wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Food Choking
#21 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:11:59 AM

Shak wrote:
Of late i find that i've been waking up at night feeling like i've swallowed an object and always leaves me in panic mode. Does anyone experience the same? Could i be swallowing insects? It usually feels like i've swallowed a marble

Cockroaches??d'oh! d'oh!
#22 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:20:20 AM

Shak wrote:
Of late i find that i've been waking up at night feeling like i've swallowed an object and always leaves me in panic mode. Does anyone experience the same? Could i be swallowing insects? It usually feels like i've swallowed a marble

Cockroaches??d'oh! d'oh!

Managed to eliminate all roaches in the house so i know it's not that
#23 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:20:33 AM

This is sad. Are they that many? Maybe ladies should breastfeed for 2yrs-3yrs

Who gave uhuruto names for shortlisting? they should have taken you for a position of CS, ministry of labour.... that would be awesome!

Yaani mwingine azaliwe when the other one is still breat feeding....awuoro!!!
BGL
#24 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:23:32 AM

If you have very young children (months to 3yrs) and opt to work, then get a mature househelp to take care of the children.

Alternatively, take your children to a day care during your working hours. There is no beating about the bush on this subject. You have to get it right.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#25 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:24:01 AM

mkeiyd wrote:
Shak wrote:

@Shak,For a start,buy cellotape and be taping your mouth before going to bed.
Lol, you've cracked me up!

It's no joke! It's always very traumatizing when it happens
#26 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:31:42 AM

Shak wrote:

Silenced Silenced Silenced
could you be sleeping facing the lower end of the bed?
just asking.. lots of stuff on that end like toes,knees,forgotten socks etc etc.
Where's our doc Guru.
matata
#27 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:37:59 AM

Shak wrote:

just asking.. lots of stuff on that end like toes,knees,forgotten socks etc etc.
Where's our doc Guru.

smileU must be one of those who sleep with their mouths wide open.
1. sleep with ur mouth closed
2. Weka mosquito net if ur afraid of anything falling on u. Sometimes I use my net not because there mosquitors but cz staki anything falling on my bed. and esp the small lizards 'ng'eko'
#28 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:42:25 AM

matata wrote:
Shak wrote:

Where's our doc Guru.

2. Weka mosquito net if ur afraid of anything falling on u. Sometimes I use my net not because there mosquitors but cz staki anything falling on my bed. and esp the small lizards 'ng'eko'

@essyk, i don't sleep at the lower side of the bed and @matata i cover myself with a mosquito net
#29 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:42:25 AM

matata wrote:
Shak wrote:

Where's our doc Guru.

...kwani unaishi kwa cave!
#30 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:47:50 AM

Who gave uhuruto names for shortlisting? they should have taken you for a position of CS, ministry of labour.... that would be awesome!

hehehehehe...
#31 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:59:15 AM

Aspirating food or a foreign object into the trachea is life-threatening. A swallowed foreign object (non-sharp, non-corrosive) will come out on the other end, eventually.

A child who presents with a breathing problem should always be evaluated for a foreign body. A mother once took a child to hospital because the child was having trouble breathing. As usual, child was put on medication and oxygen, but the breathing was still noisy (wheeze). A chest xray was done and there was a COIN lodged in the throat! The mother almost fainted because she had not, at any one instance, seen the child swallow the coin!

KNH and the other big hospitals are the only places where bronchoscopy can be done to remove a foreign body in the trachea/larynx.

It takes less that 4 minutes for a child to asphyxiate and die from aspirating food or objects into the trachea.

Culprits: Food, toys, coins, nuts, seeds, buttons, sweets, chewing gum, plastics, peanuts, screws, lollipops, carrots, etc.

LEARN FIRST AID FOR CHOCKING:

1. Give 5 blows to the back. Firmly. Between the shoulder blades. Be gentle, young children are delicate.

2. (If 1 does not work) Hold the child around the waist, fists locked, from the back and push up and in 5 times. (The Heimlich Manoeuvre)

3. You could hold the child upside down by the ankles and lightly tap on the back. Usually, 1 and 2 would have already worked.

4. Repeat 1, 2 and 3 as you wait for help to come or to rush the child to major hospital.

I think first aid should be a COMPULSORY subject taught in all schools.
#32 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:03:42 PM

matata wrote:
Shak wrote:

Those white lizards are common. But harmless in most cases.
#33 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:07:45 PM

Tebes wrote:
matata wrote:
Shak wrote:

Those white lizards are common. But harmless in most cases.

I hear in some cultures they are Edible
chepkel
#34 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:24:15 PM

Shak wrote:
Shak wrote:

Cockroaches??d'oh! d'oh!

Managed to eliminate all roaches in the house so i know it's not that

did you also eliminate roaches in your neighbour's house???? Labda wao hukuja night shift kwako d'oh! d'oh!
faa
#35 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 1:14:44 PM

matata wrote:
Shak wrote:

Where's our doc Guru.

In my house there are so many geckos,they are harmless

I live with them

some are white and u can see their intestines. Some are transparent.
faa
#36 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 1:16:24 PM

matata wrote:
Shak wrote:

Where's our doc Guru.

In my house there are so many geckos,they are harmless

I live with them

some are white and u can see their intestines. Some are transparent.
#37 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 1:45:24 PM

I once chocked on Patco sweet when I was kindu 6 years during lunch time (I had earlier refused to eat ugali-matumbo citing the food looked like big wood worms)...wait till my dad hoisted me upside down and while hitting my back!!! The Patco instead of coming out went straight inside instead)
My mum boughy me coke ndogo biscuits za ndururu (small round ones) to "cure" my throat...

#38 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 2:02:26 PM

hehehehehe...

Deny this fact, those are normally the strongest children?

I've seen rich(women who consider money a priority), well maintained (women who don't want their nyonyo sucked too much) with happy (men who don't want to compete for nyonyo with chaod) couples with sickly children(Poor souls who's nourishment was snatched early due to superficial reasons.Sad

matata
#39 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 2:05:05 PM

I once chocked on Patco sweet when I was kindu 6 years during lunch time (I had earlier refused to eat ugali-matumbo citing the food looked like big wood worms)...wait till my dad hoisted me upside down and while hitting my back!!! The Patco instead of coming out went straight inside instead)
My mum boughy me coke ndogo biscuits za ndururu (small round ones) to "cure" my throat...

U should have eaten the matumbo u had earlier refused. U must be mummy's pet! Moms r known to be tough. Kwanza anakutandika for the patco alafu unapewa warning. yet deep inside her heart, she was a worried mama when u chocked.
FancyFace
#40 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 2:10:10 PM

hehehehehe...

Deny this fact, those are normally the strongest children?

I've seen rich(women who consider money a priority), well maintained (women who don't want their nyonyo sucked too much) with happy (men who don't want to compete for nyonyo with chaod) couples with sickly children(Poor souls who's nourishment was snatched early due to superficial reasons.Sad

Now this is hilarious...ebu visualize a mama calling her 3yr old shaod to come for nyonyo, how does she even feed him/her...most ideal standing position..eish jameni!

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.