Culture
Of poor and lazy Agikuyu's kitchen skills
Now that of restaurants' one is never mukimo. The green you see is color, real mukimo will be some traditional leaves called nyeni. Then its boiled.
washiku wrote:Now that of restaurants' one is never mukimo. The green you see is color, real mukimo will be some traditional leaves called nyeni. Then its boiled. talking of nyeni,reminds me when i once took my cousin who had just reported to the city to a restaurant and he ordeded, "ngima na nyeni", you should have seen the waiters look.
Rank: Member Joined: 10/24/2009 Posts: 52 Location: Nairobi
Ok...thanks for this ,Its officially friday. wilyum wrote:washiku wrote:Now that of restaurants' one is never mukimo. The green you see is color, real mukimo will be some traditional leaves called nyeni. Then its boiled. talking of nyeni,reminds me when i once took my cousin who had just reported to the city to a restaurant and he ordeded, "ngima na nyeni", you should have seen the waiters look. Take care of the penny & the shilling will take care of itself
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
you still here? let me order some serious mukimo for lunch.
kollabo wrote:I don't understand why Kikuyu's have to put carrots in everything.
In fish..add carrots & potatoes, in chicken...add carrots & potatoes. Carrots is like their traditional magic ingredient. Carrots not only provide the essential vitamins but also add 'colour'/garnish the food making it visually appealing.
kysse wrote:you still here? let me order some serious mukimo for lunch. Mimi sijaongea wala kunong'oneza chochote.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
Dangi wrote:Ok...thanks for this ,Its officially friday. wilyum wrote:washiku wrote:Now that of restaurants' one is never mukimo. The green you see is color, real mukimo will be some traditional leaves called nyeni. Then its boiled. talking of nyeni,reminds me when i once took my cousin who had just reported to the city to a restaurant and he ordeded, "ngima na nyeni", you should have seen the waiters look. Don't joke with lack of exposure or masomo. Mine opened a tea bag and poured the content in the Tea solution then went ahead to ask the waiters for a sieve. The akili ndogo in me advised me to walk out in shame and come back after the sieving exercise is over. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Githeri is also nice. Lots of protein (beans) and carbohydrates (maize). You only need to add some veges to make it balanced diet. You can even throw in some nyama.
For fear of recriminations I will not talk about the mix of rice,meat, potatoes, spinach, carrots (yes carrots), ndoma and cabbages served usually every day except bad chapati days. It usually looks like you have one big ugali in your plate. Woe unto you if you get served last and you have to taste that dark mix of the burnt sufuria. hiding. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Muriel wrote:kysse wrote:you still here? let me order some serious mukimo for lunch. Mimi sijaongea wala kunong'oneza chochote. I have already placed her order If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
alma wrote:For fear of recriminations I will not talk about the mix of rice,meat, potatoes, spinach, carrots (yes carrots), ndoma and cabbages served usually every day except bad chapati days. It usually looks like you have one big ugali in your plate. Woe unto you if you get served last and you have to taste that dark mix of the burnt sufuria. hiding. Pilau Njeri!!! Have any of you ever eaten "ngunja matu". Yaani, potatoes and greens and anything else possible put in a sufuria, boiled nicely then add unga and mix as if its ugali. Woooiiii...
alma wrote:For fear of recriminations I will not talk about the mix of rice,meat, potatoes, spinach, carrots (yes carrots), ndoma and cabbages served usually every day except bad chapati days. It usually looks like you have one big ugali in your plate. Woe unto you if you get served last and you have to taste that dark mix of the burnt sufuria. hiding. Dont even try to mix kikuyu-woman and chapati in one sentence, or even a whole paragraph! I know a kikuyu wife who COOKED (yes she cooked chapos instead of preparing them) and the results were thick and burnt things that tasted and looked much like dried cow dung! You know what, she threw out all the chapos before the huzzy came back from job, now the house was still smelling chapoz when the huzzy arrived...the huzzy asked where are the chapos...its a loooong story but it was ended with a landing; for the night! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:alma wrote:For fear of recriminations I will not talk about the mix of rice,meat, potatoes, spinach, carrots (yes carrots), ndoma and cabbages served usually every day except bad chapati days. It usually looks like you have one big ugali in your plate. Woe unto you if you get served last and you have to taste that dark mix of the burnt sufuria. hiding. Dont even try to mix kikuyu-woman and chapati in one sentence, or even a whole paragraph! I know a kikuyu wife who COOKED (yes she cooked chapos instead of preparing them) and the results were thick and burnt things that tasted and looked much like dried cow dung! You know what, she threw out all the chapos before the huzzy came back from job, now the house was still smelling chapoz when the huzzy arrived...the huzzy asked where are the chapos...its a loooong story but it was ended with a landing; for the night! When it comes to cooking Chapos wacha tuseme the problem is bigger than just Kikuyu women, most of our women don't know how to prepare chapos....infact the best i've taken zimepikwa na wanaume.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 1,063 Location: Kenya
washiku wrote:alma wrote:For fear of recriminations I will not talk about the mix of rice,meat, potatoes, spinach, carrots (yes carrots), ndoma and cabbages served usually every day except bad chapati days. It usually looks like you have one big ugali in your plate. Woe unto you if you get served last and you have to taste that dark mix of the burnt sufuria. hiding. Pilau Njeri!!! Have any of you ever eaten "ngunja matu". Yaani, potatoes and greens and anything else possible put in a sufuria, boiled nicely then add unga and mix as if its ugali. Woooiiii... Lol Nguja matu was one of our favourites back then. "The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
wilyum wrote:washiku wrote:Now that of restaurants' one is never mukimo. The green you see is color, real mukimo will be some traditional leaves called nyeni. Then its boiled. talking of nyeni,reminds me when i once took my cousin who had just reported to the city to a restaurant and he ordeded, " ngima na nyeni", you should have seen the waiters look. Where is the like button
TAZ wrote:Impunity wrote:alma wrote:For fear of recriminations I will not talk about the mix of rice,meat, potatoes, spinach, carrots (yes carrots), ndoma and cabbages served usually every day except bad chapati days. It usually looks like you have one big ugali in your plate. Woe unto you if you get served last and you have to taste that dark mix of the burnt sufuria. hiding. Dont even try to mix kikuyu-woman and chapati in one sentence, or even a whole paragraph! I know a kikuyu wife who COOKED (yes she cooked chapos instead of preparing them) and the results were thick and burnt things that tasted and looked much like dried cow dung! You know what, she threw out all the chapos before the huzzy came back from job, now the house was still smelling chapoz when the huzzy arrived...the huzzy asked where are the chapos...its a loooong story but it was ended with a landing; for the night! When it comes to cooking Chapos wacha tuseme the problem is bigger than just Kikuyu women, most of our women don't know how to prepare chapos....infact the best i've taken zimepikwa na wanaume. I cant agree more, but kikuyu women are lead from the back in this field. I pity Kikuyu husbands! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Which chapos are we talking about? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
jaggernaut wrote:kollabo wrote:I don't understand why Kikuyu's have to put carrots in everything.
In fish..add carrots & potatoes, in chicken...add carrots & potatoes. Carrots is like their traditional magic ingredient. Carrots not only provide the essential vitamins but also add 'colour'/garnish the food making it visually appealing not if they are overcooked! Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
Culture
Of poor and lazy Agikuyu's kitchen skills