Culture
Bikozulu. . . and the very best of kenyan bloggers
Those with goggles Macharia Gaitho, Philip Ochieng (mildly), Barack Muluka
QD wrote:This was one good read and the discovery of Rusinga Lodge was so great. Rink : this is nyanza That was an excellent piece. The scene from 'STEND' in Oksum siti or is it othumo and the matatu ride was so vividly captured i felt i was right there and the hawkers. . . If you've been to Kisumu you must have met jamaa wa capssus, capssus na hiyo matatu ni kama hii donge? "ππ‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder ππ " overheard in Wazua
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
This (Bikozulu) guy is hilarious. After a very boring Sunday waiting for the Spurs game, this is what I needed. Reading " This is Nyanza." Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
Oops missed some feedback: @bkismat howdy keeping well, distracted with investments... @kiterunner not the same person, and Muganda is just a handle, not my name @Mukiri have you read Chimamanda's Americanah, it has become quite the social statement to lug the book around. @Siringi his readers are very loyal.
Siringi wrote:QD wrote:This was one good read and the discovery of Rusinga Lodge was so great. Rink : this is nyanza That was an excellent piece. The scene from 'STEND' in Oksum siti or is it othumo and the matatu ride was so vividly captured i felt i was right there and the hawkers. . . If you've been to Kisumu you must have met jamaa wa capssus, capssus na hiyo matatu ni kama hii donge?
Siringi wrote:QD wrote:This was one good read and the discovery of Rusinga Lodge was so great. Rink : this is nyanza That was an excellent piece. The scene from 'STEND' in Oksum siti or is it othumo and the matatu ride was so vividly captured i felt i was right there and the hawkers. . . If you've been to Kisumu you must have met jamaa wa capssus, capssus na hiyo matatu ni kama hii donge? The story is very well written, Biko narrates his stories with skillful selection of words. His use of the word "donge" reminds me of Unbwogable. And this place Rusinga Lodge is quite probably one of the best in the country...
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
Always Loved Biko's writing.. He's brilliant! Other than his blog,I never miss his column in the Saturday & also in 'True Love'. It was sad to read his article which was a farewell to his Mum, never read a more eye opening yet deeper piece... Than man is super talented! Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Siringi wrote:Where is Taban Lo Liyong ' boy Kenyans can read and write we are not a literary desert Link : Kenyan blogs listing Taban Lo Liyong is teaching at Juba University. Believe it or not he has become a Real Estate Magnate. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Obbo's blog has had me glued on my screen as i go through the conflict in Congo. Cant wait for the next series. http://nakedchiefs.com/2...-and-hell-breaks-loose/ He's Ugandan tho. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
is DRC going to split into an Eastern English/swahili country and a Wsetern French/lingala country?
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
pariah wrote:is DRC going to split into an Eastern English/swahili country and a Wsetern French/lingala country? Perhaps not necessarily split but federate with strong federal units that have a greater say in day-to-day affairs of their people. If you think about it, DRC is quite huge as a country, in fact we're often told it's bigger than Western Europe (at least the original 15countries or so). One can only imagine the challenges of adimistering such a huge and diverse region/country. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
muganda wrote:Oops missed some feedback: @bkismat howdy keeping well, distracted with investments... @kiterunner not the same person, and Muganda is just a handle, not my name @Mukiri have you read Chimamanda's Americanah, it has become quite the social statement to lug the book around. @Siringi his readers are very loyal. Recently finished her 'That thing around your neck', hii yako is next.
Rankaz13 wrote:pariah wrote:is DRC going to split into an Eastern English/swahili country and a Wsetern French/lingala country? Perhaps not necessarily split but federate with strong federal units that have a greater say in day-to-day affairs of their people. If you think about it, DRC is quite huge as a country, in fact we're often told it's bigger than Western Europe (at least the original 15countries or so). One can only imagine the challenges of adimistering such a huge and diverse region/country. To fully understand the DRC or Zaire problems onke has to start with the scramble and partition of Africa . The Wazungus never had the best interests of Africa at heart but their own interest the conflicts are foreign funded by westen interests while the Congolese wealth in minerals gold etc is plundered read Kwame Nkrumah`s book and you will see the westerners for what they really are . . .Leeches and vampires behind the coups and political instability in Africa Who killed Patrice Lumumba The Katanga separatists and cesation How Mobutu Ssesse Sseko came to power and stayed for that long "ππ‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder ππ " overheard in Wazua
Rank: Member Joined: 7/9/2011 Posts: 730 Location: Nairobi
Siringi wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:pariah wrote:is DRC going to split into an Eastern English/swahili country and a Wsetern French/lingala country? Perhaps not necessarily split but federate with strong federal units that have a greater say in day-to-day affairs of their people. If you think about it, DRC is quite huge as a country, in fact we're often told it's bigger than Western Europe (at least the original 15countries or so). One can only imagine the challenges of adimistering such a huge and diverse region/country. To fully understand the DRC or Zaire problems onke has to start with the scramble and partition of Africa . The Wazungus never had the best interests of Africa at heart but their own interest the conflicts are foreign funded by westen interests while the Congolese wealth in minerals gold etc is plundered read Kwame Nkrumah`s book and you will see the westerners for what they really are . . .Leeches and vampires behind the coups and political instability in Africa Who killed Patrice Lumumba The Katanga separatists and cesation How Mobutu Ssesse Sseko came to power and stayed for that long And now it is African countries' turn to scramble for the congo wealth? our goals are best achieved indirectly
kiterunner wrote:Siringi wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:pariah wrote:is DRC going to split into an Eastern English/swahili country and a Wsetern French/lingala country? Perhaps not necessarily split but federate with strong federal units that have a greater say in day-to-day affairs of their people. If you think about it, DRC is quite huge as a country, in fact we're often told it's bigger than Western Europe (at least the original 15countries or so). One can only imagine the challenges of adimistering such a huge and diverse region/country. To fully understand the DRC or Zaire problems onke has to start with the scramble and partition of Africa . The Wazungus never had the best interests of Africa at heart but their own interest the conflicts are foreign funded by westen interests while the Congolese wealth in minerals gold etc is plundered read Kwame Nkrumah`s book and you will see the westerners for what they really are . . .Leeches and vampires behind the coups and political instability in Africa Who killed Patrice Lumumba The Katanga separatists and cesation How Mobutu Ssesse Sseko came to power and stayed for that long And now it is African countries' turn to scramble for the congo wealth? It got me thinking.....the countries that Obama chose to visit with "investors". And the UN.....the UN African countries = proxies @kiterunner "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
The faces behind the commotion in DRC and CAR. The series continues http://nakedchiefs.com/2...ds-oil-and-money-in-air/"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
[quote=murchr] The faces behind the commotion in DRC and CAR. The series continues http://nakedchiefs.com/2...s-oil-and-money-in-air/[/quote] Eeeeee...this is more than a face Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Aliπ
You know you are far deep in luo-land when a horde of shrieking and excited half naked luo children run after your car, wanting to touch it. By this time you will be too tired and too hungry to bother lifting your android phone to Instagram this moment. And whatever you do, donβt ask your hosts βarenβt these kids supposed to be in school?β Itβs brash. Itβs also none of your business. But should you feel you just have to (because you are one of those NGO types yoked with humanitarian piousness) you will be told, deservedly, that, β Luo children are born learned, they only go to school to calibrate their brilliance.β And you would have deserved that answer. - Read more
By the way, still on this far-flung business, there is a theorem Iβm turning over in my head; that the further a luo comes from an electric line, the more obnoxious and loud he is.
Culture
Bikozulu. . . and the very best of kenyan bloggers