wazua Fri, Apr 17, 2026

Goat herding
oltome
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 26, 2016 1:40:03 PM

Kili wrote:
I have cross bred 150 galla does with kalahari red.Galla weighs 30-40 kgs while the kalahari weighs 100-120.First generation should give me some interesting mbuzis as I upgrade my way to exclusive fullblood kalaharis

Good stuff Applause where did you get the Kalahari goat given it's predominantly found in S.Africa? Also distinguishing the Galla goat from the common East African goat can be quite tricky
oltome
#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 26, 2016 1:44:27 PM

Galla goat has some very tasty nyama. Was thinking of venturing into this too though using leased land.

Kumbe we are many goat enthusiasts in the closet!mtu alete Guka sasa i am sure he is pretty knowledgeable. Hii Kalahari ulionja wapi? I am looking for its buck
#13 Posted : Tuesday, January 26, 2016 1:47:08 PM

oltome wrote:
Kili wrote:
I have cross bred 150 galla does with kalahari red.Galla weighs 30-40 kgs while the kalahari weighs 100-120.First generation should give me some interesting mbuzis as I upgrade my way to exclusive fullblood kalaharis

Good stuff Applause where did you get the Kalahari goat given it's predominantly found in S.Africa? Also distinguishing the Galla goat from the common East African goat can be quite tricky

convex at the rear for Galla
oltome
#14 Posted : Tuesday, January 26, 2016 2:30:48 PM

oltome wrote:
Kili wrote:

convex at the rear for Galla

True, and to add on, black nose, long prickled ears,black skin on tail and black skin on the knees
majimaji
#15 Posted : Tuesday, January 26, 2016 2:54:03 PM

oltome wrote:
Kili wrote:

@ Kili, I have some somali/galla goat (i hear the name galla is derogatory for the Orma ). where can i get the kalahari?
Kili
#16 Posted : Tuesday, January 26, 2016 10:25:05 PM

I believe the biggest difference between galla and the small e.a goat (commonly known as kienyeji)is size & taste.When you put the 2 together the kienyeji ones look like kids to the galla.@oltome,majimaji,I got some kalahari bucks & semen from RSA.Definate advantage of Kalahari,boer & savanna is fast growth rate.The kienyeji ones will attain dead weight of 7-8 kgs in 24 months. Imagine slaughtering a superior breed/cross @ 6 months @ 60 kgs per animal @ 400 per kg.
majimaji
#17 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 8:29:44 AM

Kili wrote:
I believe the biggest difference between galla and the small e.a goat (commonly known as kienyeji)is size & taste.When you put the 2 together the kienyeji ones look like kids to the galla.@oltome,majimaji,I got some kalahari bucks & semen from RSA.Definate advantage of Kalahari,boer & savanna is fast growth rate.The kienyeji ones will attain dead weight of 7-8 kgs in 24 months. Imagine slaughtering a superior breed/cross @ 6 months @ 60 kgs per animal @ 400 per kg.

@Kili, Can I buy from you either buck or doe?
majimaji
#18 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 8:33:10 AM

Kili wrote:

@Kili, Can I buy from you either buck or doe?
#19 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 2:04:57 PM

Kili wrote:

could you consider selling a couple of the galla and the kalahari?
#20 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 2:45:24 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Kili wrote:

could you consider selling a couple of the galla and the kalahari?

Galla is available in many places including Baba Dogo, Nrb