KCPE 2014 Results Out Today!
#21 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 4:01:34 PM

Pedes wrote:
quicksand wrote:
muganda wrote:
Need for patience because...

Sometimes, things are just what they seem. In this case probably a lazy systems admin failing to do his/her work to keep the site up in times of high traffic like now. If each and every pupil (~889,000 of them) were to check results via SMS, that would be less than Kshs 25 million in revenue, hardly the sort of money that would make Safaricom stoop to such dastardly levels as to collude with KNEC to keep systems down, its like doing chokora like hustles with very bad and probable downsides for 15 bob d'oh! .....but what do I know....

That KNEC Systems admin always chooses this time of the year to be lazy, ama ni phombe induced?

ni ile kitu ya jaggernut.
#22 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 4:27:24 PM

Sober wrote:
Results released. Strictly no ranking. All did well and are winners.

With no ranking, now what is the sweetness of announcing the results?

Makini can now merge Makini A and B. Their 22 best performing pupils were always registered as Makini A so the school could shine on a day like this one. The other 200 were registered in B and always had average performance.

Gilgil Academy, Gilgil Primary, Gilgil Day School, Gilgil Girls, Gilgil School....
#23 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 5:36:13 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Sober wrote:

Makini can now merge Makini A and B. Their 22 best performing pupils were always registered as Makini A so the school could shine on a day like this one. The other 200 were registered in B and always had average performance.

Gilgil Academy, Gilgil Primary, Gilgil Day School, Gilgil Girls, Gilgil School....

I think they will buy space in the media to advertise the scores
#24 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 5:44:16 PM

Euge wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Sober wrote:

I think they would rather use that money to reverse the policy.

#25 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 5:50:33 PM

quicksand wrote:
muganda wrote:
Need for patience because...

Sometimes, things are just what they seem. In this case probably a lazy systems admin failing to do his/her work to keep the site up in times of high traffic like now. If each and every pupil (~889,000 of them) were to check results via SMS, that would be less than Kshs 25 million in revenue, hardly the sort of money that would make Safaricom stoop to such dastardly levels as to collude with KNEC to keep systems down, its like doing chokora like hustles with very bad and probable downsides for 15 bob d'oh! .....but what do I know....

I don't know if they do that, but you should not look at organizations in totality, but as kidogo units - if you have short code targets for any telcom company then you will salivate at such an amount - and when the mouth waters an the tummy growls then the brain is forced to come up with ways of drying the mouth and silencing the stomach.

lakini the last time I looked into that biashara, the short codes belonged to third party companies that got the deal from knec for the sms/results system.

The 'chokoras' grab part from cars, to supply some decent middle men business guys, who make some decent profit from the sales - though the figures involved for each part would make you wonder why one would go through all the troubles.
but again, what do I know smile
#26 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 5:54:34 PM

Euge wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Sober wrote:

I think they would rather use that money to reverse the policy.

smile the policy has been a life line to some academies, free massive marketing pap - lakini sasa its back to the dirty hard marketing work of selling their institutions.
Hope that ranking biashara goes away kabisa.
#27 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 7:13:45 PM

Mama Makini has spoken with bitterness saying that Countries are ranked according to their gdp's and that Jesus ranked us according to faith.
Insists that Makini is King of the jungle and ranks are ok! smh bad air.

#28 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 7:47:34 PM

Mama Makini has spoken with bitterness saying that Countries are ranked according to their gdp's and that Jesus ranked us according to faith.

SAY WHAT!!!!
I knew the private schools and the media would fight that policy! The schools for obvious reasons, the media for lack of NEWS

#29 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 8:38:32 PM

SAY WHAT!!!!
I knew the private schools and the media would fight that policy! The schools for obvious reasons, the media for lack of NEWS

I see the folks at nation doing their best to sell some papers
Girls dominate top positions in KCPE exams in Coast schools

its nice to appreciate top performance, I am sure the kids work hard for that - but at the national level, for 12/13 year olds where the conditions and resources available to the students are vastly disproportionate. I say let the celebration/ranking happen at the school level.
#30 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 8:46:17 PM

SAY WHAT!!!!

Point!
#31 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 9:50:43 PM

Sober wrote:

Sweeping the fact that public schools are performing horribly under the carpet.

Government needs to rethink the public school model.
#32 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 10:57:45 PM

so KNUT is also vexed by this decision ? What's their interest?
#33 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 12:25:10 AM

Euge wrote:

SAY WHAT!!!!

Point!

and

Sourcing for information. They badly wan to know who is Number 1! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

westkate
#34 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 9:34:33 AM

my child got 160 marks she have repeated twice in class 7 and now thats the result. am in a dilema what to do with this teen girl of 13years of age. it seems masomo imekataa kuigia . guys advice .
#35 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 9:48:40 AM

westkate wrote:
my child got 160 marks she have repeated twice in class 7 and now thats the result. am in a dilema what to do with this teen girl of 13years of age. it seems masomo imekataa kuigia . guys advice .

What is she good at outside class? Take her to a technical school. She could learn valuable life skills that would make all the difference in her life.
Mtafiti
#36 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 9:50:58 AM

westkate wrote:

Your mistake if you enrolled her for class one at the age of 5. Why the hurry? My take:

1. Throw her back to class 6.
2. Dress making
3. Try a small business and if all these fail
4. Marry her off.
westkate
#37 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 10:02:58 AM

@MUTAFITI ARE You sure about your option. option 4 unless you propose her what kind of a wife can an under age be. option 3 bussiness are you kinding,
i need serious advice and this is not a joke .everyone parent out there might be in the same situation
#38 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 10:08:33 AM

Mtafiti wrote:
[quote=westkate]my child got 160 marks she have repeated twice in class 7 and now thats the result. am in a dilema what to do with this teen girl of 13years of age. it seems masomo imekataa kuigia . guys advice .

Your mistake if you enrolled her for class one at the age of 5. Why the hurry? My take:

2. Dress making
4. Marry her off.[/quote]

This is sound advice. 99% sound, 1% advice.
Mtafiti
#39 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 10:49:55 AM

westkate wrote:
@MUTAFITI ARE You sure about your option. option 4 unless you propose her what kind of a wife can an under age be. option 3 bussiness are you kinding,
i need serious advice and this is not a joke .everyone parent out there might be in the same situation

Option 1, she will redo kcpe at 16. If she doesn't satisfy you, option 2 for about 2 years and if it fails, start a biz at 18 say for two years and if she doesn't make it, option 4 pap! What is wrong with that? My statement was " if all these fail". Ni kyau naku?

#40 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 10:50:15 AM

Euge wrote:
Mtafiti wrote:
[quote=westkate]my child got 160 marks she have repeated twice in class 7 and now thats the result. am in a dilema what to do with this teen girl of 13years of age. it seems masomo imekataa kuigia . guys advice .

2. Dress making
4. Marry her off.[/quote]

This is sound advice. 99% sound, 1% advice.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly As in pang'ang'a?