Wainadi
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2015 4:39:46 PM

Siringi wrote:

Is that the late Anyona?
Its all good.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2015 4:42:08 PM

Last year you guys cried about the santity of the day, Baba & team accepted and moved on. Tena what?
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2015 5:14:36 PM

Where was baba. I can't see him in any of the pikshas. Seems he hijacked the "fight for democracy" from the real owners.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2015 5:15:41 PM

I nolstagically remember this day...I had just taken a meal of ugali and matumbo in burma market. As i was crossing through kamukunji ground after briefly listening to Bamahriz, on my way to cbd through gikomba, the real hell came to breakfast! I don't remember much about kamukunji as I was at the centre of where the action started...Gikomba! Those red berets emerged from nowhere and soon the area around the gikomba post office was full of gsu lorries and infantry. They made sure that nobody left and came into Gikomba and the same was happening in Kamukunji as I understood later. The normal hide and seek games began and the full scale "war" ensued crushing of heads and legs by massive burtons wielded by well fed red eyed gsu personnel...more crushing of bodies by stones...whew, it was total organised chaos.
To cut a long story short I made sure that I was not going to be a POW. I was saved by the karioko muslim cemetry and Nairobi River(yuk! Being as dirty, black and dense as it was)...
Alba
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2015 10:27:41 PM

Where was baba. I can't see him in any of the pikshas. Seems he hijacked the "fight for democracy" from the real owners.

Go and seek out reliable sources of Kenya's history with regard to the struggle for democracy. Find out which people were detained without trial and who spent the most time in detention. The thread opener has provided a good list that you can use as a starting point.

Find out who were the people who have literally put their neck on the line starting during the Jomo Kenyatta era. Read about people like Pio Gama Pinto. Saba saba was the clulmination of work started by Pinto and Oginga Odinga back in the 1960s. Then came others like JM, Seroney, Shikuku, Raila, Adungosi, Muliro, Matiba, Rubia, Koigi, et al.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2015 11:37:59 AM

Alba wrote:

Go and seek out reliable sources of Kenya's history with regard to the struggle for democracy. Find out which people were detained without trial and who spent the most time in detention. The thread opener has provided a good list that you can use as a starting point.

Find out who were the people who have literally put their neck on the line starting during the Jomo Kenyatta era. Read about people like Pio Gama Pinto. Saba saba was the clulmination of work started by Pinto and Oginga Odinga back in the 1960s. Then came others like JM, Seroney, Shikuku, Raila, Adungosi, Muliro, Matiba, Rubia, Koigi, et al.

People who were detained for participating in coups were lucky to escape with their lives

Babu was not part of Sabasaba 1990 but was part of 2014 Sabasaba
Muriel
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2015 11:46:18 AM

Siringi wrote:

Yaani not even a press conference?

Press conference iliisha pia kwa KBC. Vitu zimekwisha kwisha.
Alba
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2015 3:40:38 PM

People who were detained for participating in coups were lucky to escape with their lives

Babu was not part of Sabasaba 1990 but was part of 2014 Sabasaba

There is a lot of revisionist history and lies about the 1982 coup.

Back in 1982 RAO and several other lecturers from UoN such as Ali mazrui, Maina wa Kinyatti, Otieno Mak Onyango etc were detained and charged with treason. But the charges were dropped for lack of evidence. Only Maina wa Kinyatti was ever charged.

However RAO was detained for 8 years without charges. I suppose you think this is appropriate.

Why would Moi drop treason charges if the lecturers were directly involved ?
Dozens of UoN students were also arrested and accused of being involved including Musalia Mudavadi, his current aide Kibisu Kabatesi, governor Isaac Ruto, MP Shem Ochuodho, Wachira Waruru and a former mean Machine legend. I believe only Adungosi was ever charged though falsely.

It is indeed true that most of these lecturers and students supported the coup. I do not blame them. If I was them I would support the coup too. At the time, there was no democratic space in Kenya. You could not criticize the govt. If you did you would be detained without trial. It was like living in a gas chamber. People take this for granted now. But at the time, many felt that a coup was the only option.

But the lies and revisionist history of late makes it look like RAO was the brains behind the coup. This is laughable.

If you look at how poorly the coup was executed you immediately realize it was the work of a few air force junior privates. These people thought that taking over broadcasting house amounted to a coup.

Also Moi knew about the coup plot months in advance but he let it happen because he wanted to use it as an opportunity to crack down on dissidents and remove powerful politicians like Njonjo.

Moi knew because the coup plotters were actually going around Eastleigh airbase recruiting conspirators.
8 Pages<1234>»