wazua Sun, Aug 10, 2025

7 Pages<1234>»
Kenyan Manufacturing
#21 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 9:38:42 PM

@murchr, I'd like to go over the sources of information that America is reclaiming back its manufacturing and how it is doing this with respect to China. Then I can respond to your post if you don't mind...

The internet shall help you

Hmm! I thought this would be your answer...
#22 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 9:42:58 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre

on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture

But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers?

Or we could ask, how does a country lose its competitive edge? So far, going by most sentiments I see here, we're unaware of how economics has changed and how we need to adapt to the challenges of globalization.

I see you trying to draw the "its cheaper to produce it elsewhere" line. But look at it this way, China imports timber from West Africa to produce the paper in bulk (taking advantage of economies of scale) then distribute it to the rest of the world. Now lets look at the economy, the person who is cutting and supplying that timber from West Africa is probably Chinese, the ship ferrying has employed Chinese, the receivers at the port, the company that extracts the paper, the byproducts all remain in China to be distributed, the only jobs we create here are the kazi ya mkono, those who will import the paper, the clearing & forwarding guys and those printing & publishing. I might not be wrong if I said those are just 100 jobs.

If you are wondering why China is experiencing a slow down, its mainly because, America started taking its jobs back. We have to start bringing jobs back, sell Pan paper and ignore the western politics noise and yes more and more power is needed.

As for the toothpick vibe from sunny bindra, hizo toothpick hazichongwi na mkono, import that machine not the end product.

Last, Brand Kenya should stop usurping Kenya tourism Boards job and focus on selling Brand Kenya to Kenyans. And that means selling "MADE IN KENYA" running programming that shows people the benefits of buying Kenyan as opposed to that popcorn from South Africa or some Arabic packaged cooking oils.

Did you see some sch asking kids to go with a metallic bucket from INDIA?

@murchr you this psychologist/philosopher pops in to confuse and throw people off balance... Anyway. This this hit me and we were discussing with friends.
There was a thread here on buy Kenya build Kenya where I mentioned that a good number of Kenyans manufacture low quality products and price them highly!
Top to that as mentioned, the cost of production is too high.
The 'high' prices tagged on factors of production majorly labour and raw materials. Employees want to be paid so high while they steal from the factory. Suppliers quote high prices . We are a greedy lot, our appetite for money is too high...

Let me take this as an opportunity to explore on what I'm currently learning. So far you're profiling not just tycho but Kenyans in general and the economy. For example, you conclude that Kenyans are greedy, but from what evidence? Is the evidence sufficient?

I suspect some group think is what's required here!
#23 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 9:53:28 PM

Alba wrote:
mpobiz wrote:
china imetumaliza

Kenyans pia wamejimaliza.

Instead of holding our leaders accountable for addressing issues affecting manufacturing, we are more concerned with encouraging them to build tribal blocks for elections and if the leader is from our ethnic group, we make excuses for their incompetence or poor governance.

Someone is asking WHY WHY WHY

The answer is because the priorities of the Kenyan populace is warped, twisted and brainless.

With our warped priorities, Kenyans should not be surprised to find that the country has a paper thin manufacturing base.

True kenyan populace priorities are warped particularly the middle class. They will complain loudest about the failure of manufacturing as they sip Heineken and smoke Dunhill instead of suporting EABL (tusker), Keroche (summit), BAT (sportsman), mastermind (supermatch), while driving on chinese and indonesian linglong, apollo, michellin, dunlop etc tyres instead of yana etc.
Alba
#24 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 9:55:04 PM

Some time back i was in India and was impressed that all the products they use are manufactured in India. Even vehicles. If a vehicle company wants to sell in India they have to manufacture in India in partnership with Indians. That's why they have Suzuki Maruti, Ashok Leyland etc. They dont have japanese and european mitumbas on their roads, unlike Kenya. They buy Made in India. We need to adopt such a system in Kenya.

Given our current state of political dysfunction, this protectionism likely will not work in Kenya. Our corrupt leaders will force foreign companies to partner with companies that are well connected to political bigwigs. The resulting inefficiency will cause the cost of manufactured goods to skyrocket.

Plus Kenya lacks India's capacity and customer base. I.E. Unlike India which has a billion people, Kenya's customer base is not large enough to sustain a large investment. Therefore large investments must be export oriented.

If Kenyans want to fix manufacturing issues in Kenya we just need to go back to the basics mentioned in form three geography:

1. Build better infrastructure roads, railways, pipelines etc. The poor road network in western Kenya is one of the reasons the sugar industry is moribund.
1b. Get a reliable and cheap electricity supply. (reduce blackouts)
2. Address security: Investors want to feel safe.
3. Reduce corruption: Large corporations are wary of dealing with corrupt officials.
4. Offer tax breaks to corporations that set up in remote areas with lower labour costs. Nairobi is too crowded and labor costs high. Encourage corporations to set up elsewhere.

Our political discourse should be focused on issues such as the ones above. Do people want jobs and security or do they want a member of their tribe to be in power? I always wonder about Kenyans and their priorities.
#25 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 10:03:01 PM

Some time back i was in India and was impressed that all the products they use are manufactured in India. Even vehicles. If a vehicle company wants to sell in India they have to manufacture in India in partnership with Indians. That's why they have Suzuki Maruti, Ashok Leyland etc. They dont have japanese and european mitumbas on their roads, unlike Kenya. They buy Made in India. We need to adopt such a system in Kenya.

I also admire Indians, the tech cities of America are full of Indians, thats why Modi visited Facebook when he visited America, call Microsoft Cisco or Intel if you have a software problem and it will be an Indian tech guy assisting you either from Bangalore or California. Apart from asking the world to visit the Taj Mahal, India is also on a campaign of "Build in India" They have known/learnt that this is the only way to ignite competition in knowledge transfer. When Moi brought the first Mahindras I remember Kibaki remarking that the car couldn't even chase a goat, let alone a thief...well that was partly true but today's Mahindra can easily compete with Hyundai

I have hope though In young genuine leaders. Like Kinoti Gatobu

kayhara
#26 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 12:34:58 AM

Talking of printing paper, is it true we print exam papers and ballots abroad, if yes why? Don't we have firms with capacity to do this here, like nation or standard have printing capacity for exam papers
To Each His Own
#27 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 12:39:45 AM

kayhara wrote:
Talking of printing paper, is it true we print exam papers and ballots abroad, if yes why? Don't we have firms with capacity to do this here, like nation or standard have printing capacity for exam papers

We have firms.
But hey this is Kenya.The Kenya you and I understand all to well.

There was a thread here on buy Kenya build Kenya where I mentioned that a good number of Kenyans manufacture low quality products and price them highly!
The 'high' prices tagged on factors of production majorly labour and raw materials. Employees want to be paid so high while they steal from the factory. Suppliers quote high prices . We are a greedy lot, our appetite for money is too high...

Agreed. But on quality,House of Manji and Lyons maid have stood the test of time.

Kenyans are trying,but production costs and lack of market fail to motivate.Add the high taxes and one is likely to consume their own goods to keep the brand in the market.

Analyse the supermarket shelves and you will discover that locally made products cost more.Being the Kenyans that we are,cheap not quality sells.
If Kenyans don't buy Kenya why bother manufacturing.

#28 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 1:43:02 AM

kayhara wrote:

We have firms.
But hey this is Kenya.The Kenya you and I understand all to well.

Agreed. But on quality,House of Manji and Lyons maid have stood the test of time.

Kenyans are trying,but production costs and lack of market fail to motivate.Add the high taxes and one is likely to consume their own goods to keep the brand in the market.

Analyse the supermarket shelves and you will discover that locally made products cost more.Being the Kenyans that we are,cheap not quality sells.
If Kenyans don't buy Kenya why bother manufacturing.

The market is there, selling is the problem
#29 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 1:12:24 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre

on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture

But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers?

Or we could ask, how does a country lose its competitive edge? So far, going by most sentiments I see here, we're unaware of how economics has changed and how we need to adapt to the challenges of globalization.

I see you trying to draw the "its cheaper to produce it elsewhere" line. But look at it this way, China imports timber from West Africa to produce the paper in bulk (taking advantage of economies of scale) then distribute it to the rest of the world. Now lets look at the economy, the person who is cutting and supplying that timber from West Africa is probably Chinese, the ship ferrying has employed Chinese, the receivers at the port, the company that extracts the paper, the byproducts all remain in China to be distributed, the only jobs we create here are the kazi ya mkono, those who will import the paper, the clearing & forwarding guys and those printing & publishing. I might not be wrong if I said those are just 100 jobs.

If you are wondering why China is experiencing a slow down, its mainly because, America started taking its jobs back. We have to start bringing jobs back, sell Pan paper and ignore the western politics noise and yes more and more power is needed.

As for the toothpick vibe from sunny bindra, hizo toothpick hazichongwi na mkono, import that machine not the end product.

Last, Brand Kenya should stop usurping Kenya tourism Boards job and focus on selling Brand Kenya to Kenyans. And that means selling "MADE IN KENYA" running programming that shows people the benefits of buying Kenyan as opposed to that popcorn from South Africa or some Arabic packaged cooking oils.

Did you see some sch asking kids to go with a metallic bucket from INDIA?

@murchr you this psychologist/philosopher pops in to confuse and throw people off balance... Anyway. This this hit me and we were discussing with friends.

What say you about the carcinogenic wheelbarrows as compared to those wheelbarrows in Gikomba? If we continued producing blankets in rivatex are you saying the quality would have been the same? Are you saying that the challenges Unilever got in producing Kimbo are different from what Bidco encountered? What about Kinuthia of Nice and Lovely? Didn't he operate in the same environment/country that the Unilever were on?

Multinationals are out to make money, thats why they choose to close operations in environments where profits are minimal. In the Unilever case, they will choose to operate in Egypt and import. I hope L'oreal is not planning to do that with Kinuthias Nice and lovely

After selling Nice and Lovely to the French for billions he is now manufacturing Diapers and Sanitary towels locally. I believe his is the only one locally manufacturing Diapers and all other brands are imported Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
#30 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 2:18:56 PM

For the first time I'm going to agree with murchr

I see a lot of guys always asking what can I do with my 1m and the answer is always buy shares, buy kaburoti. No one has ever given the advise buy a toothpick machine from china and sell toothpicks in all bars in Kenya.

The question using the above analogy then is where do I get bamboo for this? If you visit the so called farming websites online you shall find a topic like grow bamboo for profit. Each time someone asks "where is the market?" Buy the toothpick machine from china and then contract these bamboo farmers, then visit each and every butchery in Kenya. You won't need a sales team to succeed.

You have to wonder. Is it a lack of entreprenuership in the country? Lack of marketers? A lot of business people will confess to you that the most difficult department to fill in their companies is that of a marketer or salesperson. It's nearly impossible. So if the small business person can't fill the position what about the gov't of employed cronies. Tembea Kenya by Maina Kageni is an exception. But lets be honest, when you see him travelling with those gas guzzlers, a lot of people are intimidated thinking they also have to have a gas guzzler. Compare that to travel sites in the US that use simple bloggers to market their areas.

Manufacturing is being killed by all these taxes that no one can understand. accounting practices that mama mboga has no clue about. Marketing courses that are made to stupify rather than bring out the zen in a marketer. I had the misfortune of being told by a leading "digital marketer" that their online marketing plan consists of buying ads in Facebook and Ads in Google. As in use the most expensive mode of advertsing for a small business.

I don't know the answer to this question but unless we have a mind shift, we shall next buy cookies from China. How can we buy bananas from Uganda with all the land in Meru that produces exceptional bananas. If del monte leaves we shall be importing pineapples too.

I refuse to believe that there is a lack of market in Kenya. Did anyone just see a Pizza Hut opposite UON?

We just don't know how to sell our stuff. We also hire the worst managers to run organisations. Instead of hiring professionals, we hire my cousin who did a course in IT. If journalist schools are now producing such websites as Mpasho, Nairobi News, sijui standard sd what, etc. Places where spelling mistakes are taken as dictionaries and grammar is too expensive, how are we going to sustain a manufacturing environment?

We have accepted mediocre as normal. Manufacturing shall never thrive in such an environment.

Having said that, I hope a young guy takes up the toothpick challenge.

#31 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 3:05:26 PM

I see a lot of guys always asking what can I do with my 1m and the answer is always buy shares, buy kaburoti. No one has ever given the advise buy a toothpick machine from china and sell toothpicks in all bars in Kenya.

The question using the above analogy then is where do I get bamboo for this? If you visit the so called farming websites online you shall find a topic like grow bamboo for profit. Each time someone asks "where is the market?" Buy the toothpick machine from china and then contract these bamboo farmers, then visit each and every butchery in Kenya. You won't need a sales team to succeed.

You have to wonder. Is it a lack of entreprenuership in the country? Lack of marketers? A lot of business people will confess to you that the most difficult department to fill in their companies is that of a marketer or salesperson. It's nearly impossible. So if the small business person can't fill the position what about the gov't of employed cronies. Tembea Kenya by Maina Kageni is an exception. But lets be honest, when you see him travelling with those gas guzzlers, a lot of people are intimidated thinking they also have to have a gas guzzler. Compare that to travel sites in the US that use simple bloggers to market their areas.

Manufacturing is being killed by all these taxes that no one can understand. accounting practices that mama mboga has no clue about. Marketing courses that are made to stupify rather than bring out the zen in a marketer. I had the misfortune of being told by a leading "digital marketer" that their online marketing plan consists of buying ads in Facebook and Ads in Google. As in use the most expensive mode of advertsing for a small business.

I don't know the answer to this question but unless we have a mind shift, we shall next buy cookies from China. How can we buy bananas from Uganda with all the land in Meru that produces exceptional bananas. If del monte leaves we shall be importing pineapples too.

I refuse to believe that there is a lack of market in Kenya. Did anyone just see a Pizza Hut opposite UON?

We just don't know how to sell our stuff. We also hire the worst managers to run organisations. Instead of hiring professionals, we hire my cousin who did a course in IT. If journalist schools are now producing such websites as Mpasho, Nairobi News, sijui standard sd what, etc. Places where spelling mistakes are taken as dictionaries and grammar is too expensive, how are we going to sustain a manufacturing environment?

We have accepted mediocre as normal. Manufacturing shall never thrive in such an environment.

Why import a toothpick machine when we subsidized impunity's education to study engineering?
#32 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 3:23:46 PM

Why import a toothpick machine when we subsidized impunity's education to study engineering?

Very well said @alma, our idea of marketers and sales people is yellow women who have no skills.

Swenani, our engineers are not trained to innovate or create, the profession has become a club where invitation is by which sch you went to. Don't expect anything from that kind of environment.

Now that Kinuthia is making diapers and sanitary pads, stuff that has become essential, isn't it time the GOK taxed the foreign stuff to build the local capacity?
kiash
#33 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 6:08:56 PM

If you had a choice between a doctor whose degree was obtained from the University of Leeds (sijui kama they offer medicine course) and a doctor from Chiromo Campus which one do you choose?
An architect from UON to design your house or a UK trained architect, which one do you choose?
A civil engineer from MIT or a civil engineer from UON whcih one do you choose?

Most of the people will go for foreign trained specialists because they doubt the Locally trained specialists. We still talk of half baked graduates in Kenya. The same applies to manufacturing. People will go for foregin products because they doubt the Kenyan quality.
Research and developement.

I will quote Mutua , in Kenya we are very good at writing reports the put them in the shelves to gather dust.We are not good at implementing.
#34 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 7:55:39 PM

Laughing out loudly but the audit firms and the banks made it sexy to have engineers looking at receipts and counting money - can't blame @impunity for dumping his welding tools.
#35 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 8:42:30 PM

kiash wrote:
If you had a choice between a doctor whose degree was obtained from the University of Leeds (sijui kama they offer medicine course) and a doctor from Chiromo Campus which one do you choose?
An architect from UON to design your house or a UK trained architect, which one do you choose?
A civil engineer from MIT or a civil engineer from UON whcih one do you choose?

Most of the people will go for foreign trained specialists because they doubt the Locally trained specialists. We still talk of half baked graduates in Kenya. The same applies to manufacturing. People will go for foregin products because they doubt the Kenyan quality.
Research and developement.

I will quote Mutua , in Kenya we are very good at writing reports the put them in the shelves to gather dust.We are not good at implementing.

That was a quoteby lucky dube(RIP)when performing in south africa and talking about peace
limanika
#36 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 9:25:34 PM

Rich countries have from time immemorial used ‘Standards’ to go around the matter of ‘free trade’. Hence, a pump or genset manufacturer with headquarters in say Germany is forced to open ‘local’ factories in most other European countries, since every country has its own ‘add-ons’ to the basic standard that you’ve to meet. In US, most building products must meet LEED standards hence locking out overseas products. Only in Africa we don’t know how to ‘legally’ protect our industries. We don't have standards
kayhara
#37 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 9:43:50 PM

limanika wrote:

Rich countries have from time immemorial used ‘Standards’ to go around the matter of ‘free trade’. Hence, a pump or genset manufacturer with headquarters in say Germany is forced to open ‘local’ factories in most other European countries, since every country has its own ‘add-ons’ to the basic standard that you’ve to meet. In US, most building products must meet LEED standards hence locking out overseas products. Only in Africa we don’t know how to ‘legally’ protect our industries. We don't have standards

True Kenya does not have standards for anything even our building code is the UK one you find that's why our road designs and towns don't factor in things like matatu stages what we have are afterthoughts, where there are stages it is so badly placed that no matatus use them
To Each His Own
#38 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2016 1:23:18 AM

The way to support and encourage local manufacturing is to buy local products. Esp ladies because they control the household budget.

True, let's stop excuses, there is always a local brand available. Let's start here!
#39 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2016 10:52:08 AM

read my footer!! it explains it all!
#40 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2016 11:17:23 AM