We are mixing two things here.
First a cashless society which is a dream being that its not been achieved anywhere on this earth. It may also be a good thing.
The second is a gov't that wakes up and decides that on this date, no one will ever use cash again in a matatu.
The second is a sign of never having understood the problem with the first and is not a solution to anything especially any of the problems it pretends it wants to solve.
Just another way for a gov't to tax its citizens and also ensure that friends of gov't win tenders.
Hii ni serekali ya kusema na kutender kweli.
Now all Kenyans must have a digital tv, mpesa, a laptop and God knows whats next.
The work of gov't is to facilitate not to create another unworkable law that is meant to glorify muthamaki as digital. My grandmother doesn't carry her phone from home, does that mean she will never enter a matatu? Does it mean that all parents must buy each of their kids a phone and ensure it has mpesa in it? Is the gov't working in cohorts with banks to create monopolies?
This reminds me so much of Al Capone and the mafia. For you to operate in this area you must pay each bank 1% of your earnings. And its enforced by the gov't. Wow!