Wazua lawyers and medical doctors, saidieni hapa.

Can a friend of mine have two separate medical insurance at the same time and claim independently from each of them?

For instance if she have an APA cover of max. 1.5 million and Equihealth cover of 2.2 million and she have a medical cost of say 4.1 million can she get (1.5+2.2) = 3.7 million to help her offset her bill?

d'oh! d'oh!

Yes she can, happens every other day.

Sound great, do you know a friend who has done the same successfully?

Imagine paying premium of say 50K per year each for three insurance companies then you can claim maximum inpatient in the region of 6 million!

150K translates to 6 million...sounds too good to be true.

d'oh! d'oh!

Fill the forms for Insurance A and then simply monitor the costs and know when to fill forms for Insurance B, there is no problem so long as you don't claim the same cost from both insurances!!!

Suppose they discover its a claim for the same patient and same sickness?
Si watacollude and quote some references in terms and condition?

They can't so long as premiums are being promptly paid for all the covers, nakuambia this happens all the time, hapa hamna shida!!!

A part from AON minet insurance company ya Man-U which other 4 companies do you think are recognized globally and will not bring machida-chida na payment while someone is stuck huko kwa kina @kiash?

Boss kwani unapanga fraud? Heritage is all over Africa and they also support treatment abroad!!!

Your insurer is heritage? Have you heard about UAP? Can it be accepted mayuu?

#siofraud!.

Very few local companies if any cover treatment when you go to kwa kina Kiash.However my boss is covered by BUPA INTERNATIONAL CORE COVER Worldwide Medical Cover as he travels frequently and I hear it is one of the good international covers.

bupa is tops. but very expensive. premiums of thousands of usd.

On that note I suppose the claims are also in 10s of million of USD!

#22 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 6:13:34 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Wazua lawyers and medical doctors, saidieni hapa.

Can a friend of mine have two separate medical insurance at the same time and claim independently from each of them?

For instance if she have an APA cover of max. 1.5 million and Equihealth cover of 2.2 million and she have a medical cost of say 4.1 million can she get (1.5+2.2) = 3.7 million to help her offset her bill?

d'oh! d'oh!

Yes she can, happens every other day.

Sound great, do you know a friend who has done the same successfully?

Imagine paying premium of say 50K per year each for three insurance companies then you can claim maximum inpatient in the region of 6 million!

150K translates to 6 million...sounds too good to be true.

d'oh! d'oh!

Fill the forms for Insurance A and then simply monitor the costs and know when to fill forms for Insurance B, there is no problem so long as you don't claim the same cost from both insurances!!!

Suppose they discover its a claim for the same patient and same sickness?
Si watacollude and quote some references in terms and condition?

They can't so long as premiums are being promptly paid for all the covers, nakuambia this happens all the time, hapa hamna shida!!!

A part from AON minet insurance company ya Man-U which other 4 companies do you think are recognized globally and will not bring machida-chida na payment while someone is stuck huko kwa kina @kiash?

Boss kwani unapanga fraud? Heritage is all over Africa and they also support treatment abroad!!!

Your insurer is heritage? Have you heard about UAP? Can it be accepted mayuu?

#siofraud!.

Very few local companies if any cover treatment when you go to kwa kina Kiash.However my boss is covered by BUPA INTERNATIONAL CORE COVER Worldwide Medical Cover as he travels frequently and I hear it is one of the good international covers.

bupa is tops. but very expensive. premiums of thousands of usd.

On that note I suppose the claims are also in 10s of million of USD!

don't know about now and the maximum but received a quatation a couple of years back and they had cover limits of usd 1.5 and 2m. the limits were quoted in usd, gbp and euros and the currency in which you pay your premiums is the one used for any claims.
#23 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 6:27:45 PM

@McReggae what is the premium you pay at Heritage?

d'oh! d'oh!

Bykhovets
#24 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 6:52:49 PM

Are you sure you guys have given the right advice?

Or do this...

You take a shared cover (inpatient) for 3 million with one insurance company with your wife as a dependant.

Then your wife takes a shared cover for 3 million with another insurance company with you as a dependant.

Premiums for both should be around 200k a year and both of you will be covered for 6 million inpatient.

If you can set aside 2 million in liquid cash at all times, then you don't need insurance for healthcare.

These insurance companies will always eat into your cover with unnecessary consultations, tests and drugs or they will find a loophole that allows them not to pay e.g. pre-existing conditions, maternity less that 12 months into the cover, newborn conditions etc. Hospitals don't usually employ these predatory tactics if you are paying in cash.
"Occasionally I drop a tea cup to shatter on the floor. On purpose. I am not satisfied when it does not gather itself up again. Someday perhaps that cup will come together."
#25 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 7:29:19 PM

Bykhovets wrote:

Or do this...

You take a shared cover (inpatient) for 3 million with one insurance company with your wife as a dependant.

Then your wife takes a shared cover for 3 million with another insurance company with you as a dependant.

Premiums for both should be around 200k a year and both of you will be covered for 6 million inpatient.

If you can set aside 2 million in liquid cash at all times, then you don't need insurance for healthcare.

These insurance companies will always eat into your cover with unnecessary consultations, tests and drugs or they will find a loophole that allows them not to pay e.g. pre-existing conditions, maternity less that 12 months into the cover, newborn conditions etc. Hospitals don't usually employ these predatory tactics if you are paying in cash.

target1360
#26 Posted : Sunday, July 27, 2014 9:24:45 PM

the two should contribute proportionally towards the settlement of the claim
I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
#27 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 7:58:48 AM

@fishmonger, how long does the reimbursement take?

So hawa kina APA sijui UAP cannot lipa nikikwama huko kwa kina @kiash? How sad!
:(

two weeks max, if you have correctly filled in the claims form and attached supporting documents
#28 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 8:01:57 AM

target1360 wrote:

Wewe hii sio property/car insurance, as long as the claim doesn't exceed the cover amount, you can claim from both;Am talking from experience
#29 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 2:20:49 PM

Please do kindly advice, thats why I first said wazua lawyers (@maka smile ) and doctors (@mukiri Liar )

target1360
#30 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 3:32:07 PM

target1360 wrote:

Wewe hii sio property/car insurance, as long as the claim doesn't exceed the cover amount, you can claim from both;Am talking from experience

@swenani medical is non life just like car insurance. The insured can claim from both but the total compensation shouldnt exceed the medical cost .
life and health are two different things
I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
#31 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 8:47:50 PM

target1360 wrote:

@swenani medical is non life just like car insurance. The insured can claim from both but the total compensation shouldnt exceed the medical cost .
life and health are two different things

I think that line sounds like what I wanted to hear, I still however need more similar assurance.

Applause