Investor
Stocks
Prediction: NSE Index will be sub 2,000 by year's end.
@nan - I prefer solutions not lamentations hence my rhetorical questions to your earlier post..
@all ...Just to illustrate this (bottom phobia)..as the market continuously slid,some waited patiently for Equity at Ksh. 40(?),I patiently bought 'a little' at under Ksh. 95/=..as others patiently wait for KCB at Ksh. 9/=,I've 'patiently' waited and bought 'a little' at Ksh. 15.10/=/. As we all patiently wait (for the opposite directions) in the examples given,remember double digit inflation is also ravaging your local resources wherever they sit. No one is advocating for indiscriminate buying,just prudent investment.
Investing is not a popularity contest,never has been for contrarians.
there is lots of cash around,that is fearful of returning to the NSE until things are sorted,i assume the government can take advantage? The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie. The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
Tusker B’ridi. I believe we can end this debate at this point. Anything further will be repeating stuff that has already been said. I notice that others want to get in their nine licks too. Here is my closing summary: You predicted that the global economic crisis will come to Kenya,causing all manner of problems including a collapse of the NSE and the Kenya shilling. I disagreed. Kenya may be facing a crisis but it is one of government and institutional incompetence,not a global economic collapse. In fact things should start looking up with recovery of the agricultural sector,the bedrock of our economy. In short our economic crisis is ending,not starting,unless we screw things up politically. On this I am willing to bet you a crate of cold tusker,to be delivered at a place of your choosing in December of 2009 by which time it will be clear who was right or wrong. We also digressed into all manner of interesting by ways but we can agree to shelve these for another day. The important point is this: on your prediction,you are wrong and if you use it to act on your short term investment decisions you are likely to lose money. Of course if you are a speculator that is another story. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
@Tusker Baridi,your case in presented on three key events set to occur by December 2009:
Significant secondary effect of the global recession as evidenced in huge budgetary deficit Collapse of the shilling Civil unrest
I think the third,which in my view is the most dramatic,will not occur. Why?
The most vicious warlords on opposing sides now are part of the government,intent on remaining there and have partnered up. Mr Ruto and his warriors have basically ganged up with a certain Mr Deputy Prime Minister to form an alliance for the next election. Their communities will out of mutual interest co-exist. The epicentre of the PEV bloodbath,Rift Valley will be neutralised. Nyanza,Coast and Western Province have nothing to hack about. Street demos at their height during PEV did nothing to rattle the state. It won't change. We made noise about MPs not paying tax,tulido? Campus has since been neutralised,true? The main political actors mentioned in the infamous Waki report are now the joint leading contenders for the next election. Their party troops are rallying around this fact to defeat anything that can remotely jeopardise their chances. The key beneficiaries of their political downfall i.e. Mr Raila & Ms Karua lack the numbers to cause anarchy over this not to mention they are intent on doing something close to a good job in government. The constitution process in well underway and by all indications will be subjected to a referendum next year. ONLY agreed upon content is going to be subjected to the referendum. The civil society cannot invoke the Saba Saba rallying calls.
It started bad this year but unless you've more to go on,yes,the country is obviously lacking leadership but that is not enough this year to cause anarchy in my view.
Points 1 and 2 are what I'd consider further in this discussion.
Wakanyugi,lets agree to dissagree. About your bet,I'll be home in dec so please dont conveniently dissapear coz I'll hold you up to your bet.
Ecstacy,what I see happening will not be political unrest,it will be more like class warfare. The vicious warlords may have united but its all for nothing if their troops know that the union serves the warlords self interest rather than the foot soldiers interests.
What I see happenning is that the poor will revolt against the rich,and this transcends any political affiliations. The RV warriors,Kibera thugs and the Mungikis will see through the hypocricy of their so-called leaders.
The biggest timebomb in Kenya right now is the high number of idle and unemployed youths,mix that with further economic hardship and we got ourselves a classic class warfare. Damn politics,these youths want unga first.
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/owdtr1z/-/index.html
The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie. The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
Excellent discussion people!!!
@Wakanyugi
They said we would have rain this week. Today Nairobi feels like Lokichogio. Taking the worst case scenario where the rains fail or are inadequate this year,what should we brace ourselves for??
@Tusker Baridi
Where do you see the Kenya Shilling versus the dollar in June 2009 and in December 2009?
Weusi wa nywele za mshtakiwa zaonyesha ujinga alio nao
I can see the NSE going below 2,000 but it will very slow coz the main drivers are already so lowly priced that lower prices will be very difficult to reach. Example,Safcom at 3.00 will devalue at a slower rate than a 300 share a unit. As for the global crisis,its not about losing food,its about losing value of shares and paper value for houses going down. Kenya with its producer goods will be hardly affected,infact i agree with Wakanyugi's analysis and think Tusker baridi is way overeacting. And be very careful before going for the $,the US govt is buying treasury bonds from the market,the effect; - raise interest rates so as to loosen up the credit market - devalue the $ and make made in america cheap I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
The NSE maybe correlated with Western markets; that is it tends to rise and fall as they do. After all the small crowd that play on this arena get the information on which they base their buy and sell decisions from the same sources - Internet,CNN,Bloomberg,CNBC,BBC etc - that Western investors do. But the Kenyan economy is not. Why? First because it is not reliant on the same kind of information. Mama mboga does not need the media or SK for tips on where/when to buy sukuma wiki. Secondly the fundamentals of the Kenyan and developed world economies are too different. For instance: - Reliance on agriculture – Kenya 80%,US 1% - Dependence on exports – Kenya under 20%,China over70% - Size of informal economy as a percentage of the whole – Kenya 80%,US 5% - Proportion of Kenyan households that own shares,less than 1%,US more than 60% etc When we argue that the NSE will fall because the NYSE has,we may be right. But if we extend that argument to say that the Kenyan economy will fall for the same reasons we are comparing two incompatible variables (my oranges and bananas metaphor). My final proof is Equity Bank. Why is the price of this share so poorly correlated with general Market movements on the NSE? The fact that they have been on a surprisingly good run the past few years does not explain this low beta value,as many have pointed out. Neither can we point to the brilliance of Dr Mwangi and co. He may be smart but success in one industry,one bank,does not make a trend. So what is the answer? Luck? Here is my theory: The Equity model of banking the poor,makes it the only company that is truly plugged into the real Kenyan economy. Its performance reflects that of the majority in the country – whose impact is not captured by the other companies on the NSE that cater to an elite,mostly urban clientele. In other words if Peasantkenya is doing well,Equity is likely to do well. I expect Safaricom to show a similar pattern in a few years time. This is my last on this Subject. Tusker B,start saving now for my crate of cold tusker. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Wakanyugi you're all over the map here,and what's with starting to save for a crate of cold tusker,kwani how much is a crate of tusker these days. And how about we throw in a mbuzi as well.
Tusker B. You don't get off that easy. Say where you fult my logic and then we can talk. Otherwise I would prefer to move on. About the cost of a crate of tusker - I am sure you can afford one. But you might find one crate growing to quite a few. I believe a lot of folks on SK will want to come and witness the voluble Tusker Baridi chewing on his own (very many) words. So,let us throw in a goat too - you will need the choma to wipe away the taste of crow. Have a good weekend. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
I had actually vowed never to visit in Kenya until the end of 2013 PEV,but looks like general kiguoya might not make it till then,so maybe tutaonana after 2010 PEV or the World Cup,whichever comes first. I will have a long layover in Kenya on my way to SA World Cup. Warriors are always peaceful during World Cup as everyone observes an unwritten ceasefire during the games.
watch the trees and not the forest...I think it will be a great year for those who have been and are approaching the NSE that way...
As indicated earlier,investing is not a popularity contest,never has been for contrarians.This year has it for the contrarians who bought into value at the 2009 lows. NSE nowhere headed to sub-2,000 points this year. @Tusker Baridi come through with that crate and mbuzi for Wakanyugi unless you still think your bet will hold. Wakanyugi count me in on that mburii if TB is good for his word It is looking good going into 2010.
@ TB for getting it this wrong you deserve an award and a tshirt.
...ili iwe funzo!
Did Tb ever get any of his predictions right? 2007,it was NSE to close below 4,000. Ng'o. Na sasa '09 tutafunga 3,200 www.mjengakenya.blogspot.comSehemu ndio nyumba
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
IF the NSE survived the 2008 chaos which was the lowest point this country has ever gone since the colonial era,then 2010 would just be a walk in the park. Due to the expected tourist boom ahead of the 2010 world cup,the completion of some of the goverments ambitious projects like part of thika road,fibre optic cable and the integration of EAC,the economy of this country is only headed up not down. you can achive all things through Him(Jesus Christ) '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
Investor
Stocks
Prediction: NSE Index will be sub 2,000 by year's end.