wazua Mon, Jan 6, 2025

Corruption in Kenya.
#21 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2013 5:33:16 PM

Having observed most of our processes and procedures, I have a feeling we sometimes set ourselves up for failure. Some of the processes are so cumbersome and inefficient one gets the feeling they're deliberately set that way to create opportunities for rent-seeking behavior. All those who've queued for hours on end at Times Towers hands up....thank you, you may put your hands down. And the story is replicated literally at all gov't offices that one has to seek some sort of service or another. Those who've had to seek the multiple licenses required to set up a business in Kenya will probably have similar tales of woe.

Na saa zingine pia we set up ourselves for failure. Like one of the guys who'd called in saying he was once caught by cops speeding (over 140) on the highway, was a little tipsy and to top it all off, didn't have his DL on him having left it at work. He eventually had to give 'something small' to the cops to let him go. Sasa mtu kama huyu anaweza sema Kenya kuna ufisadi kweli?
thuks
#22 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2013 5:51:55 PM

thuks wrote:
Laptops for kids = corruption? Is that the reason why our position has "improved"? I can bet over 98% of us try to negotiate with police for ANY offense committed and unfortunately, they mostly succumb.

Some people eat heir cut before some projects are conceived!!! And hence no turning back!

Ok! Someone has to " eat" for each of the pledges! Finised!
I care!
#23 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2013 6:50:03 PM

Drobos fly wrote:

Why should we force laptops down the throat of kids a d teachers? What is behind this aggressiveness...and many more meaningless projects...

That is the trouble with seeing things through a certain filter (lifestyle).
One can only identify with your problems if they have walked a mile in your shoes.

or on your bare feet Sad
#24 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2013 6:53:54 PM

Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!!

Why should we force laptops down the throat of kids a d teachers? What is behind this aggressiveness...and many more meaningless projects...

You promise free Keniatta milk...buy out akina Molo milk, and be the sole distributor of the "free" milk in schools...gaarment lazima iandike cheque to supplier...
#25 Posted : Friday, July 12, 2013 6:52:04 AM

Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!!

You promise free Keniatta milk...buy out akina Molo milk, and be the sole distributor of the "free" milk in schools...gaarment lazima iandike cheque to supplier...

Kwanza isnt this conflict of interest...ama mtasema ni biashara tu kama kawaida...
kiash
#26 Posted : Friday, July 12, 2013 7:14:34 AM

Guess one of the best way to end corruption among traffic police is introducing merit by numbers. No fixed police controls but patrols and at the end of the day, you present to the station boss the number of people you have netted for the day and the fine they paid . At the end of the year the best offficer considered for promotion.
CLK
#27 Posted : Friday, July 12, 2013 7:33:28 AM

Kwanza isnt this conflict of interest...ama mtasema ni biashara tu kama kawaida...

Hapana, Uhuru ndio orezzo, Muhoho ndio supplier.....
majimaji
#28 Posted : Friday, July 12, 2013 8:52:34 AM

Corruption in Kenya is treated casually, it's treated like a victimless crime where only the giver and the receiver benefit and no one else is hurt.
The other day I was in Keroka and i saw 15 passengers (men and women) emerge from a probox matatu, my knee jerk reaction was to blame the police, then i realised it's part of our culture to flout rules.
D32
#29 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 8:39:56 PM

They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, February 09, 2016 2:08:56 AM

kiash wrote:
Guess one of the best way to end corruption among traffic police is introducing merit by numbers. No fixed police controls but patrols and at the end of the day, you present to the station boss the number of people you have netted for the day and the fine they paid . At the end of the year the best offficer considered for promotion.

You have been mayuu far too long, come back!

a promotion will probably earn the guy KES10k a month, best case KES30k a month, now in the streets, if he nets 10 guys a day, and each cough a k, that's 10k a day. Those are basic offenses, on a 'good' day with extreme offenses, he can fetch 5k ~ 10k per netted guy. Do the math @kiash!!

#31 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2016 2:29:34 AM

Since 1968 and going.

Of interest to note is the price of gazetti back then was 40 cents.
There was a "coast edition"
Betting was very much present then and it was done by accounting firms
And all the writers were referred to as "reporters"
#32 Posted : Saturday, July 09, 2016 2:37:15 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/83o5riz/-/index.html

A 40-foot container containing medical equipment worth Sh27 million will be returned to Sweden after its donor was asked to part with kickbacks of up to Sh2 million to have it cleared at the port of Mombasa.

The donor, Mr Hans Frederik Dydensborg, an advocate of the Danish Supreme Court, flew out of Kenya on Friday after efforts to clear the container failed.

The equipment, meant for rural hospitals in Kisumu, was sent from Stockholm, Sweden, in 2014 and was to be received by a foundation in Nairobi.

“I was always getting wrong information from the consignee and so I decided to come over personally. While in Nairobi, I discovered that the said foundation was a briefcase organisation owned by a prominent MP who tried to avoid me.

“Actually, he told me he was in Bahamas for a two-week business trip only for me to find him in Parliament.”
enyands
#33 Posted : Saturday, July 09, 2016 3:58:53 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Donor-returns-equipment-after-declining-to-give-out-kickbacks/-/1056/3286762/-/83o5riz/-/index.html

A 40-foot container containing medical equipment worth Sh27 million will be returned to Sweden after its donor was asked to part with kickbacks of up to Sh2 million to have it cleared at the port of Mombasa.

The donor, Mr Hans Frederik Dydensborg, an advocate of the Danish Supreme Court, flew out of Kenya on Friday after efforts to clear the container failed.

The equipment, meant for rural hospitals in Kisumu, was sent from Stockholm, Sweden, in 2014 and was to be received by a foundation in Nairobi.

“I was always getting wrong information from the consignee and so I decided to come over personally. While in Nairobi, I discovered that the said foundation was a briefcase organisation owned by a prominent MP who tried to avoid me.

“Actually, he told me he was in Bahamas for a two-week business trip only for me to find him in Parliament.”

Judging from this, this must be an mp from kisumu. Stupid embiceles which is worse than people of kinangop who chased away the wind turbines companies because of suspicion of bringing cancer.come next year these luo guys will vote him back to continue eating. Stupid sana kabisa. Fermented Gorilla fecal organic matter.

this was meant to help his constituents but he just wanted to eat. I'm sure even if RAO gets to know this he will do nothing. Cheza na Wazungus you won't eat their money .he had rather spend it hits first class ticket than to give you a black luo gorilla that has just finished mating a hyena . Kumbavu yeye. He should be known and people of his constituents told what he did. But baba will defend him. Embiceles
enyands
#34 Posted : Saturday, July 09, 2016 4:36:02 PM

enyands wrote:
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Donor-returns-equipment-after-declining-to-give-out-kickbacks/-/1056/3286762/-/83o5riz/-/index.html

Judging from this, this must be an mp from kisumu. Stupid embiceles which is worse than people of kinangop who chased away the wind turbines companies because of suspicion of bringing cancer.come next year these luo guys will vote him back to continue eating. Stupid sana kabisa. Fermented Gorilla fecal organic matter.

this was meant to help his constituents but he just wanted to eat. I'm sure even if RAO gets to know this he will do nothing. Cheza na Wazungus you won't eat their money .he had rather spend it hits first class ticket than to give you a black luo gorilla that has just finished mating a hyena . Kumbavu yeye. He should be known and people of his constituents told what he did. But baba will defend him. Embiceles

Just got this. Remember is not me I just found it from someone's wall

TheGeek
#35 Posted : Wednesday, July 13, 2016 6:08:14 PM

So I can invest 5MIL and get 200mil only.
Senators have given Mombasa Governor Hassan Joho one week to explain why he used more than Sh200 million without the permission of the Controller of Budget.
If he does not, the senators could recommended that he be prosecuted for flouting the Public Finance Management Act.
Senators on Tuesday told the governor to furnish the auditor’s office with documents showing how the money was spent without approval. The money was collected in the county.
Lawmakers said Mr Joho risks a jail term of three years or a Sh5 million fine if he fails to present the evidence as required by the Public Audit Act.

In the world of securities, courage and patience become the supreme virtues after adequate knowledge and a tested judgment are at hand.
#36 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2016 6:43:52 AM

Liv
#37 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2016 9:59:28 AM

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/PS-had-interest-in-tender-says-suspended-don/1056-3348560-gb2h1hz/index.html

This is very annoying...... Who will save Kenya now?
Alba
#38 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2016 4:34:35 PM

Liv wrote:
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/PS-had-interest-in-tender-says-suspended-don/1056-3348560-gb2h1hz/index.html

This is very annoying...... Who will save Kenya now?

When Kenyans start voting on issues like corruption instead of voting on tribal basis then these issues will be solved.

Right now the candidates are focused on building tribal blocs instead of addressing issues like corruption or crime or security. Kenyans are to blame for their situation.
#39 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2018 9:10:35 AM

#40 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2018 3:23:45 PM

Chumo ndani.......Isn't this the same fellow Uhuru appointed a few weeks back to replace Serem at SRC??