wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

Operation Fukuza Umaskini Mashinani- Please assist...
tassia
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 7:44:22 PM

@Washiku. This is great. The best way is to work backwards. First identify a product with a good market. Give priority to a product that is not seasonal. Once you identify the product, work backwards to ensure you meet a significant part of the demand. For horticulture, you need to be careful because it is also seasonal and even those companies that buy from farmers will not collect the produce when the demand in Europe is poor. However, I must say Homegrown was the best company to engage with (although I understand it was sold). They would would enter into a contract with farmers and they would collect your produce whether there was demand or not and their price was fairly good. However, they would only engage farmers with some level of financial muscle and those who would adhere to their quality guidelines. They would supply seeds, chemical and recover from sales proceeds and their agronomists would be available at no cost. If any company does this, I would greatly resolve the issue of financing.

I guess the best way to do is either starting your self or start with serious guys with some form of financial muscle. The others would join latter
#22 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 8:05:04 PM

This is a superb idea but your going about it backwards.

First identify what the problem is.

If the problem is that farmers can't get a good market and are being screwed by brokers, then start an NGO.

If the problem is that I'm eating horrible food whose source may be the remanants of kileleshwa toilets, then you are in business.

I do agree that getting 100 farmers to agree on anything is impossible. I know I have tried with just 20. All of a sudden you start being told about the witchcraft so and so is doing.

What I'd ask is...f*** the being nice to farmers thing. Be nice to the consumer.

It's the consumer who's going to make your business, not the farmer. In fact, if you had as much land as 10 farmers, you probably wouldn't think about the other farmers.

So what does the consumer want. Then you will be able to find the farmers who are willing to do their best to give the consumer what he needs and their's your market and your money.

It seems you have a decision to make. Being an NGO or a business.

I can give you a platform if you wish. I did it with the thought of being nice. Now its abandoned but let's see if we can't work out something.

So I offer my online marketing skills to your idea. Condition being you stop being nice to people who steal fuel from a tanker. Just think of the consumer first.
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 9:30:56 PM

I am humbled by your ideas guys. Sincerely appreciate. A few things coming out strongly
1. Numbers-Start small. You cant start with a coperative society as Mcreggae calls it.
2. Get a way of the people owning it. Sio NGO. Nkt.
3. Define the product clearly.
4. Start with the end in mind: Consumer.
5. The process: Its coming out clearly there cud be other ways of execution that cud be easier n better.

Nashukuru....
#24 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 9:54:17 PM

There are several companies that could offer the market for such eg Homegrown, Homegrown became Finlays long ago.-I bet they have now fully settled in Naivasha.

Finlays operate their own farms in Timau,Naivasha and somewhere else to serve their markets abroad.
They also use dudutech in their farms to avoid the use of chemicals as per the market requirements.

Most of these export companies don't source the market for growers.Their work is to ship what you bring to them,though it's good to know them because a buyer may place an inquiry for certain veges through them.

Just a tip, Avocadoes have huge market in the Middle East-dxb,kuwait,SA,France hata Norway! So if you come across an avocado farmer,I can link you with maersk line trainers who will teach them about the variety required for export and how to harvest them from the trees-very critical.

Not a bad idea.Just challenging
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 10:20:53 PM

10000 is more than enough to form a farmers co-operative society!

smhSad Some comments yawah! Omera, other than drinking and singing the fisherman's praises what are you(and him) doing to improve the livelihoods of the impoverished people back home?

@Musilent. Hatutaki matusi hapa. Sawa? ...and do you mean to say that @Reggae lover is a searial drinker or what?....and his people are impoverished...

I am not allowing you to.

Lets stick to the post please,
#26 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 10:28:41 PM

Am wrote:
10000 is more than enough to form a farmers co-operative society!

smhSad Some comments yawah! Omera, other than drinking and singing the fisherman's praises what are you(and him) doing to improve the livelihoods of the impoverished people back home?

@Musilent. Hatutaki matusi hapa. Sawa? ...and do you mean to say that @Reggae lover is a searial drinker or what?....and his people are impoverished...

I am not allowing you to.

Lets stick to the post please,

Applause Applause
#27 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 10:33:59 PM

There are several companies that could offer the market for such eg Homegrown, Homegrown became Finlays long ago.-I bet they have now fully settled in Naivasha.

Finlays operate their own farms in Timau,Naivasha and somewhere else to serve their markets abroad.
They also use dudutech in their farms to avoid the use of chemicals as per the market requirements.

Most of these export companies don't source the market for growers.Their work is to ship what you bring to them,though it's good to know them because a buyer may place an inquiry for certain veges through them.

Just a tip, Avocadoes have huge market in the Middle East-dxb,kuwait,SA,France hata Norway! So if you come across an avocado farmer,I can link you with maersk line trainers who will teach them about the variety required for export and how to harvest them from the trees-very critical.

@Waciku. The above red part is something you need to clarify with the exporter before anything else.

I do some bit of export farming and can assure you that you are wrong on above statement. Not to kill your dream though yah?

Yes, they may take what you bring, accept and export but do you want to sell your produce at 25/= per kilo when market dictates 65/=?

Greens Export market is dominated by Mhindi and some MEAN Mzungu, worse than a Nyerian!

There lies the problem.

If you look at my earlier post, I Insisted on negotiation (price) with exporters before putting farmers together and selling the idea to them. As soon as market is sorted, the rest is nyweeeeee.

Best.
#28 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 10:35:18 PM

@washiku, I like your idea. It's close to what KTDA does with Tea farmers. I was actually pondering over what we need to do to make rural Kenya more attractive. People are refusing to retire there. Electricity connection is not enough. Such ideas could reduce rural-urban migration. Guys leaving acres of land to a life of suffering in the city
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 10:46:15 PM

@washiku, I like your idea. It's close to what KTDA does with Tea farmers. I was actually pondering over what we need to do to make rural Kenya more attractive. People are refusing to retire there. Electricity connection is not enough. Such ideas could reduce rural-urban migration. Guys leaving acres of land to a life of suffering in the city

Na wewe Vile nakuonaga hata hauwezi karibia gishagi. smile smile
#30 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 2:26:14 PM

@Am, thank you. Your advise fits well with that of concentrating on the consumer first, knowing what the consumer needs, negotiate from that point, then source for the produce.

@Kysse, Thanks a lot. I think I will pursue that line.

@Lollest, Nashukuru. We need to come up with ideas to ensure these guys are utilizing the massive pieces of land lying idle.
#31 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 2:46:47 PM

Am wrote:

Na wewe Vile nakuonaga hata hauwezi karibia gishagi. smile smile

niko kama akina @kiash Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
tassia
#32 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 3:27:21 PM

Am wrote:

@Waciku. The above red part is something you need to clarify with the exporter before anything else.

I do some bit of export farming and can assure you that you are wrong on above statement. Not to kill your dream though yah?

Yes, they may take what you bring, accept and export but do you want to sell your produce at 25/= per kilo when market dictates 65/=?

Greens Export market is dominated by Mhindi and some MEAN Mzungu, worse than a Nyerian!

There lies the problem.

If you look at my earlier post, I Insisted on negotiation (price) with exporters before putting farmers together and selling the idea to them. As soon as market is sorted, the rest is nyweeeeee.

Best.

You write such a good post and spoil everything by making a negative statement about people who happened to be born from a particular area.

On another note, what is it that Mhindi and Mzungu have that others do not have? I find that for those businesses where extreme hardwork and lots of patience is required, Mhindi's have dominated. May be these are the things that we lack.

And by the way, please give us the breakdown of returns for avocado. May be this is the best place to start because I guess avocados requires very little labour and startup cost, although it might take long before the firt harvest.
#33 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 4:45:10 PM

tassia wrote:
Am wrote:

There lies the problem.

Best.

You write such a good post and spoil everything by making a negative statement about people who happened to be born from a particular area.

On another note, what is it that Mhindi and Mzungu have that others do not have? I find that for those businesses where extreme hardwork and lots of patience is required, Mhindi's have dominated. May be these are the things that we lack.

And by the way, please give us the breakdown of returns for avocado. May be this is the best place to start because I guess avocados requires very little labour and startup cost, although it might take long before the firt harvest.

I think what @Am is referring to is the cartel-like groups that exists in such export business. Maybe the trick is to look for a way of them counting you as one of them coz beating them might be a big battle. If the only determinant was hardwork, my villagers would easily handle that, I am sure.
#34 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 5:01:57 PM

@Kysse, I need more info on the avocado business. My other shags guys in Saba Saba area, past kenol, may be beneficiaries.
#35 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 9:28:19 PM

@Kysse, I need more info on the avocado business. My other shags guys in Saba Saba area, past kenol, may be beneficiaries.

Start here. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=csZZ_LXYtu0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZd4MNHZN2M.

I will bring this lady to the farm if you have avocado farmers with export potential.
They conduct free training as long as the business is guaranteed.
There are avocado varieties for export sio zile kubwa kubwa zinakaa kama football.
The small pimpled green variety are the best.

Though seasonal,they fetch good prices abroad.
I can give you an idea.Buy from growers and become the shipper.You don't have to own a farm but you can buy and export on their behalf.
That assures you good volumes,bigger market and nice returns.
Be careful with the buyers too. Some refuse to pay after delivery, so come to agreement with your buyers first before you consider shipping.
Contact me when ready and I will give you the best shipping rates possible.smile

#36 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 10:25:29 PM

@WaShiko...

Siongei......smile smile smile smile
#37 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 10:44:13 PM

tassia wrote:
Am wrote:

There lies the problem.

Best.

Pole @Tassia. Lakini ni ukweli. I hear Mwai cannot contribute 100/= in a burial committee meeting.smile smile

Anyway, I meant to say that the big boys control the market. They have the advantage of knowing who needs the produce in the UK, and therefore do wine and game meat daily, earning millions while the poor farmers fetches 25/= for a kilo of bullet chillies or Ravaya while its sold at Heathrow greens sheds @550/= a kilo. I know what I'm talking about and hope you can understand my frustration....
#38 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 11:38:17 PM

Am wrote:

@WaShiko...

Kwani ni kwenu piasmile smile
#39 Posted : Saturday, November 02, 2013 10:21:35 AM

Am wrote:

@WaShiko...

Kwani ni kwenu piasmile smile

smile smile Thafa Thafasmile smile

Small world we live in. Na venye Umenitusi miaka yote hapa wazua @waciku..Sad Sad Sad

I was a well known "Oliech" in a nearby ridge..smile smile smile smile
#40 Posted : Saturday, November 02, 2013 11:05:37 AM

@ washiku. I have two avocado importers in the middle east that I can introduce you to, but on 1 condition.I will ship it.smile hata mimi sitaki umaskini.
I avoid marketing for customers for one or two reasons but it's the spirit here so karibu.

Once you enter export market you get to understand the dynamics and grow.