wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Kenya's Engineering Quality wanting
#21 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 1:41:41 PM

These boards, these standards are about mass production emanating from a center. But this can't be the natural order of things. Nature has so much variety that those who can, should do.
Muriel
#22 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 2:04:46 PM

These boards, these standards are about mass production emanating from a center. But this can't be the natural order of things. Nature has so much variety that those who can, should do.

These boards.

The other day there was this Kenyan who was flaunting his academic papers for the public, sijui masters, sijui thesis, sijui what. Obiero, I think was his name. Of course some more pragmatic member of the public challenged him to describe what he has done with those papers.

Until we move from pride, 'recognition' of labels and certificates, those who can will be encumbered by those who talk. An upsetting of the 'natural law'.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 5:11:59 PM

Why are our usual Wazua Engineers not commenting here?

You should know peoplesmile smile But one usual has not. We all know why.
Ericsson
#24 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 5:22:06 PM

EBK is a bunch of old school guys from University of Nairobi who are trying to protect their turf.
Is EBK telling us that UoN has the best facilities for engineering.No I don't think so.UoN is an old institution and therefore you would expect it to have old and outdated equipments.JKUAT which was established recently under the guidance of the Japanese has better equipment and facilities and even the courses ERB is disputing were established under the guidance of the Japanese before they left.
The candidates produced were competitive and better qualified for emerging opportunities and technology.
Thus when the likes of private institutions in the 21st century like Airtel,Safaricom,Ericsson,Huawei opened offices in kenya most of the employees they took were graduates from JKUAT.This didn't go well with the old schools from UoN and through EBK they are now fighting this.
The private institutions have ignored EBK since they don't see any meaningful contribution from it leading to EBK to start throwing tantrums like what we recently seen.
Ask anyone on the streets where do the best engineers in kenya come from and you will get the answer.
I was using JKUAT here as an example.
The EBK guys have arm twisted parastatls not to take graduates who are not registered under EBK but the multinationals and private institutions are paying the "unqualified engineers according to EBK"way much much better than parastatals.
Give me a road that has been built by a registered EBK engineer that lasted and withstood the heavy rains that normally pound the country.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#25 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 5:41:36 PM

True dat @Ericsson, and this cuts across board in almost all courses not only engineering
#26 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 6:11:21 PM

You mean impunity cannot even weld a door properly?
Ngong
#27 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 9:30:04 PM

You mean impunity cannot even weld a door properly?

hahaha, same person,did computers maybe he is busy designing std one tablets
Ngong
#28 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 9:35:50 PM

True dat @Ericsson, and this cuts across board in almost all courses not only engineering

True for JKUAT the Japanese started by recruiting lectures from the national polys this made the training more hands on.
#29 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 9:52:33 PM

No need to waste time engaging househelps' brains!

#30 Posted : Thursday, November 13, 2014 7:54:33 AM

Ericsson wrote:
EBK is a bunch of old school guys from University of Nairobi who are trying to protect their turf.
Is EBK telling us that UoN has the best facilities for engineering.No I don't think so.UoN is an old institution and therefore you would expect it to have old and outdated equipments.That's the best fallacy I've come across lately. They may have old outdated equipments because the dean and the institutional leadership has no vision or is not committed to oneJKUAT which was established recently under the guidance of the Japanese has better equipment and facilities and even the courses ERB is disputing were established under the guidance of the Japanese before they left.
The candidates produced were competitive and better qualified for emerging opportunities and technology.
Thus when the likes of private institutions in the 21st century like Airtel,Safaricom,Ericsson,Huawei opened offices in kenya most of the employees they took were graduates from JKUAT.This didn't go well with the old schools from UoN and through EBK they are now fighting this.
The private institutions have ignored EBK since they don't see any meaningful contribution from it leading to EBK to start throwing tantrums like what we recently seen.
Ask anyone on the streets where do the best engineers in kenya come from and you will get the answer.
The EBK guys have arm twisted parastatls not to take graduates who are not registered under EBK but the multinationals and private institutions are paying the "unqualified engineers according to EBK"way much much better than parastatals.
Give me a road that has been built by a registered EBK engineer that lasted and withstood the heavy rains that normally pound the country. [color=green]This is where i have a beef with them. leave the roads which by the way, chinese came and used our own local materials to build.... most of the machines we have in the industry (farm machinery, juakali hotel equipment etc) have been invented by either diploma graduates or school drop-outs.... Show me one innovation changing lives made by a UoN graduate then we can talk/color]

#31 Posted : Thursday, November 13, 2014 8:45:52 AM

Sawa bwana welder – this is noted!!!!!!!!
Kihara joni
#32 Posted : Thursday, November 13, 2014 9:56:06 AM

I have always asked myself why the engineers body is never involved in any major Kenyan projects, even when a building collapses it's usually the AAK that usually gives a statement while an engineer is supposed to tell us what happened.
#33 Posted : Thursday, November 13, 2014 10:22:51 AM

@Ericsson, partly I agree with you. The private institutions, multinationals and even some companies partly owned by GoK have always dismissed the EBK which is a bunch of idlers as many have indicated. I have realized that it is only Civil Engineers and to a small extent Mechanical Engineers who burn the mid night oil trying to be part of the EBK!!!!

However you should only dismiss UoN ENG after you visit them, no need being a JKUAT graduand and thus insisting that UoN ENG is old. The industry thinks differently. By the way most UoN ENG lecturers also teach at JKUAT and vice versa.
#34 Posted : Thursday, November 13, 2014 9:36:37 PM

Sawa bwana welder – this is noted!!!!!!!!

iko mtu ameguswa!
Ericsson
#35 Posted : Friday, November 14, 2014 8:31:25 AM

@McReggae
You didn't understand my first statement.
I said EBK is biased towards UoN and saying they don't recognise engineering from the other universities especially the recent or new ones.
Didn't dismiss UoN.The issue of lecturers I fully agree so don't see the reason why deny a course a lecturer teaches at one university and accept the same course at the other university
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#36 Posted : Friday, November 14, 2014 9:53:45 AM

EBK should simply set Board certification exams (and refreshers) using international baselines for the various Engineering disciplines for anyone looking to join the Board. If a University is training competent Engineers, they should have no problems passing the Board exams.
After this, they can then say that to participate in say,...public infrastructure projects, one must be a Board Certified Engineer. They should leave private businesses and how Universities arrange the curricula to those entities.
Ngong
#37 Posted : Friday, November 14, 2014 10:58:53 AM

lecturing with notes made in 1969 is the trend!
bebeto
#38 Posted : Friday, November 14, 2014 12:09:26 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Is EBK telling us that UoN has the best facilities for engineering.No I don't think so.UoN is an old institution and therefore you would expect it to have old and outdated equipments.That's the best fallacy I've come across lately. They may have old outdated equipments because the dean and the institutional leadership has no vision or is not committed to oneJKUAT which was established recently under the guidance of the Japanese has better equipment and facilities and even the courses ERB is disputing were established under the guidance of the Japanese before they left.
Give me a road that has been built by a registered EBK engineer that lasted and withstood the heavy rains that normally pound the country. [color=green]This is where i have a beef with them. leave the roads which by the way, chinese came and used our own local materials to build.... most of the machines we have in the industry (farm machinery, juakali hotel equipment etc) have been invented by either diploma graduates or school drop-outs.... Show me one innovation changing lives made by a UoN graduate then we can talk/color]

Those "outdated equipment" are the ones used not only by UoN, but by engineers from Moi university and others to learn. Students make the trip to Uon and JKUAT in order to carry out the tests as well as acquainting themselves with the equipment because they dont have such in their institutions.
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
#39 Posted : Friday, November 14, 2014 12:28:42 PM

They say doctors bury their mistakes but engineers live with their's through out!!!!!
#40 Posted : Friday, November 14, 2014 12:33:51 PM

They say doctors bury their mistakes but engineers live with their's through out!!!!!

You might need to explain that to some wazuans