wazua Mon, Jan 6, 2025

36 Pages<1234>»
UNGA anyone?
#21 Posted : Friday, April 23, 2010 4:24:11 PM

@mukiha - Please post a link when u find their website!
#22 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 7:01:52 PM

VVS, I have never been on the net for so long looking for one thing. And I have never been so frustrated. I keep finding conflicting information everywhere I go.

First I found This:
Ngano House Commercial Street, Indus Area P.O. Box 30096 Nairobi, Kenya +254-20-532471 254 253 2471
+254-20-545945 (Fax)

Then I found this on a different site:
P.O. BOX 30386-00100
Telephone 3933000
Fax 3933378

Are these guys serious. In 2010 and no website? Even Somali Pirates and Al - Qaeda affiliates have websites and yet they operate in jungles and deserts (not to mention caves)

I was planning to sink some money into Unga but this has got me thinking. I'll probably still invest in it since I think its cheap at current prices, but the management has been found wanting. The way they also print their annual results and their presentation is utterly rubbish.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 7:11:12 PM

I also found a site which has annual reports of companies in the NSE. If interested you can check it out.

http://www.africanfinanc..._list.aspx?countryUID=9

#24 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 10:34:28 PM

LOL... Jameni, wanauza ngano not iPods!

I agree websites should be a basic requirement... lakini I still like Unga...
#25 Posted : Thursday, May 13, 2010 7:29:05 AM

i hope investors are stocking up on this one... if they were to make a mistake of announcing a dividend this year. then there will be a new definition of a share going through the roof
#26 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 9:01:52 AM

This is what I'm thinking:

Thanks to broker's oversight, I find myself with some float cash that was intended for CFC at sub-55. Now that it has gone over 60, I am no longer very interested in buying more.

Since "money has no value unless you spend it", why not throw this float into Unga and forget about it?

Hhmm....
Wa_ithaka
#27 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 10:08:51 AM

Unga is more or less at the highest its been for 12 months. How much upside is remaining?
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#28 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 10:53:43 AM

Year-end is only a month away and the half-year was quite encouraging. PE and NAV are way, way down...
Wa_ithaka
#29 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 11:31:51 AM

Interestingly, the H1 numbers were bumped up by a weakening dollar. "Currency losses will be incurred if shilling weakens vs dollar"
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#30 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 12:23:32 PM

IMO the price does not quickly respond to fundamentals because of low institutional interest. Due to the small free float,poor profit and dividend history. What is needed is a well oiled individual to take notice.
#31 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 2:46:45 PM

mukiha wrote:
Since "money has no value unless you spend it", why not throw this float into Unga and forget about it?

Hhmm....

i am currently doing the same thing with any tiny amounts left in my account after a deal... i know this share price will have its day.. i just hope they can announce a dividend or bonus this year to boost the stock
#32 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 9:44:14 PM

For the half-year period ending December 2009 for Unga, the dollar was trading to the Kenya Shilling at an average of 75-76 shillings. Currently, it is trading at 78.70.
Personally, I don't think this is a significant enough slide to disrupt Unga's results due to currency weakening..
#33 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 2:17:11 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
For the half-year period ending December 2009 for Unga, the dollar was trading to the Kenya Shilling at an average of 75-76 shillings. Currently, it is trading at 78.70.
Personally, I don't think this is a significant enough slide to disrupt Unga's results due to currency weakening..
And maize is cheaper now coz of the rains... bumper crops (albeit with aflatoxin]
#34 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 12:15:00 PM

What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do?
#35 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 12:32:31 PM

mukiha WROTE:
This is what I'm thinking:

Thanks to broker's oversight, I find myself with some float cash that was intended for CFC at sub-55. Now that it has gone over 60, I am no longer very interested in buying more.

Hhmm....

mukiha, I thought you had already made your decision on UNGA when you wrote this. Ama umerudia CFC at 60?
#36 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 2:27:34 PM

mukiha wrote:
What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do? What to do?

@mukiha as you said before this is money you are willing to put away and not look at again... its not like its school fees... there sometimes when the contrarians also make some serious cheese from what the market chooses to ignore...

i got in at 10bob with the same mentality and plan to get out at a crazy price of 78bob when the time comes smile
the deal
#37 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 2:33:25 PM

@ guru hehehe 78 bob...are u talkin of unga or something??? all the corruptness is in the maize...its ruto's friends first then unga number last...
#38 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 5:43:58 PM

@the deal - Another crook since ruto is not selling university degrees!
Kesh!
#39 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 1:41:06 AM

Can someone please enlighten me what unga and dollar have to do with each other. Kwani we r exporting unga ya chogoo abroad.lol!
#40 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 8:02:41 AM

Kesh! wrote:
Can someone please enlighten me what unga and dollar have to do with each other. Kwani we r exporting unga ya chogoo abroad.lol!

@kesh unga does export abroad more so here in uganda and the rest of EA... the funny thing is that the kenya shilling weakening against the dollar is supposed to help exporters but in ugandas and EA's case due to currency pegs the strengthening of the dollar leads to the strengthening of the kenya shilling agaisnt these currencies...

this cant be good for unga tho i dont know bout the percenatge of their business that is abroad