Talk2Us
House rules on religious discussions.
Dear Members,
We appreciate your feedback thus far (including @McReggae's deleted post, @aemathenge's gloomy one, and @Swenani's hard truth). When all is said and done, it will be a journey we have all traveled together (sometimes imperfectly), with some benefit for each of us which makes it worthwhile.
I wonder to what extent converting of Culture, Health, Political, Sports, or Life post to a religious debate serves our collective good. Yet we're here to share and learn, and fundamentalism is the topic of the day.
Is there a better way?
The Wazua spirit
wazua wrote:Dear Members,
We appreciate your feedback thus far (including @McReggae's deleted post, @aemathenge's gloomy one, and @Swenani's hard truth). When all is said and done, it will be a journey we have all traveled together (sometimes imperfectly), with some benefit for each of us which makes it worthwhile.
I wonder to what extent converting of Culture, Health, Political, Sports, or Life post to a religious debate serves our collective good. Yet we're here to share and learn, and fundamentalism is the topic of the day.
Is there a better way?
The Wazua spirit
Hehehehe, kwani uliisoma? ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote: Hehehehe, kwani uliisoma?
@McReggae, hata mimi nimesoma, mbona umefuta? I honestly think the problem is restraint. Too much of anything becomes poisonus. There could be the issue of taking things abit too personally. I remember this post on SA man eating grass http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=27397, everyone was agreed it was ludicrous without South African's feeling insulted, Pastors feeling attacked etc.
The main religions (and atheism which is the belief in the man god) are fundamentalist. They believe they're right and every other belief system is wrong. Every devout follower of the faiths will believe the rest of the faiths are full of lost people. The not so devout and the confused believe in Universalism...ok some devout fellows are Universalist too! So let the discourse continue. The world is full of Universalists, but let the fundamentalists have their say too!!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Sir/Miss Admin ...the platform is inadequate feature-wise IMHO (or you have not found the link to do it). In other forums, offending posts are simply deleted and healthy debate continues
Is there a better way?
The Wazua spirit
and @tycho's celestial one.... waiting to see if this particular thread is turned into a 'religious' one... Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
In the spirit of Wazua, we are welcoming suggestions on house rules to govern our religious discussions.
So for example: 1. Is it okay to ridicule another's belief? 2. Is it okay to criticize extremes? 3. Is it fair to direct personal comments at individuals?
4. Is proselytizing allowed? 5. Should we have 'Siku ya Sermons' or 'Siku ya msikiti' or 'Siku ya temple' threads?
We welcome your comments. Please, let's put the personal insults and injuries aside in this thread.
The Wazua spirit
Is Islam finally being exposed too much? What happened to LINKwazua wrote:Dear Members,
If what's transpired in this thread... is christianity, then we are definitely anti-christianity; is islam, then we are definitely for war; is insight, then we are definitely for ignorance; is comradeship, then we are definitely for enmity; is the wazua spirit, then we are definitely 'madeemoni'.
The Wazua spirit
Unfettered biasness is your undoing! You created this monster. Moving forward, let there be one Muslim thread(where they can quote their hadithis and the rest learn from them) AND one Christian thread(where we can share sermons). Otherwise every other thread will be fair game, for the two radicals, to vent their frustrations.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Is there a better way?
The Wazua spirit
@MADIMONIselle - If you did not know - Religion is part of culture! it's a large part of culture as it informs your worldview! Even fundamentalism is an aspect of religion - so let people be! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
wachana na censorship. its a slippery slope. the pro and anti religious forces here always cancel each other out. the arguments here always run out of steam so hakuna kazi hapo. if someone is bold enough to bring their beliefs here, they should be bold enough to stomach criticism and insults from people who do not respect their god. unless their god is a bonoko, she or he does not need help to defend her or him. those who do not want to participate should just skip and continue with other discussions. people need to understand that every second, your religion or deity is publicly insulted somewhere in the world or the internet. will you spend your life scanning the internet to respond so your god's feelings are not hurt? Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
Is there a better way?
The Wazua spirit
There is as group of stakeholders that are not being consulted. These are the advertisers. Can I start a thread to find out their respective positions?
Mukiri wrote:wazua wrote:Dear Members,
In the spirit of Wazua, we are welcoming suggestions on house rules to govern our religious discussions.
So for example: 1. Is it okay to ridicule another's belief? 2. Is it okay to criticize extremes? 3. Is it fair to direct personal comments at individuals?
4. Is proselytizing allowed? 5. Should we have 'Siku ya Sermons' or 'Siku ya msikiti' or 'Siku ya temple' threads?
We welcome your comments. Please, let's put the personal insults and injuries aside in this thread.
The Wazua spirit
Is Islam finally being exposed too much? What happened to LINKwazua wrote:Dear Members,
If what's transpired in this thread... is christianity, then we are definitely anti-christianity; is islam, then we are definitely for war; is insight, then we are definitely for ignorance; is comradeship, then we are definitely for enmity; is the wazua spirit, then we are definitely 'madeemoni'.
The Wazua spirit
Unfettered biasness is your undoing! You created this monster. Moving forward, let there be one Muslim thread(where they can quote their hadithis and the rest learn from them) AND one Christian thread(where we can share sermons). Otherwise every other thread will be fair game, for the two radicals, to vent their frustrations. Agreed. Bila Kuingililiana. PS....@admin May be its me...but kind of feel that, however warranted, you have been a little overboard, killing the vibrancy of the forum. my one thought has always been..is it that you are incapacitated to delete offensive posts? I know it can be hard work to read every post...but pls pls pls..dont kill the forum in the name of moderation.
Rank: Member Joined: 8/7/2010 Posts: 728 Location: Wazuaville
extremists have to be called out for what they are fukced up nincompoops. by discussing extremism we help everybody separate wheat from chaff. it is a teachable moments for adherents of a faith to show that extremism is not the center of a faith but a periphery occupied by morons. every faith has extremism "Money never sleeps"
butterflyke wrote:wazua wrote:Dear Members,
Is there a better way?
The Wazua spirit
and @tycho's celestial one.... waiting to see if this particular thread is turned into a 'religious' one... and add more features. like private messaging. so that aphadoti and muriel can discuss religion in private; swenani can solicit for bread without exposing himself too much; and i can ask butterflyke where the hell she got her wazua name from.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
In my opinion I think religion is personal and I don't see the basis of discussing it in this forum. There are other forums eg churches and with more knowledgeable authorities on the subject. Here, this would be a forum for ridicule more than objectivity. So I don't see a need to discuss religion here. BBI will solve it :)
2012 niko na wewe hapo. LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
2012 wrote:In my opinion I think religion is personal and I don't see the basis of discussing it in this forum. There are other forums eg churches and with more knowledgeable authorities on the subject. Here, this would be a forum for ridicule more than objectivity. So I don't see a need to discuss religion here. Religion is personal, but what about wealth, knowledge, power. . . ? The problem, in my opinion, is that we often fail to have 'reasonable' propositions and arguments. By 'reasonable' I mean, 'capable, or amenable to logical exchange between or among any persons irrespective of belief systems'. It is a recognition of the commonality of Man, despite, and/or in favor of human diversity. This also holds when we consider our political 'conversations'. And it boils down to how we think, even within ourselves. We must always question how we think, and verify through a 'reasonability' process in conversation and other human relations.
tycho wrote:The problem, in my opinion, is that we often fail to have 'reasonable' propositions and arguments. By 'reasonable' I mean, 'capable, or amenable to logical exchange between or among any persons irrespective of belief systems'. It is a recognition of the commonality of Man, despite, and/or in favor of human diversity.
This also holds when we consider our political 'conversations'.
And it boils down to how we think, even within ourselves. We must always question how we think, and verify through a 'reasonability' process in conversation and other human relations.
In English please, if you do not mind.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
aemathenge wrote:tycho wrote:The problem, in my opinion, is that we often fail to have 'reasonable' propositions and arguments. By 'reasonable' I mean, 'capable, or amenable to logical exchange between or among any persons irrespective of belief systems'. It is a recognition of the commonality of Man, despite, and/or in favor of human diversity.
This also holds when we consider our political 'conversations'.
And it boils down to how we think, even within ourselves. We must always question how we think, and verify through a 'reasonability' process in conversation and other human relations.
In English please, if you do not mind. Humans can communicate truth to each other in conversation irrespective of their different subjective Worldviews, because there's a 'common denominator' of a most basic form of logic.
Eti we are looking for guided discussions.......it should be natural, anybody below your standard @wazua, fukuza yeye!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Gloomy indeed. Let us take this to the next level, shall we? To: customercare@jumia.co.keFrom: aemathenge@gmail.comDear Sir/Madam, RE. YOUR ADVERTS ON WAZUA.CO.KE Your adverts appear regularly posted right next to several threads at wazua.co.ke/ In view of the foregoing, please be so kind and clarify the following? 1. What is your official position on the contents of discussions at the site in regard to the type of content? 2. Do you have any arrangements with the administrator of the site to avoid or target certain threads, posts and or posters, having in mind that they may be politically, sexually, religiously and socially incorrect? 3. What is your opinion of my using your advertisement to advertise my own raunchy e-article by piggy backing on your advertisement? The article are: http://sokolangu.com/ebo...3-mini-dual-sim-3g.html and http://sokolangu.com/ebo...at-me-and-got-away.html
I seek the information in good faith and without any prejudice whatsoever. Kind regards. Aemathenge Mahe Goat
Talk2Us
House rules on religious discussions.