5 Pages<1234>»
Zuku fibre review
Kihara joni
#21 Posted : Saturday, May 17, 2014 4:26:48 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
I am using safaricom wimax 1mbps at 7k per month very fast I stream tv and youtube effortlessy,no downtime since installation 2years ago,pay via mpesa,nice and customer service

He's being conned....

Options..

Zuku 10mbps @ 4k
Faiba 5mbps @ 5k
Orange monthly unlimited speeds about 5mbps @ 3k

No I don't think so my friends on zuku always complaining of downtimes, Faiba not yet available in my area, tried the 4k access kenya bad experience, orange not consistent but on Saf I stream tv & radio, also tried onie gaming bliss, plus has anyone seen the connection charges?
bird_man
#22 Posted : Saturday, May 17, 2014 4:54:09 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
I am using safaricom wimax 1mbps at 7k per month very fast I stream tv and youtube effortlessy,no downtime since installation 2years ago,pay via mpesa,nice and customer service

He's being conned....

Options..

Zuku 10mbps @ 4k
Faiba 5mbps @ 5k

No I don't think so my friends on zuku always complaining of downtimes, Faiba not yet available in my area, tried the 4k access kenya bad experience, orange not consistent but on Saf I stream tv & radio, also tried onie gaming bliss, plus has anyone seen the connection charges?

Buy Orange...with the ka-wifi thingie & extend it within your house using a wireless router. 3K/month,high speeds & minimal complaints if Orange reception is good in your area.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 7:13:12 PM

657300 wrote:
Is the speedtest for Airtel? Airtel is a very crap network. And considering it is now going to host the new MVNO i.e,Equity, Tangaza and the other one, you can expect muuuuuuuuuuch less quality service from them.

Go Zuku. I'm on the R20. Upgraded. I hear they're also testing 50mbps speeds. Don't know how true that is but let's wait and see.

R20 means 20 Mbps down, You are getting only 12 Mbps, nearly half what you are paying for. I'm on R8, I get 7.5 Mbps down.
Kihara joni
#24 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 7:29:11 PM

Is anyone experiencing dropping quality on internet especially between 6pm-11pm ?
#25 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 9:14:40 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
Is anyone experiencing dropping quality on internet especially between 6pm-11pm ?

I've also been experiencing the same thing for a few days now. I know they had some beef with Seacom, but i think that was sorted. Customer care isn't saying anything that makes sense.

Even FB i can't log in. Speedtests are hitting between 9-11mbps but actual surfing is almost impossible.
#26 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 9:18:39 PM

657300 wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

I've also been experiencing the same thing for a few days now. I know they had some beef with Seacom, but i think that was sorted.

BoneCrusher
#27 Posted : Thursday, July 10, 2014 2:07:19 PM

Kihara joni wrote:

He's being conned....

Options..

Zuku 10mbps @ 4k
Faiba 5mbps @ 5k

I do agree, he's not being conned. I've been on most of them and they rank as below:

1. Jamii Faiba.
pros- fastest and best in Kenya
cons- too expensive (5k for shared 5Mbps, 15K for dedicated 6Mbps) , no tv, no phone, minimal coverage.

2. Safaricom Wimax (Internet Only)
pros- what you pay is what you get anytime everytime coz it's dedicated (512kbps = 512kbps, 1Mbps =1Mbps), wide coverage, very professional dealings.
cons- slightly expensive (7k for dedicated 1Mbps), no tv, no phone, long antennae needed if you dont stay in an apartment.

3. Zuku Fiber
pros- internet, tv and phone, relatively good coverage in most estates in Nairobi, fairly cheap from 3k for shared 1Mbps)
cons- inconsistent service availability, phones dont work mostly, horrible customer service, shared network usage (20 users in some areas, now doing 8 users in new installations and I hear 4 users is coming).

4.Orange 3G Unlimited and all the rest come below.
real cindano
#28 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 10:13:40 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
657300 wrote:
Is the speedtest for Airtel? Airtel is a very crap network. And considering it is now going to host the new MVNO i.e,Equity, Tangaza and the other one, you can expect muuuuuuuuuuch less quality service from them.

Go Zuku. I'm on the R20. Upgraded. I hear they're also testing 50mbps speeds. Don't know how true that is but let's wait and see.

R20 means 20 Mbps down, You are getting only 12 Mbps, nearly half what you are paying for. I'm on R8, I get 7.5 Mbps down.

Ha ha ha!
657300 you are being played!
Internet
#29 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 12:19:41 PM

Zuku has already launched 50MBPS in some areas. Please go to Zuku website to see if your area is applicable. The rates for 50 MBPS are the same as those for 20 MBPS. They have already installed a new modem for me, meaning 50 MBPS is coming soon for me.
#30 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 1:43:28 PM

Airtel Club 20
Get 100MB of data and 20 SMS to any network for only Ksh20 per day.
Club20 is ideal for social sites, chat and text.

Anybody tried it!!!

Internet
#31 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 9:21:11 AM

#32 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 9:25:38 AM

Airtel Club 20

Anybody tried it!!!

Safcom itatumaliza!!
#33 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 11:33:34 AM

Airtel Club 20

Anybody tried it!!!

Safcom itatumaliza!!

I mean...compare this... 20MB 20sms 24 HRS

I have Zuku in the house..But use alot of MBs on my phone... Want to switch to Airtel coz it looks like a good deal...will try it out today
Kihara joni
#34 Posted : Friday, July 18, 2014 7:21:37 PM

Airtel Club 20

Anybody tried it!!!

didn't believe this so I went out bought an airtel line bought the 100mb still online quite a deal this am all in.
#35 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 9:44:55 AM

zuku needs to up their game on the phone!!!!!! TV great, will be better when they get epl rights, internet fantastic for the price.
#36 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 1:09:17 PM

zuku is ok. but when its off you had better have the numbers of the tech guys on the ground......I've gone 4 days this week without internet. Simple problem, simple solution but their customer care in the office lied for 3 days about sending someone.

These companies need competition or we are all finished.

But when its up its ok. Just wish Jamii could be near here.
Matoe
#37 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 6:44:38 PM

Kihara joni wrote:

Airtel Club 20

Anybody tried it!!!

didn't believe this so I went out bought an airtel line bought the 100mb still online quite a deal this am all in.

I am on Airtel Club 20, this is what I use in my modem. No complains
D32
#38 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 7:14:58 AM

Got some good news regarding Fiber To The Home (FTTH).

Safaricom has just launched 5Mbps dedicated FTTH for KES 3000 pm, no connection fees, comes with a wifi router, 1st month free, they promise to have you running within 48hrs after applying.

There is only one big "but", the service is currently available in Nyayo Estate Embakassi.

Rollout to other hoods should take place soon.

This is more like it! Things in the Kenyan Internet landscape are taking shape! I'm already spending KES 3500 p/m on an inferior service, so migrating to the superior and cheaper service is a no brainer. Now it's just a matter of the service being available in my hood, or move.

You can read more about it here:

http://www.kahawatungu.com/2014...-nyayo-estate-embakassi/
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#39 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 8:28:46 AM

D32 wrote:

Safaricom has just launched 5Mbps dedicated FTTH for KES 3000 pm, no connection fees, comes with a wifi router, 1st month free, they promise to have you running within 48hrs after applying.

There is only one big "but", the service is currently available in Nyayo Estate Embakassi.

This is more like it! Things in the Kenyan Internet landscape are taking shape! I'm already spending KES 3500 p/m on an inferior service, so migrating to the superior and cheaper service is a no brainer. Now it's just a matter of the service being available in my hood, or move.

Social media is awash with slow speeds and unreliability of this product. I hope they are just teething problems.
On another score, while I appreciate fibre rollout, I'm really pissed of with each provider digging up our front garden while laying the cable. Wananchi started, we then replanted. Access followed, we replanted. Safaricom came, we replanted. Currently someone is digging up the place, I suspect it is Liquid. Can't all these providers agree and share one cable, or at worst dig up the place once and all lay their cables at the same time? Better still, why can't Kidero just lay the cable and lease it out to anyone who wants it?
D32
#40 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 9:13:51 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
D32 wrote:

Social media is awash with slow speeds and unreliability of this product. I hope they are just teething problems.
On another score, while I appreciate fibre rollout, I'm really pissed of with each provider digging up our front garden while laying the cable. Wananchi started, we then replanted. Access followed, we replanted. Safaricom came, we replanted. Currently someone is digging up the place, I suspect it is Liquid. Can't all these providers agree and share one cable, or at worst dig up the place once and all lay their cables at the same time? Better still, why can't Kidero just lay the cable and lease it out to anyone who wants it?

What are people saying about it? Links?
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.