wazua Fri, May 15, 2026

7 Pages<1234>»
Roads Cabinet Secretary amepoteza mbao??
#11 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 12:01:00 PM

Someone should go home in addition do unlicensing of that company.

a4architect.com
#12 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 12:05:40 PM

in TZ busses dont travel at night. This can slow down the economy substantially if implemented in Kenya.
What MSM Kamau needs to do is ruthlessly enforce traffic rules ala Michuki style . There will be hue and cry from the transport sector but he should stand strong and come with Draconian measures to enforce traffic rules.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
mkonomtupu
#13 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 12:06:24 PM

We are a sick society 41 people die and we just okay with that?? In any nation that bus company would not survive even the cabinet secretary would be on the firing line. In the US i would expect them to file for bankruptcy ASAP. It was reported that another bus belonging to the same company was found with a tampered speed governor. This is quite mild they should be hit with damages and fines so high they close for good. Bure Kabisa!!!
#14 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 12:07:34 PM

What wrong has the company committed to warrant it being unlicensed?Even if it were to be unlicensed,the buses will be transferred to a new licensed company.
#15 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 12:09:24 PM

FancyFace wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
...Roads Cabinet Secretary Michael Kamau Thursday ordered that buses belonging to the company whose vehicle was involved in Thursday’s accident which killed 41 people be grounded and the owners charged...

What is wrong with Kamau?? He has started off to the wrong direction...

To start with, he wants the company closed, because the company's core business is transportation...This is sabotage!!!!

Secondly, what if the buses belong to different owners doing business under this company...Are all these bus owners going to be charged because of one bus belonging to someone caused an accident?? pure nonsense!!!NKT!!!

On this one, Kamau is simply an inbred caveman who sits at home the whole day with a bowl of groundnuts throwing them up into the air one at a time and with his mouth wide open catches them as they come down!!!ABK!!!Sad Sad Sad

ok could you kindly give an opinion on the more appropriate action to take as all other seem to fail....while at it factor in star bus, moa embassava etc that have different owners but almost all have crazy drivers behind the wheel....impunity reloaded

If I were him I would press the government to come up with mechanisms of making sure that driving licences are not sold for ksh 6k...Laughing out loudly Sad

If I were him I would press for law allowing his ministry access to all annual safety/roadworthiness inspections and test records of all registered passenger vehicles using his ROADS from ministry of works and directorate of motor vehicle inspections...here the owner would be easy to prosecute...smile smile

If I were him i would set a training centre to train motor vehicle accident investigators whose accident findings would be used against an owner or a company in a suit..

If I were him I would press for a law to be made to ensure that whoever is liable for an accident, his or her driving license is either cancelled or confiscated for a period not less than 5 years...Sad Sad

If I were him i would think of many other intelligent things other than side show reactions...
#16 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 12:11:18 PM

What wrong has the company committed to warrant it being unlicensed?Even if it were to be unlicensed,the buses will be transferred to a new licensed company.

The company buses need to be grounded. You have to start from somewhere when enforcing some sanity. Other bus companies will then take cue. It's the responsibility of the company's management to ensure their drivers drive well, the buses are fitted with speed governors and rules are observed.
Museveni
#17 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 12:11:50 PM

Each of these accidents should be investigated as unrelated incidences.

Blaming company officials & the owners is not one of the most wise decisions by the regulatory authority - in this case the Transport secretary. This is simply a knee-jerk reaction to a much bigger problem i.e the state of major roads. Why do we label places black-spots ? Are we resigned to the fact that lives will be lost at these places ?

These companies are offering the public an essential service & at a cost where each & everyone chooses their level of comfort. Let us not keep passing blame.

Bashing the proprietors/owners of the bus companies leans much on business sabotage rather than a genuine will to resolve transport issues.

What happens to travelers moving from one end of the country to the other ? Stay overnight in Nairobi ? Extra.Cost.Unnecessary.

Supposing the directive to ban night transport is implemented, this just translates to more buses on the road during the day as commuters scramble to travel early. Congestion will now be the new scapegoat on why the accidents happen.

@Kaigangio Nice debate umeanzisha hapa
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
#18 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 12:30:23 PM

Museveni wrote:
Each of these accidents should be investigated as unrelated incidences.

Blaming company officials & the owners is not one of the most wise decisions by the regulatory authority - in this case the Transport secretary. This is simply a knee-jerk reaction to a much bigger problem i.e the state of major roads. Why do we label places black-spots ? Are we resigned to the fact that lives will be lost at these places ?

These companies are offering the public an essential service & at a cost where each & everyone chooses their level of comfort. Let us not keep passing blame.

Bashing the proprietors/owners of the bus companies leans much on business sabotage rather than a genuine will to resolve transport issues.

What happens to travelers moving from one end of the country to the other ? Stay overnight in Nairobi ? Extra.Cost.Unnecessary.

Supposing the directive to ban night transport is implemented, this just translates to more buses on the road during the day as commuters scramble to travel early. Congestion will now be the new scapegoat on why the accidents happen.

@Kaigangio Nice debate umeanzisha hapa

On point kabisa...the government let this guys (matatu sector) arm twist them now ordinary mwananchi is paying with their lives...time and time again you get to see this hooligans and their antics we just need super strict rules...but with cops still taking mlungula even this rules wont help anything...we keep on going round in circles...we seriously need to act on this...we have no morals as citizens of this country,we care less about the lives of others we are our own worst enemies....
#19 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 12:36:32 PM

His is a step in the right direction. We blame authorities for not enforcing laws but when they do, we castigate them. Something has to be done asap ili liwe funzo kwa wengineo. Secondly, the public is to blame because we allow these things to happen and if a fatality occurs, we are quick to banish the cops. The bus wouldn't have been overcrowded had the passengers refused to board it, the driver wouldn't have been overspeeding had the passengers told him to slow down.

Yesterday I was having a conversation with a friend who told me he asked the driver to slow down coz he was overtaking recklessly and if he can't he should give his colleague the bus to drive. The guy refused. Luckily for him, a luxury many of us don't have, he called his cop friends who were ahead at some town along Msa road. The driver was arrested.
Museveni
#20 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 12:48:12 PM

His is a step in the right direction. We blame authorities for not enforcing laws but when they do, we castigate them. Something has to be done asap ili liwe funzo kwa wengineo. Secondly, the public is to blame because we allow these things to happen and if a fatality occurs, we are quick to banish the cops. The bus wouldn't have been overcrowded had the passengers refused to board it, the driver wouldn't have been overspeeding had the passengers told him to slow down.

Yesterday I was having a conversation with a friend who told me he asked the driver to slow down coz he was overtaking recklessly and if he can't he should give his colleague the bus to drive. The guy refused. Luckily for him, a luxury many of us don't have, he called his cop friends who were ahead at some town along Msa road. The driver was arrested.

What is happening here is not castigation.

Remember:
Power corrupts; absolute power corrupts absolutely

Some decisions are what we always refer as 'road-side' declarations. Issued without much thought and not based on factual evidence.

It is OUR lives at stake here. Passing blame among the involved parties not very healthy.

As for the company.. Claims burden & public confidence waning should be enough to push them to better organization or oblivion as they show that they adhere to the laws of the land. Issuing arrest threats solves absolutely nothing.

Time for some serious reform in this sector.
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
7 Pages<1234>»