Culture
Form One Selection 2015
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:You'd think since we are so digitally correct, these selections would be done by some comp. Since the kiddos selected their preferred schools, and the schs have a cut off point eg 400 an easy - "IF - THEN - ELSE-" code can do this and save the gov so much in allowances that are paid to these teachers.
exception - what if all the national schools that a kid selected are filled up by kids with slightly higher marks, does the program pick another national school at random or does it fall back to the county school selected. the parameters passed can quickly complicate that simplicity. I may need some education on how many schools a child picks. But from what the CS and PS said....that kids got the schools that they chose/selected. Which has been proved to be wrong. So by default, the kid who misses out on his/her first selection, should land the second selection that they took that is what a "IF ..THEN...ELSE STATEMENT DOES... PS: I DONT KNOW HOW ITS DONE THESE DAYS, WHEN I DID MINE I SELECTED 3 OR MORE SCHOOLS. in plain english, the statement fed to the program should read " IF'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 400 THEN ('Alliance High' 2012301) ELSE { IF 'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 350 THEN ('Nyeri High' 201235450) ELSE { IF 'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 250 THEN ('Ndunduri High' 201256801) ELSE 'Join Polytechnic END IF; NB Syntax not observed. Hehehe, parameters ni mingi - school capacity, affirmative action ... you may get a scenario where all the national schools a kid selected are filled up by kids with 401, then they are placed in the county school, then the parents will make noise as to why the bright kid failed to be admitted to a national schhool. Parameters can be set capacity can be set quota can be set yes but the tricky part is how to handle the exceptions, the current scenario mimicks your logic above, but then the logic results in cases where kids who scored more than 400 marks are being locked out of national schools because say for national school selection, Code: IF kids marks is greater or equal to 410 THEN //load national school selecion list FOR each school in kids selection list BEGIN IF current capacity < max capacity and affirmative action is met THEN weka mtoto huko ongeza capacity END IF END FOR END IF
there is a possibility that 'weka mtoto huko' might not be executed, and you have a scenario where a kid with more than the national school cut of marks misses being placed in one, which is angering lots of people. now we need to make the system intelligent enough to determine which is the next best national school for the kid, outside their choices - or if the kid would prefer the top selection in county schools instead. or just do away with kids selecting schools and randomly place them anywhere.
limanika wrote:This thing is complete sham, the intentions may have been good but clearly someone did not think through ...and if you go ahead to ban ranking of sec schools, then why ask the kcpe candidates to rank their choices in the first place? because there are other preferences like, distance, location, extra curricular activities a school is good at ... that might make a kid choose one school over the other. Lakini kuna hii kitu ya distribution of the resources equitably, I believe in the constitution that has necessitated a re-look at the affirmative action, which might see kids with supposedly low marks getting places in the national schools ahead of others with higher marks.
The road map of a childs education should start early PRIVATE PRIMARY SCHOOL should lead to PRIVATE SECONDARY SCHOOL then then in uni TAKE A PARALLEL COURSE I don't know why its taking too long for you to see. Formative action is very important. Let the government give "wings to fly" to all the needy kids out there. How can you compare a student in lopoding primary school in turkana who got 350 and a student in makini who got 405 marks .no rocket science needed to know which kid is smarter of the two. Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:You'd think since we are so digitally correct, these selections would be done by some comp. Since the kiddos selected their preferred schools, and the schs have a cut off point eg 400 an easy - "IF - THEN - ELSE-" code can do this and save the gov so much in allowances that are paid to these teachers.
exception - what if all the national schools that a kid selected are filled up by kids with slightly higher marks, does the program pick another national school at random or does it fall back to the county school selected. the parameters passed can quickly complicate that simplicity. I may need some education on how many schools a child picks. But from what the CS and PS said....that kids got the schools that they chose/selected. Which has been proved to be wrong. So by default, the kid who misses out on his/her first selection, should land the second selection that they took that is what a "IF ..THEN...ELSE STATEMENT DOES... PS: I DONT KNOW HOW ITS DONE THESE DAYS, WHEN I DID MINE I SELECTED 3 OR MORE SCHOOLS. in plain english, the statement fed to the program should read " IF'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 400 THEN ('Alliance High' 2012301) ELSE { IF 'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 350 THEN ('Nyeri High' 201235450) ELSE { IF 'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 250 THEN ('Ndunduri High' 201256801) ELSE 'Join Polytechnic END IF; NB Syntax not observed. Hehehe, parameters ni mingi - school capacity, affirmative action ... you may get a scenario where all the national schools a kid selected are filled up by kids with 401, then they are placed in the county school, then the parents will make noise as to why the bright kid failed to be admitted to a national schhool. Parameters can be set capacity can be set quota can be set yes but the tricky part is how to handle the exceptions, the current scenario mimicks your logic above, but then the logic results in cases where kids who scored more than 400 marks are being locked out of national schools because say for national school selection, Code: IF kids marks is greater or equal to 410 THEN //load national school selecion list FOR each school in kids selection list BEGIN IF current capacity < max capacity and affirmative action is met THEN weka mtoto huko ongeza capacity END IF END FOR END IF
there is a possibility that 'weka mtoto huko' might not be executed, and you have a scenario where a kid with more than the national school cut of marks misses being placed in one, which is angering lots of people. now we need to make the system intelligent enough to determine which is the next best national school for the kid, outside their choices - or if the kid would prefer the top selection in county schools instead. or just do away with kids selecting schools and randomly place them anywhere. Lets dice this thing out kidogo. We are assuming 1. That every kid that does KCPE did a selection of 3 schools (assuming we have National, County and Sub county schools). 2. That each kid should be placed to their school of choice. (otherwise what is the high sch selection for) 3. That each national sch assigns a certain quota for the marginalized counties. With that, if Alliance wants kids who scored >/410 50% from Public schools and 25% from private the other 25% for the marginalized that is easily possible. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
It appears the 25% rule was applied not just in national schools but also extra county and county. Only in district schools it didn't apply. That's why kids with over 390 from private schools could only secure in the districts...I think private schools will eventually die, naturally
murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:You'd think since we are so digitally correct, these selections would be done by some comp. Since the kiddos selected their preferred schools, and the schs have a cut off point eg 400 an easy - "IF - THEN - ELSE-" code can do this and save the gov so much in allowances that are paid to these teachers.
there is a possibility that 'weka mtoto huko' might not be executed, and you have a scenario where a kid with more than the national school cut of marks misses being placed in one, which is angering lots of people. now we need to make the system intelligent enough to determine which is the next best national school for the kid, outside their choices - or if the kid would prefer the top selection in county schools instead. or just do away with kids selecting schools and randomly place them anywhere. Lets dice this thing out kidogo. We are assuming 1. That every kid that does KCPE did a selection of 3 schools (assuming we have National, County and Sub county schools). 2. That each kid should be placed to their school of choice. (otherwise what is the high sch selection for) 3. That each national sch assigns a certain quota for the marginalized counties. With that, if Alliance wants kids who scored >/410 50% from Public schools and 25% from private the other 25% for the marginalized that is easily possible. True, and as I mentioned that is the current scenario which is easily achievable since we are dealing with defined parameters, but the exception I am making out of the current situation is where a kid who has achieved the cut of marks for the national schools and yet the system fails to place her in a national school, that is a bug that is hard to sort out in the current set up and its making some people very angry.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
mpobiz wrote:How can you compare a student in lopoding primary school in turkana who got 350 and a student in makini who got 405 marks .no rocket science needed to know which kid is smarter of the two. Silly statement... Life is short. Live passionately.
nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:You'd think since we are so digitally correct, these selections would be done by some comp. Since the kiddos selected their preferred schools, and the schs have a cut off point eg 400 an easy - "IF - THEN - ELSE-" code can do this and save the gov so much in allowances that are paid to these teachers.
there is a possibility that 'weka mtoto huko' might not be executed, and you have a scenario where a kid with more than the national school cut of marks misses being placed in one, which is angering lots of people. now we need to make the system intelligent enough to determine which is the next best national school for the kid, outside their choices - or if the kid would prefer the top selection in county schools instead. or just do away with kids selecting schools and randomly place them anywhere. Lets dice this thing out kidogo. We are assuming 1. That every kid that does KCPE did a selection of 3 schools (assuming we have National, County and Sub county schools). 2. That each kid should be placed to their school of choice. (otherwise what is the high sch selection for) 3. That each national sch assigns a certain quota for the marginalized counties. With that, if Alliance wants kids who scored >/410 50% from Public schools and 25% from private the other 25% for the marginalized that is easily possible. True, and as I mentioned that is the current scenario which is easily achievable since we are dealing with defined parameters, but the exception I am making out of the current situation is where a kid who has achieved the cut of marks for the national schools and yet the system fails to place her in a national school, that is a bug that is hard to sort out in the current set up and its making some people very angry. If a kid fails to get the national school of choice then they should get the 2nd choice...county high sch "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
This selection stinks. And it is not just private school kids. My friend's daughter - who was in a rural public school in Central - scored 400 and was selected to join Loreto Kiambu (not Limuru), which is just so-so. A girl who scored 378, and who was from the same school will be going to Precious Blood Riruta. My friend's girl had Riruta as her 1st choice. It does not make any sense.
If, as Kaimenyi says, “The government's intention is to make all secondary schools operate at the same level so that we end this belief that there are inferior and superior schools,” then what is the point of doing a national exam? Why not go majimbo all the way then, American style?
I'll give them one thing, there will be bribery left, right ...
sparkly wrote:mpobiz wrote:How can you compare a student in lopoding primary school in turkana who got 350 and a student in makini who got 405 marks .no rocket science needed to know which kid is smarter of the two. Silly statement... That is a very true statement @sparkly.... the question should be how to make lopoding primary quality close the gap with makini.... then this drama will somehow end... And these private entrepreneurs... why cant they invest in secondary schools as well? where do they think the students from public primary schools will go to? When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
Torio wrote:This selection stinks. And it is not just private school kids. My friend's daughter - who was in a rural public school in Central - scored 400 and was selected to join Loreto Kiambu (not Limuru), which is just so-so. A girl who scored 378, and who was from the same school will be going to Precious Blood Riruta. My friend's girl had Riruta as her 1st choice. It does not make any sense.
If, as Kaimenyi says, “The government's intention is to make all secondary schools operate at the same level so that we end this belief that there are inferior and superior schools,” then what is the point of doing a national exam? Why not go majimbo all the way then, American style?
I'll give them one thing, there will be bribery left, right ... You are new to wazua right? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
The other major issue is that GOK altered allocation criteria long after candidates had made selections, selection which they did expecting the old system to apply. If we 5K candidates had over 400, there is no logical reason why they could not all secure places in national schools, which had 20K vacancies. The same applies to county schools. It did not help matters that candidates selected only the top schools like alliance. I think if GOK can come up with a well thought guide for candidates when picking schools, this problem could end. Why not ask candidates to select 5 options for national schools for instance? Distribution of County schools also does not match with population. There are counties with 500k pax but have more county schools than nrb for instance.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
Looking at the sampled children in today's newspaper, I think the problem is that candidates and their guardians are not properly advised on how to make effective choices. How does one choose Alliance, Maranda, Lenana and Maseno? All these are highly competitive schools.
If you miss Alliance with your 407marks, you will find that by the time they try to place you in Maranda, it is already filled by those who chose it as first choice. Same for Lenana, Maseno and ALL other national schools and competitive county ones.
So, you'll be left out! The only thing the ministry can do is place you anywhere else there is a space.
People must learn that CHOICES HAVE CONSEQUENCES!
chiaroscuro wrote:Looking at the sampled children in today's newspaper, I think the problem is that candidates and their guardians are not properly advised on how to make effective choices. How does one choose Alliance, Maranda, Lenana and Maseno? All these are highly competitive schools.
If you miss Alliance with your 407marks, you will find that by the time they try to place you in Maranda, it is already filled by those who chose it as first choice. Same for Lenana, Maseno and ALL other national schools and competitive county ones.
So, you'll be left out! The only thing the ministry can do is place you anywhere else there is a space.
GoK still carries most of the blame. Were they expecting kids to know that allocation criteria will change? I think kids should select schools online after results are out, with second chances for revision, like university selections
Swenani wrote:Torio wrote:This selection stinks. And it is not just private school kids. My friend's daughter - who was in a rural public school in Central - scored 400 and was selected to join Loreto Kiambu (not Limuru), which is just so-so. A girl who scored 378, and who was from the same school will be going to Precious Blood Riruta. My friend's girl had Riruta as her 1st choice. It does not make any sense.
I'll give them one thing, there will be bribery left, right ... You are new to wazua right? , pole kwake - but I thought both schools are extra county schools so at the same level.
limanika wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:Looking at the sampled children in today's newspaper, I think the problem is that candidates and their guardians are not properly advised on how to make effective choices. How does one choose Alliance, Maranda, Lenana and Maseno? All these are highly competitive schools.
GoK still carries most of the blame. Were they expecting kids to know that allocation criteria will change? I think kids should select schools online after results are out, with second chances for revision, like university selections The criteria has always been like that, just that competition for places has increased especially for certain schools. the ministry does not randomly place a kid in a national school they did not choose, so asipopata the choice national that are relegated to the level below.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 6/23/2011 Posts: 1,740 Location: Nairobi
The issue here is even Kaimenyi does not know how to run an education system and he is the one calling the shots this way and that way and the other issue is creating a system that benefits the well connected and make the corrupt rich.
Discuss this in detail.
Torio wrote:This selection stinks. And it is not just private school kids. My friend's daughter - who was in a rural public school in Central - scored 400 and was selected to join Loreto Kiambu (not Limuru), which is just so-so. A girl who scored 378, and who was from the same school will be going to Precious Blood Riruta. My friend's girl had Riruta as her 1st choice. It does not make any sense.
I'll give them one thing, there will be bribery left, right ... This process is a total sham!!! Mentioning affirmative action and all that stuff is just aimed at confusing Kenyans. I know of a similar case. Two boys in the same school chose the same National school as their first choice. Both perform very well. The one with lower marks is admitted to the school but the one with higher marks is not!!! Hii ni mademoni gani??? The parent is totally pissed off. Visits all possible offices and is given bullshit Keter - like stories. The parent is sent from office to office to the school itself until he gives up. In the end he just shows them the middle finger and looks for another school. The kid is crushed! His dream school. The one he was competing with his friend to join. He beat the friend, the friend was admitted and he was not! Try explaining that to him. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
limanika wrote:chiaroscuro wrote:Looking at the sampled children in today's newspaper, I think the problem is that candidates and their guardians are not properly advised on how to make effective choices. How does one choose Alliance, Maranda, Lenana and Maseno? All these are highly competitive schools.
GoK still carries most of the blame. Were they expecting kids to know that allocation criteria will change? I think kids should select schools online after results are out, with second chances for revision, like university selections People hardly want to take responsibility for their own actions, they want to shift the blame to some one else. And the faceless "government" makes for easy picking! This system has been in use since I was in school 36 years ago! The only thing that has changed is that now there are more national schools and provincial schools are no more! Those days [19, I chose Mangu and Lenana knowing quite well that I had little chance of getting in - I wasn't the brightest in my class, let alone my district! Then I chose Chania and Njiiri for provincial - again knowing that I was unlikely to get Njiiri because it was a highly competitive "top performer" Chania was my dream school [for being the only school with a swimming pool in the whole district!] and Mangu was my parents' dream school! Lenan and Njiiri were entered just to fill up space! My parents and I knew I wouldn't make it there because of the selection system. Eventually, I scored 31 points out of a possible 36 in CPE [without the 'K'!] and ended up in my dream school - Chania. Spent one year in the pool and grew out of swimming and concentrated on studies! ================= The problem today is that, people [parents and teachers alike] do not take time to understand the system and the advice the children accordingly. We are too busy making deals on the stock market that we forget our parental duties!
And another thing: pupils are NOT selected to join secondary schools; they CHOOSE schools of their choice. If you don't make it to your chosen schools, the ministry posts you where there is space!
Culture
Form One Selection 2015