23 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 10:14:13 PM

A counter argument to Kant's perspective:

In discussing Kant’s ideas about sexual objectification, Nussbaum
writes:
Central to Kant’s analysis of sexuality and marriage is the idea that sexual desire
is a very powerful force that conduces to the thing-like treatment of persons . . .
Why does Kant think that sex does this? . . . The idea seems to be that sexual
desire and pleasure cause very acute forms of sensation in a person’s own body;
that these sensations drive out, for a time, all other thoughts, including the
thoughts of respect for humanity that are characteristic of the moral attitude to
persons. Apparently he also thinks that they drive out every end-like consideration
of the pleasure or experience of the sex partner and cause attention to be
riveted on one’s own bodily states. In that condition of mind, one cannot manage
to see the other person as anything but a tool of one’s own interests, a set of
bodily parts that are useful tools for one’s pleasure, and the powerful urge to
secure one’s own sexual satisfaction will ensure that instrumentalization . . . the
keen interest both parties have in sexual satisfaction will lead them to permit
themselves to be treated in this thing-like way by one another, indeed to volunteer
eagerly to be dehumanized in order that they can dehumanize the other in
turn. (Nussbaum, 1999: 224)

And...

We are now in a position to notice something quite interesting about Kant. He
thinks that focusing on the genital organs entails the disregard of personhood –
because he apparently believes that personhood and humanity, and along with
them, individuality, do not reside in the genital organs; the genital organs are
just fungible nonhuman things, like so many tools. Lawrence says, that is a
response that itself dehumanizes us, by reducing to something subhuman what
properly is a major part of the humanity in us, and the individuality as well. We
are a certain type of animal, and animality is part of our personhood, completely
interwoven with individuality and personality. (Nussbaum, 1999: 231)
Lawrence contends, contrary to Kant, that our bodies and their appetites
can be treated as integral aspects of our humanity, even if they are not what
may be most distinctive about us. Lawrence further contends, according to
Nussbaum, that women, in particular, need not be desexualized in order
to be human and respected as persons.

#24 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 11:31:14 PM

Only when you [have sex] . . . are you most cleanly alive and most cleanly
yourself. . . . Sex isn’t just friction and shallow fun. Sex is also the revenge on death. Don’t forget death. Don’t ever forget it. Yes, sex too is limited in
its power. . . . But tell me, what power is greater?

—Philip Roth, The Dying Animal

#25 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 1:29:12 AM

Is the psychology of sex, the psychology of adaptive strategy?

http://www.bradley.edu/dotAsset/165805.pdf
PeterReborn
#26 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 12:11:37 PM

Bigshick,please come rescue Tycho from himself.Thanks.
Consistency is better than intensity
Wakanyugi
#27 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 1:21:13 PM

What role does sex play in human life? How does it differ from sex in other organisms?

I believe sex serves as a bridge between the different dimensions that we simultaneously operate in as part of human BEING. The feeling of sexual orgasm is a good example, a bridge leading from a purely mechanical act to a transcendent spiritual experience that has been compared to religious trance. Even the act of procreation, allowing as it does a non physical being (spirit) to animate a physical earth vehicle, is a similar demonstration of this bridge function of sex. Of course sex is not the only bridge.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#28 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 2:06:42 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
What role does sex play in human life? How does it differ from sex in other organisms?

I believe sex serves as a bridge between the different dimensions that we simultaneously operate in as part of human BEING. The feeling of sexual orgasm is a good example, a bridge leading from a purely mechanical act to a transcendent spiritual experience that has been compared to religious trance. Even the act of procreation, allowing as it does a non physical being (spirit) to animate a physical earth vehicle, is a similar demonstration of this bridge function of sex. Of course sex is not the only bridge.

What is the reason for this belief, the constraints of your language?

For example, there are instances when sex results in neither orgasm nor a child. Is the bridge still there?

What about rape that is orgasmic to the rapist? Will the rapist experience union with the other dimensions? Does this justify rape?

I'm finding it difficult to define sex. But I see it's a broad spectrum of activities. Talk about the psychology of sex is turning out to be very tricky. Is there a universal psychology of Man?

Does it make sense to speak of 'universal conditions?'

#29 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 2:08:21 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
Bigshick,please come rescue Tycho from himself.Thanks.

Why 'rescue'?
Wakanyugi
#30 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 2:21:02 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

For example, there are instances when sex results in neither orgasm nor a child. Is the bridge still there?

What about rape that is orgasmic to the rapist? Will the rapist experience union with the other dimensions? Does this justify rape?

'

You have now introduced a moral dimension which I had not considered. I had taken you questions as referring to the consensual act. In my book rape and other forms of coercion are not sex but assault.

But my thinking is, whether you experience orgasm or not, the bridge is always there. Similarly the process of conception to birth is a similar bridge experience, only stretched out over time. The very meaning of our existence requires BEING in multiple dimensions (realities if you like) simultaneously, some of which it seems can only be bridged through such instruments as sex, drugs, some religious states etc.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#31 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 3:35:31 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

'

You have now introduced a moral dimension which I had not considered. I had taken you questions as referring to the consensual act. In my book rape and other forms of coercion are not sex but assault.

But my thinking is, whether you experience orgasm or not, the bridge is always there. Similarly the process of conception to birth is a similar bridge experience, only stretched out over time. The very meaning of our existence requires BEING in multiple dimensions (realities if you like) simultaneously, some of which it seems can only be bridged through such instruments as sex, drugs, some religious states etc.

I'm trying to understand this BEING that is fragmented but bridgeable through various paths. Quite a difficult idea, in my opinion. It's like saying all sex is dialectical. Which, would preclude the necessity of multiple dimensions.

Think about your idea of 'assault'. Are you using it as a legal concept? If yes, then you're probably in trouble... because there's the concept of 'non consensual sex'. Which makes the matter of assault easier to handle.
#32 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 3:56:17 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
@Tycho u r HARD today..

Not 'today' but almost always... I have to get to the bottom of this 'hardship'.

I got a feeling I could be of some help.

What say you?

If you got the feeling, then you're likely to be of help. And who am I to refuse help?

'After you...'

Kumbe you too can fall the woman trap?
Kumbe you have normal human feelings?

#33 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 4:13:33 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
@Tycho u r HARD today..

Not 'today' but almost always... I have to get to the bottom of this 'hardship'.

What say you?

If you got the feeling, then you're likely to be of help. And who am I to refuse help?

'After you...'

'Woman trap'? Please tell me more about this. Why is the woman trapping the man?
Wakanyugi
#34 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 6:05:58 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

'

I'm trying to understand this BEING that is fragmented but bridgeable through various paths. Quite a difficult idea, in my opinion. It's like saying all sex is dialectical. Which, would preclude the necessity of multiple dimensions.

I think we have discussed this before. My belief, and I have tried to offer proof in the past, is that the selves we call Human Being are not limited to the body, nor even to the 3 dimensional earth reality we are familiar with. I believe we are 'massive' beings that experience reality in multiple ways, multiple realms and dimensions. Some of these realms/dimensions can be bridged and in fact religion talks a lot about it. All I am saying is that sex is one such bridge. There are many others of course

Think about your idea of 'assault'. Are you using it as a legal concept? If yes, then you're probably in trouble... because there's the concept of 'non consensual sex'. Which makes the matter of assault easier to handle.

No. I mean it as a moral concept...which I know puts me in even more trouble. But in my book sex is meant to be consensual, irrespective of the way the consentors may chose to partake in it. Any person who coerces sex (non consensual) is no better than the robber who takes your goods by force. Such an act can not be called sex according to me. It is criminal assault.

#35 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 6:38:11 PM

What about this feeling a man experiences when he peeps/sees through the thayos of a lady seated with bums slightly a part?
You feel your body warming up, heart upping the beats a little, fear, anxiety...all bundle up together.

And the more you steal the look the more you feel good and healthier...when she widen a little bit and you manage to see the panty (especially if its white), you feel heavenly and born-again.

Why and what is is this feeling?

The same feeling is much much less with a totally nude airport.

#these post belong to @tycho and like minded, so if you are a Mr. /or Ms. Holy, please spare us your holy shi*t!

Would the panty color matter? Whether purple, blue black or white? @Impunity una maneno
#36 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 6:57:39 PM

Only @tycho can start such an interesting topic, then take it to another intellectual level, yaani mpaka our resident fishmonger @swenani has kept off.
#37 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 7:47:37 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
@Tycho u r HARD today..

Have you been to Brazil?

#38 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 8:38:51 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
@Tycho u r HARD today..

What say you?

'After you...'

'Woman trap'? Please tell me more about this. Why is the woman trapping the man?

That thing between the woman thayos is like the pitcher flower, the man is like the insect, he get trapped whenever he lands (pun) on it to suck the nectar!

In the picture, that insect is you and your hapless landing gear, ready to be trapped by the airport!

#39 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2016 8:40:57 PM

Euge wrote:
What about this feeling a man experiences when he peeps/sees through the thayos of a lady seated with bums slightly a part?
You feel your body warming up, heart upping the beats a little, fear, anxiety...all bundle up together.

And the more you steal the look the more you feel good and healthier...when she widen a little bit and you manage to see the panty (especially if its white), you feel heavenly and born-again.

Why and what is is this feeling?

The same feeling is much much less with a totally nude airport.

#these post belong to @tycho and like minded, so if you are a Mr. /or Ms. Holy, please spare us your holy shi*t!

Would the panty color matter? Whether purple, blue black or white? @Impunity una maneno

There is a way the white one elicit the animal instinct in man.
Try looking at one and come back and share...
Pray

#40 Posted : Sunday, December 25, 2016 3:33:01 PM

Does this sound familiar?

In 1970 physician Edgar
Berman was widely quoted in the media for his comments about
women politicians:

If you had an investment in a bank, you wouldn’t want the president of
your bank making a loan under these raging hormonal influences at that
particular period. Suppose we had a president in the White House, a
menopausal woman president, who had to make the decision of the Bay
of Pigs, which was, of course, a bad one, or the Russian contretemps