wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

My old man's music, my music
#21 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 8:47:35 AM

Yes that is Le Grand Maestro Himself Lobito la jo Ben LLB Luambo Luanzo Makiadi LLM Franco - Muziki ya Bakulutu
Among my favourites include:
Arzoni, Layile Mamou, Makambo Ezali -Mario
Bina Ngai na respec, Bisalela,Decision Exchange Maloba -
Dia - Sadou, Iluse, Kamikaze, Kimpa Kisangameni -
Ndaya - ngungi, pesa position, Princess Kikou,Sans papier - Sadole,Tangwawusi, tawaba,
Tres Impoli - Franco -

When you go there look for the LP cover kama hii...

Jump-steady wrote:
Welcome to the world of tranquillity..

there is a shop along Moi avenue, opposite Assanands... hapo utapata all you looking for

Unless you want to do it the old fashion way.. vinyl, gramophone.. clean the vinlyl, place it in position.. takes some skill to place the 'ka-needle'... listen to the 'shhhhhhhhh' sound atleast 5 seconds... Then the song starts...

"Nabiso Candidat Mobutu Sese..na biso candidat mobutu sese... bandoki basiliteee" 17:30minutes side A
In your case you are singing

"makambo ezali binene.. mambo ngumu Ulaya... "

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly One song, one artist, same tune, all that time? Eh? Eh?

#22 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 11:27:39 AM

how did I miss this thread so far....

@newest old man.... all those songs earlier mentioned are great songs.... but i invite you to listen
to "Nakoma Mbanda Ya Mama Ya Mobali Na Ngai" done in 1975 by Franco with TP OK Jazz. listen to the Franco's acoustic guitar, especially at the beginning of the song and you will really appreciate the song..
Nakoma Mbanda Ya mama Ya Mobali na Ngai

Credits:
Vocals: Franco, Sam Mangwana, Josky Kiambukuta, Michèl Boyibanda
Lead Guitar: Franco (Acoustic guitar)
Rhythm:Gégé Mangaya
Bass: Mpundi Decca
Drums: Ntoya Fwala Pajos
Tumba: Bosuma Dessoin

then listen to "Nabali Misele" done in 1980 by the Prince
Nabali Misele
Credits:
Composer: Mayaula Mayoni (the Prince)
Vocals: Djo Mpoyi, Wuta Mayi, Lola Chécain, Lukoki Diatho
Lead Guitar: Gerry Dialunguna
Mi-solo: Thierry Mantuika.
Rhythm Guitar: Mayaula Mayoni
Bass: Flavien Makabi (I could be wrong here, so it could have been Mpundi Decca instead)

Now come back home and listen to Less Wanyika's "Nisaidie Baba"
Nisaidie Baba

Credits:

Composer: Issa Juma
Singers: Issa Juma, Mohammed Tika Abdallah, Phoney Mkwanyule
Lead: John Ngereza
Rhythm: Omar Shabani(Professor) using Acoustic
Bass: Tom Malanga
Drums: Rashid Juma
Sax: Elias John

"Sina Makosa" composed in 1979
Sina Makosa

Credits:
Composer: Tom Malanga
Singers: Issa Juma, Phoney Mkwanyule, Mohammed Tika Abdallah
#23 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 4:02:52 PM

Jump-steady wrote:
Welcome to the world of tranquillity..

there is a shop along Moi avenue, opposite Assanands... hapo utapata all you looking for

Unless you want to do it the old fashion way.. vinyl, gramophone.. clean the vinlyl, place it in position.. takes some skill to place the 'ka-needle'... listen to the 'shhhhhhhhh' sound atleast 5 seconds... Then the song starts...

"Nabiso Candidat Mobutu Sese..na biso candidat mobutu sese... bandoki basiliteee" 17:30minutes side A
In your case you are singing

"makambo ezali binene.. mambo ngumu Ulaya... "

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly One song, one artist, same tune, all that time? Eh? Eh?

Actually thats the beauty and grasping oomf of any good song..
For a song to be a hit, a good producer will know that there needs to be a continuous beat all through. at the climax it only changes octanes (or notation) but still the same beat.. and with a memorable chorus to go..
Listen to all evergreens.. that beat at the background and a phrase you can always chant to..
Psychologically i think its something that the brain easily latches onto... hence the mystery of music
kendata26
#24 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 6:40:37 PM

kingfisher wrote:
how did I miss this thread so far....

@newest old man.... all those songs earlier mentioned are great songs.... but i invite you to listen
to "Nakoma Mbanda Ya Mama Ya Mobali Na Ngai" done in 1975 by Franco with TP OK Jazz. listen to the Franco's acoustic guitar, especially at the beginning of the song and you will really appreciate the song..
Nakoma Mbanda Ya mama Ya Mobali na Ngai

Credits:
Vocals: Franco, Sam Mangwana, Josky Kiambukuta, Michèl Boyibanda
Lead Guitar: Franco (Acoustic guitar)
Rhythm:Gégé Mangaya
Bass: Mpundi Decca

then listen to "Nabali Misele" done in 1980 by the Prince
Nabali Misele
Credits:
Composer: Mayaula Mayoni (the Prince)
Vocals: Djo Mpoyi, Wuta Mayi, Lola Chécain, Lukoki Diatho
Lead Guitar: Gerry Dialunguna
Mi-solo: Thierry Mantuika.
Rhythm Guitar: Mayaula Mayoni

Bass: Flavien Makabi (I could be wrong here, so it could have been Mpundi Decca instead)

Now come back home and listen to Less Wanyika's "Nisaidie Baba"
Nisaidie Baba

Credits:

Composer: Issa Juma
Singers: Issa Juma, Mohammed Tika Abdallah, Phoney Mkwanyule

"Sina Makosa" composed in 1979
Sina Makosa

Credits:
Composer: Tom Malanga
Singers: Issa Juma, Phoney Mkwanyule, Mohammed Tika Abdallah

Great suggestions! I will definately look out for these. My young kids don't get what is wrong with me but I catch repeating songs as they play so I feel less enjoying the past!
#25 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 10:36:39 AM

Dad: How i met your mother...

Rink The Golden days of Kenyan Music

i can imagine they were doing twist with such greats as this one

done by Mzee Daudi Kabaka Mwenyewe.

Pata ngoma hapa Daudi Kabaka Musichana Mrembo

courtesy of http//www.music.ntwiga.net
#26 Posted : Wednesday, August 14, 2013 1:25:28 PM

let your fingers do the walking... just click and admire

Melodica.co.ke

There are several other blogs that you can find your old man's music
smple these:

Polygram: www.eastafricanmusic.com

kendata26 wrote:
Magigi suggested Melodica too. I'll stop on my next trip. I found Franco on Amazon but $85 is way too much for a CD!

Thanks for the suggestions

Rankaz13 wrote:
kendata26 wrote:

the old music is real good...As you age you start to appreciate good music....and YES....you are growing OLD.....smile smile

lwambo lanzo makiadi,madillu,tsbu ley,sam mangwana,tu ac,notorious big,mase etc.

Thanks Mawinder. I'm hunting for Franco's Bina na Ngai na Respect but so far no success.

I may need to trick my old man out of his VERY old copy next time I see him......

There's a shop, shortl after Tom Mboya/Ronald Ngala streets junction on the left hand side ukitembea towards Haile Selassie avenue that may have the same. I happened to pop-in there while unsuccessfully hunting for the said gramophone and I saw they have some of that. They also supply some gramophone 'consumables' e.g stylus. Shop name is Melodica.

[/quote]
Alba
#27 Posted : Sunday, February 16, 2014 7:26:05 AM

I have been listening to TP OK Jazz and Afrisa my whole life. But I am always shocked when I find songs I havent heard before. This year I discovered the classic song Bisengambi by Josky, released in 1979. I had listened to the newer version of Bisemgambi which was released in the late 1990s. But this is one rare occassion where the original version is better.
#28 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 12:56:50 AM

I think real music was made in the 60s and 70s. Most of the 80s,90s and 00s was a remake or remix or whatever you call it of the former.
Alba
#29 Posted : Thursday, May 01, 2014 3:28:44 AM

How about AZDA by Franco. Here is the translation