wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Burkini- the woman as battle ground?
Nandwa
#21 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2016 3:54:36 PM

chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
The french have had a tough year with Islamic related terror, lets give them a little leeway to regain some semblance of control, may seem a tad overbearing but again who wouldn't react the way they are reacting.

In fact Islamic nations act in this exact way in their areas of control. The same way the french are trying to enforce french acceptable attire is the same way Islamic countries force shariah compliant attire in their countries. I don't hear anyone complaining about it though.

One of the founding principles of the French Republic is social equality for all. For the government to restrict those freedoms is hypocrisy of the highest order.

Extra-ordinary situations call for extraordinary measures. The French have been pushed to the wall.
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
chemirocha
#22 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2016 4:09:33 PM

Nandwa wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
The french have had a tough year with Islamic related terror, lets give them a little leeway to regain some semblance of control, may seem a tad overbearing but again who wouldn't react the way they are reacting.

In fact Islamic nations act in this exact way in their areas of control. The same way the french are trying to enforce french acceptable attire is the same way Islamic countries force shariah compliant attire in their countries. I don't hear anyone complaining about it though.

One of the founding principles of the French Republic is social equality for all. For the government to restrict those freedoms is hypocrisy of the highest order.

Extra-ordinary situations call for extraordinary measures. The French have been pushed to the wall.

And yet the countries that enforce shariah law use this exact same reasoning for the sake of protecting 'morality'.

This law has nothing to do with security or anti-terrorism actions.
#23 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2016 4:23:56 PM

chemirocha wrote:
Nandwa wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

And yet the countries that enforce shariah law use this exact same reasoning for the sake of protecting 'morality'.

This law has nothing to do with security or anti-terrorism actions.

The French, have some of the most oppressive attitudes even to their own women. Remember DSK saving the world via his 'orgies'? And he wasn't alone in this...
#24 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2016 5:17:35 PM

guru267 wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
The irony is if you look at photos from the 60's, women in the Arab world were dressed in the western fashion of jeans and mini skirts.

That was after the fall of the Ottoman empire where Arab Nationalism took hold and Islamic practice was subdued...

Those days are gone and we are in the midst of an Islamic revival..

Even in this Islamic revival, the woman is still a battlefied. There's no change that's significant from the 'Arab Nationalists'. Why? It's still the Men who will dictate how they should dress... what they should aspire to be.

@tycho, this is where you're wrong. I hope you know that their fathers didn't tell them to do that, their brothers didn't tell them to do that, their sons didn't tell them to do that. This is NOT something that ONLY Muslim women were told; but Jewish women also, and Christian women also and Muslim women also were doing this.

Unfortunately, now modern civilization (man-made) has asked women not to wear that, they could wear bikinis, does not mean that our culture (and God's wisdom, for those who are religious) is wrong and the modernist are right, no!

History and science unfortunately have no means behind God. Humanity has always chosen for itself how to live. The Jews, early Christians, Muslims all chose a model of life that dominated the woman and automatically made her a battle ground...

This shows you're giving your own opinion or someone else's. If you do not understand something, read about it. Do not rely on media or newspapers or social media to tell you about Islam. Today the information is as near as Google "status of women in Islam".
#25 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2016 5:27:07 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
grolut wrote:
Is it about war on terror, or is it about war against non-conformity?

Are we finally getting a glimpse of things as they really are?

https://www.theguardian....-we-criminalise-clothes

Just ask yourself if it were skin cancer survivors who were the main proponents of this swimsuit, would there be any ban? It's pure Islamophobia.

And probably a losing battle.

Yes, it is a losing battle. As we speak, in France, 40% of children born are from Muslim families... so wacha wafanye hesabu... @guru said once, "Continue blaming Islam for all problems... The fact will still remain that on this globe Islam is the fastest growing religion despite all the "terror allegations"..."

Fastest growing doesn´t say a thing about absolute numbers. I still believe Christianity will remain a majority in the next 100 years

Statistics do not lie. Yes currently those who call themselves Christians are many but do they practice? I thought you knew that being a head does not mean you will remain ahead forever. Since Islam is currently fastest growing religion, then it means numbers are increasing faster than the rest... So if current trend remains then eventually Christianity will not be the way it is now, even if it takes longer than the 100 years you quoted...

#26 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2016 6:45:12 PM

guru267 wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
The irony is if you look at photos from the 60's, women in the Arab world were dressed in the western fashion of jeans and mini skirts.

That was after the fall of the Ottoman empire where Arab Nationalism took hold and Islamic practice was subdued...

Even in this Islamic revival, the woman is still a battlefied. There's no change that's significant from the 'Arab Nationalists'. Why? It's still the Men who will dictate how they should dress... what they should aspire to be.

@tycho, this is where you're wrong. I hope you know that their fathers didn't tell them to do that, their brothers didn't tell them to do that, their sons didn't tell them to do that. This is NOT something that ONLY Muslim women were told; but Jewish women also, and Christian women also and Muslim women also were doing this.

Unfortunately, now modern civilization (man-made) has asked women not to wear that, they could wear bikinis, does not mean that our culture (and God's wisdom, for those who are religious) is wrong and the modernist are right, no!

History and science unfortunately have no means behind God. Humanity has always chosen for itself how to live. The Jews, early Christians, Muslims all chose a model of life that dominated the woman and automatically made her a battle ground...

This shows you're giving your own opinion or someone else's. If you do not understand something, read about it. Do not rely on media or newspapers or social media to tell you about Islam. Today the information is as near as Google "status of women in Islam".

And whose opinion is this? Google's? My proposition still stands.

Islam, like Christianity, seeks to dominate the woman.
urstill1
#27 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2016 6:56:09 PM

guru267 wrote:
chemirocha wrote:

I disagree! First hand experience.
#28 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2016 6:59:26 PM

guru267 wrote:
chemirocha wrote:

Still your opinion. You have been brainwashed or misinformed. DO NOT rely on the secular world to inform you about status of women in Islam. If you go to the Islam source, you will find that it is the contrary. Look at how prophet treated women. Look at status of women in the Quran.

You can look at my response to this issue here.
#29 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2016 8:35:30 PM

If a bikini isn't allowed in Saudi Arabia why should this burkini be allowed in France?
#30 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2016 8:51:05 PM

guru267 wrote:
chemirocha wrote:

Still your opinion. You have been brainwashed or misinformed. DO NOT rely on the secular world to inform you about status of women in Islam. If you go to the Islam source, you will find that it is the contrary. Look at how prophet treated women. Look at status of women in the Quran.

You can look at my response to this issue here.

I've seen your previous responses on this matter. I've even checked on the google links you've hinted upon.

And setting your argumenta ad hominem aside; my proposition still stands. The better thing is to ask why it stands...

But that will be asking you to start reasoning outside your dogma. Something that may prove too difficult.
chemirocha
#31 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2016 9:07:20 PM

France's highest court suspends burkini ban in test case

The state council ruled that the mayor did not have the right to issue a burkini ban – stating that local authorities could only restrict individual liberties if there was a “proven risk” to public order.
#32 Posted : Friday, August 26, 2016 10:00:52 PM

Anti_Burglar
#33 Posted : Sunday, August 28, 2016 4:14:20 PM

If a bikini isn't allowed in Saudi Arabia why should this burkini be allowed in France?

Yes. I agree. In addition, they should go and wear the burkinis in Saudi Arabia. There is plenty of sand and sea there after all. Hii story of kuenda kwa wenyewe and loudly demanding for privileges of tight clothing they cannot get at their home origins is ufala.
#34 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2016 10:03:48 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

Yes. I agree. In addition, they should go and wear the burkinis in Saudi Arabia. There is plenty of sand and sea there after all. Hii story of kuenda kwa wenyewe and loudly demanding for privileges of tight clothing they cannot get at their home origins is ufala.

@Anti_Burglar, I expected something better from you: voice of reason. All these ranting you've been unleashing in Wazua, all was just act! Right behind your heart is biasesness. But your mask has been uncovered. When it comes to forcing a religious person, you are for it. But when a religious person "forces" a gay person, you are against it!

I expected you to say "none of these guys are right, you cannot force someone to your ideals, not in Saudi Arabia, not in France."

Look at my position regarding this act here...
#35 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2016 10:28:06 AM

chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Very unfair rules, I agree. Not unless that Muslim dressing is promoting terrorism in some way

There's a way the West is moving forcefully towards secularism and liberalism but at the same time claiming to be pro human rights

Aren't religious rights human rights?

Why should it be frowned upon to speak ill of gays and lesbians but it's okay to speak ill of religious people and their faith(s)?

So they will not legislate against gays but will legislate against religion!
#36 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2016 10:31:59 AM

Nandwa wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

How does a swimming Frenchwoman's swimsuit affect the fight against terrorism?

Si they chase all those Muslims out of France to Algeria, Morocco and wherever else they came from mara moja?
#37 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2016 10:40:13 AM

chemirocha wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Very unfair rules, I agree. Not unless that Muslim dressing is promoting terrorism in some way

There's a way the West is moving forcefully towards secularism and liberalism but at the same time claiming to be pro human rights

Aren't religious rights human rights?

Why should it be frowned upon to speak ill of gays and lesbians but it's okay to speak ill of religious people and their faith(s)?

So they will not legislate against gays but will legislate against religion!

@Lolest! you've spoken in one your most articulate manner: every person to be given a right that is believed to belong justifiably to every person. Applause Applause

I expected the so-called champion of human rights @burglar to speak like that, but he has betrayed himself to be not what he always claims to be.
Anti_Burglar
#38 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2016 10:50:29 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

@Anti_Burglar, I expected something better from you: voice of reason. All these ranting you've been unleashing in Wazua, all was just act! Right behind your heart is biasesness. But your mask has been uncovered. When it comes to forcing a religious person, you are for it. But when a religious person "forces" a gay person, you are against it!

I expected you to say "none of these guys are right, you cannot force someone to your ideals, not in Saudi Arabia, not in France."

Go away. Europe is a safe haven for religious folk who want to do 'forbidden' stuff. They are free to do whatever they want so long as it is not perpetuating their religion especially seeing that their religion is the most suffocating and stifling religion on the face of this planet with absolutely no freedom.

This Turkish imam has been suspended after ‘pieces of cucumber’ was found in his rectum

Of course suspension would not happen in Saudi Arabia and your other favourite Islamic countries. Execution would have been the only thing! If you want to practise your religion go do it where it originated from.
#39 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2016 11:07:17 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

Go away. Europe is a safe haven for religious folk who want to do 'forbidden' stuff. They are free to do whatever they want so long as it is not perpetuating their religion especially seeing that their religion is the most suffocating and stifling religion on the face of this planet with absolutely no freedom.

This Turkish imam has been suspended after ‘pieces of cucumber’ was found in his rectum

Of course suspension would not happen in Saudi Arabia and your other favourite Islamic countries. Execution would have been the only thing! If you want to practise your religion go do it where it originated from.

@Anti_Burglar how does ‘pieces of cucumber’ has to do with a religion? You see how you've stooped so low and become Islamophobic? In fact the European country you mentioned should tell us why they suspended the man, is it coz he is Turkish or coz he is imam? Which law did he break by ‘pieces of cucumber’ was found in his rectum?

And in those countries you mentioned, why would he be executed? Which law says no ‘pieces of cucumber’ should be found in a rectum?

@Anti_Burglar, this time uko down!!!
Anti_Burglar
#40 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2016 12:36:27 PM

@Anti_Burglar how does ‘pieces of cucumber’ has to do with a religion? You see how you've stooped so low and become Islamophobic? In fact the European country you mentioned should tell us why they suspended the man, is it coz he is Turkish or coz he is imam? Which law did he break by ‘pieces of cucumber’ was found in his rectum?

And in those countries you mentioned, why would he be executed? Which law says no ‘pieces of cucumber’ should be found in a rectum?

@Anti_Burglar, this time uko down!!!

Oh, sorry, you are right. .... Cucumber in a mans rectum has got nothing to do with religion....... they only have to do with the thought process and because of the thought process I would rather have this Imam discussing with me than you. He has liberal ideas and is willing to think of new things and even do them. The Burkini should also be made more liberal, yes?