wazua Thu, May 14, 2026

5 Pages<1234>»
Nepotism at Kenya Pipeline
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 12:16:46 PM

sheri wrote:
It is so rampant even in the private sector nowadays. Sickening!

I have seen it in Buzeki,Deloitte,Siginon Freight,Family Bank,Prime Bank,Tuskys etc.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 1:08:48 PM

hehe. We can't seriously be discussing whether this was wrong or right, can we? The shameful thing is that most Kenyans don't see anything wrong with this if it is "helping" "their" people.

It that was Raila's cazins, ungeona hii thread. If that was Uhurus people's ungeona press conference.

So how wrong or right it is depends on who's doing it. Kweli Kenya ni nchi. Nchi ni wewe

you are very right... these same people who claim it is ok and bla bla bla are the same people who started the thread on how Moi employed his kales, how the ministries new working language was Kibaki's mothertongue, how Raila and his kin have dominated politics in Luo Nyanza.... yet, when they are the ones doing it, it is ok.... these are the people who will bury you!

Wait until it's your turn to be discriminated against, and you'll know the pain of not being given a fair chance just because "you do not know people".

@Mawinder, might be different when it comes to a family business... you do not expect it to be ran like a parastatal..... Nepotism can not be ruled out in such organisation given that it will be passed down to the next generation..... me thinks but i could be wrong.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 1:28:20 PM

Most jobs in the world you get through referral...lets say it is advanced nepotism...United Nations is a family business. It is the way of the world. Accept and move forward.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 1:36:47 PM

Most jobs in the world you get through referral...lets say it is advanced nepotism...United Nations is a family business. It is the way of the world. Accept and move forward.

I bet if a Kamau or Mwangi was named here, hate blood will be flowing on social media like the waters of the Nile

http://www.businessdaily...12/-/ro9df2/-/index.html

#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 1:40:40 PM

let's vilify the evil of nepotism and tribalism where it exists however let us not sacrifice demonstrated merit at the alter of perception.
it would be very sad when a person is denied an opportunity to serve yet he/she is the best for a public job but because of things he/she cannot control - gets overlooked and someone else who is put there not because they are the best for the job but rather that they are of an acceptable ethnic group! that is a tragedy!
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 1:41:18 PM

How come there are whole families i know who work at the UN Gigiri and that is ok. This one is nepotism. You Must help your family whenever you can.....
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 1:43:06 PM

been there - and I agree... it is sad! huko hakuna merit! kwanza I laugh when I see people trembling and shaking when they hear 'A UN REPORT SAID ABCD'... ile incompetence imejaa huko?
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 2:03:40 PM

Show me a parastatal in Kenya that does not have three or more people from the same family... or even Husband and wife or children...
CLK
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 9:02:24 PM

mosesotieno wrote:
So long as the people hired were qualified to hold the jobs and the vacancies existed, I see nothing 'wrong' with what the management did. There are many Kenyans without jobs and one's first duty is to look after your kin.

As Vinii has stated, this practice happens in most parastatals. If I may call it so, it is a lesser form of corruption.

two wrongs dont make a right....and your statement is shameful to say the least...

It's just my opinion, that's all.

and what will be your opinion on those who sleep their way into jobs/promotions??

NKT!!!!
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 9:06:33 PM

Watu wapewe works na relas. people learn on the job. even me i work with my bro (just the 2 of us) and we are doing great. Kila mutu knows his roles/rask/borders. Being a rela does not mean yo cannot work together!
5 Pages<1234>»