Investor
Stocks
Safaricom FY 2016 results net profit up 19.6%
Impunity wrote:jgithige wrote:Safaricom needs a serious competitor to bring the cost of mpesa rates down. Similarly to what happened in call rates. Me thinks the rates that needed to be urgently checked and brought down ni za data bandoz. That 4G thing inanyonya kweli kweli kushinda wale poko za River road. Try downloading a 4 minute youtube video and before you know it 100MB imemozwo tu like that. Safaricom data is not too bad even when compared to international standards. The only thing missing is unlimited internet offerings, but those you can get with Zuku. If you want to pressure Safaricom into changing their internet offerings then embrace Zuku and make your use of bundles minimal. Where Safaricom is milking these immoral profits from is the following band of MPESA transactions:  These are the typical Wanjiku transfers and in terms of percentages, they are obscene. The highest being a 50 bob withdrawal, which draws a bloody 20% commission from Safaricom(10bob) and this adds up very fast. In an advanced economy we would have consumer protection from such usury and agitation for uniform charges across the board, but in Kenya the only thing you can do is buy Safaricom shares so that you are on the right side of the table when people are eating.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,331 Location: Masada
Mike Ock wrote:Impunity wrote:jgithige wrote:Safaricom needs a serious competitor to bring the cost of mpesa rates down. Similarly to what happened in call rates. Me thinks the rates that needed to be urgently checked and brought down ni za data bandoz. That 4G thing inanyonya kweli kweli kushinda wale poko za River road. Try downloading a 4 minute youtube video and before you know it 100MB imemozwo tu like that. Safaricom data is not too bad even when compared to international standards. The only thing missing is unlimited internet offerings, but those you can get with Zuku. If you want to pressure Safaricom into changing their internet offerings then embrace Zuku and make your use of bundles minimal. Where Safaricom is milking these immoral profits from is the following band of MPESA transactions:  These are the typical Wanjiku transfers and in terms of percentages, they are obscene. The highest being a 50 bob withdrawal, which draws a bloody 20% commission from Safaricom(10bob) and this adds up very fast. In an advanced economy we would have consumer protection from such usury and agitation for uniform charges across the board, but in Kenya the only thing you can do is buy Safaricom shares so that you are on the right side of the table when people are eating. If you are not on the table then you are definitely on the menu. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/11/2010 Posts: 1,011 Location: nairobi
Mike Ock wrote:Impunity wrote:jgithige wrote:Safaricom needs a serious competitor to bring the cost of mpesa rates down. Similarly to what happened in call rates. Me thinks the rates that needed to be urgently checked and brought down ni za data bandoz. That 4G thing inanyonya kweli kweli kushinda wale poko za River road. Try downloading a 4 minute youtube video and before you know it 100MB imemozwo tu like that. Safaricom data is not too bad even when compared to international standards. The only thing missing is unlimited internet offerings, but those you can get with Zuku. If you want to pressure Safaricom into changing their internet offerings then embrace Zuku and make your use of bundles minimal. Where Safaricom is milking these immoral profits from is the following band of MPESA transactions:  These are the typical Wanjiku transfers and in terms of percentages, they are obscene. The highest being a 50 bob withdrawal, which draws a bloody 20% commission from Safaricom(10bob) and this adds up very fast. In an advanced economy we would have consumer protection from such usury and agitation for uniform charges across the board, but in Kenya the only thing you can do is buy Safaricom shares so that you are on the right side of the table when people are eating. You made my evening
Rank: Member Joined: 1/1/2010 Posts: 518 Location: kandara, Murang'a
Ebenyo wrote:what about the dividends?
0.76/- Foresight..
Post#41 Posted : Thursday, November 13, 2014 12:23:32 AM murchr wrote:MaichBlack wrote:murchr wrote:MaichBlack wrote:murchr wrote:13/- printed today Current demand outstrips supply by far at 13/= Will the all time high of 13.40/- be smashed tomorrow? Happened today @murchr. A high of 13.55/= Great, this one will be interesting to watch Volume = 24,898,900 97% foreign buys mlennyman wrote:When will it make 40b profit to make 1 bob earnings per share? If they keep innovating, then they can do it even in 3 years. I don't think this is a pipe dream now http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...amp;m=615000#post615000 "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
Is this the right time to add more of this stock or is it best to wait?
Could Safcom find 20 this year as the balance? With all this strength Safcom could even divest to other sources of income. Real estate is very neutral as it could even use its money to build Serviced apartments, Hotel buildings, Office buildings ll for rent. Safcom can invest in Public semi-government areas where it can help govt collect Taxes from those paying through their re-invented M-pesa where Individual or corporate tax information is at a click of a mouse.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/4/2016 Posts: 2,016 Location: Kitale
Those who created 40 billion shares for safaricom during the 2008 IPO acted greedily for instant gratification.They didnt mind others who could have benefited in the long term.Now look at safaricom Eps of kshs 0.95 vs pe of kshs 18? when willthe pe ever come down and eps go up? Towards the goal of financial freedom
Ebenyo wrote:Those who created 40 billion shares for safaricom during the 2008 IPO acted greedily for instant gratification.They didnt mind others who could have benefited in the long term.Now look at safaricom Eps of kshs 0.95 vs pe of kshs 18? when willthe pe ever come down and eps go up? Tech companies are not best valued using PE's, its just too simplistic and it doesn't tell anything about the health of the business, the high PE factors in the anticipated growth. YoY EBITDA would be the best way to value these companies. That's why value investors like Buffett try to keep off tech stocks. Amazon has a PE ratio of about 295, in Dec 2012, the PE ratio was about 3660. What you should be looking at is 1. YoY growth, 2. Business model that is difficult to copy (MPESA) 3. Customer loyalty and segmentation 4. Margins. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Tested 16.60 pre FY results with no supply there after rallying to 17.85. Bulls in control with new all time highs expected. Targets 18, 19 and 20 handles. Overshoot at 21.50. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/20/2015 Posts: 2,811 Location: Mombasa
hisah wrote:Tested 16.60 pre FY results with no supply there after rallying to 17.85.
Bulls in control with new all time highs expected. Targets 18, 19 and 20 handles. Overshoot at 21.50. I am expecting a dramatic selloff to 15/- before a rebound towards 20s . John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
murchr wrote:Ebenyo wrote:Those who created 40 billion shares for safaricom during the 2008 IPO acted greedily for instant gratification.They didnt mind others who could have benefited in the long term.Now look at safaricom Eps of kshs 0.95 vs pe of kshs 18? when willthe pe ever come down and eps go up? Tech companies are not best valued using PE's, its just too simplistic and it doesn't tell anything about the health of the business, the high PE factors in the anticipated growth. YoY EBITDA would be the best way to value these companies. That's why value investors like Buffett try to keep off tech stocks. Amazon has a PE ratio of about 295, in Dec 2012, the PE ratio was about 3660. What you should be looking at is 1. YoY growth, 2. Business model that is difficult to copy (MPESA) 3. Customer loyalty and segmentation 4. Margins. whats Y o Y? Towards the goal of financial freedom
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
Ebenyo wrote:murchr wrote:Ebenyo wrote:Those who created 40 billion shares for safaricom during the 2008 IPO acted greedily for instant gratification.They didnt mind others who could have benefited in the long term.Now look at safaricom Eps of kshs 0.95 vs pe of kshs 18? when willthe pe ever come down and eps go up? Tech companies are not best valued using PE's, its just too simplistic and it doesn't tell anything about the health of the business, the high PE factors in the anticipated growth. YoY EBITDA would be the best way to value these companies. That's why value investors like Buffett try to keep off tech stocks. Amazon has a PE ratio of about 295, in Dec 2012, the PE ratio was about 3660. What you should be looking at is 1. YoY growth, 2. Business model that is difficult to copy (MPESA) 3. Customer loyalty and segmentation 4. Margins. whats Y o Y? Year On Year
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,804 Location: NAIROBI
Safaricom CFO set to exit the company after a 5 year stint http://www.businessdaily...2/-/4d45oqz/-/index.htmlWealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Good news indeed! i think its because of the land scandal.Kudos vodafone,they are proving to be my good partner.Though i would prefer they bring back the 40% holding to us. Towards the goal of financial freedom
Investor
Stocks
Safaricom FY 2016 results net profit up 19.6%